Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Cyfendus: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

anthrax vaccine adsorbed, adjuvanted · B. anthracis PA; TLR9 (CpG 7909 adjuvant)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Cyfendus don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for vaccines outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Injection-site necrosis and granulomatous inflammation judged adverse but expected to resolve (FDA summary basis for approval, p. 16)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
Adult rat IM repeat-dose study (about 4 weeks of dosing) with a recovery period
“Following the recovery period, there was no evidence of progression of the necrosis or inflammation noted on SD 31, and there was no evidence of delayed toxicity.”
✓ VerifiedFDA toxicology review, p. 28Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP rat studies, all IM: single-dose, repeat-dose, pre/postnatal DART and juvenile repeat-dose
“The applicant conducted a single-dose acute toxicity study, a repeat-dose safety toxicity study, a pre- and post-natal developmental and reproductive toxicity (DART) study, as well as a juvenile repeat-dose toxicology study. All these GLP-compliant toxicology studies were performed in rats, and animals were dosed with CYFENDUS via IM injection, the intended route for human use.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 15Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Female rat (pre/postnatal study with embryo-fetal phase, full human dose 0.5 mL)
“In a pre- and post-natal developmental study with an embryo-fetal development toxicity phase performed in female rats, a full human dose (0.5 mL) of CYFENDUS was administered by intramuscular injection on three occasions: 14 days prior to start of cohabitation, on the day of cohabitation, and on Gestation Day 7.”
✓ VerifiedUS package insert, p. 8Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rat DART study: no effects on mating, fertility, pregnancy, embryo-fetal viability or postnatal survival and development
“No reproductive or developmental toxicity was noted in the DART study. There was no effect on mating, fertility, pregnancy, embryo-fetal viability, growth, or morphologic development, parturition, maternal care of offspring or postnatal survival, growth, or development.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 16Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Rat pre- and postnatal DART study completed before the marketing application
“Emergent has completed a single-dose acute toxicity study, a repeat-dose safety toxicity study in adult rats, a pre- and postnatal developmental and reproductive toxicity (DART) study in rats, as well as a juvenile repeat-dose toxicology study in rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA toxicology review, p. 53Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“CYFENDUS has not been evaluated for carcinogenicity, mutagenic potential, or male infertility in animals.”
✓ VerifiedUS package insert, p. 9Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted
“CYFENDUS has not been evaluated for carcinogenicity, mutagenic potential, or male infertility in animals.”
✓ VerifiedUS package insert, p. 9Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not evaluated for carcinogenicity in animals
“CYFENDUS has not been evaluated for carcinogenicity, mutagenic potential, or male infertility in animals.”
✓ VerifiedUS package insert, p. 9Source ↗

Same question, other vaccines

Nuvaxovid

COVID-19 vaccine, recombinant spike protein nanoparticle, Matrix-M-adjuvanted · SARS-CoV-2 spike (nanoparticle)
Australia: Study 2019nCoV-101 Part 1, started May 2020

PreHevbrio

hepatitis B vaccine (recombinant), 3-antigen · HBsAg S/pre-S1/pre-S2 VLPs
Israel, Thailand and Singapore: legacy dose-ranging studies, one with a first-in-human part up to 20 µg

Arexvy

respiratory syncytial virus vaccine, adjuvanted (AS01E) · RSV preF3; TLR4 (AS01E adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Cervarix

human papillomavirus bivalent (types 16, 18) vaccine, recombinant, AS04-adjuvanted · HPV 16/18 L1 VLPs; TLR4 (AS04 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Fendrix

hepatitis B vaccine (rDNA), AS04C-adjuvanted · HBsAg VLPs; TLR4 (AS04C adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Flublok

influenza vaccine, recombinant hemagglutinin · Influenza HA
Not stated in public reviews

Gardasil

human papillomavirus quadrivalent (types 6, 11, 16, 18) vaccine, recombinant · HPV 6/11/16/18 L1 VLPs
Not stated in public reviews

Gardasil 9

human papillomavirus 9-valent vaccine, recombinant · HPV 9-valent L1 VLPs
Not stated in public reviews

HBVaxPro

hepatitis B vaccine (rDNA) · HBsAg VLPs
Not stated in public reviews

Heplisav-B

hepatitis B vaccine (recombinant), adjuvanted · HBsAg; TLR9 (CpG 1018 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Mosquirix

RTS,S/AS01 malaria vaccine · P. falciparum CSP-HBsAg (RTS,S) VLPs; TLR4 (AS01 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Shingrix

zoster vaccine recombinant, AS01B-adjuvanted · VZV glycoprotein E; TLR4 (AS01B adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 13 vaccines →