Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Gardasil 9: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

human papillomavirus 9-valent vaccine, recombinant · HPV 9-valent L1 VLPs

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Gardasil 9 don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for oncology vaccines (ICH S9)

HNSTD/STD10 is the method used for anticancer drugs in patients: the start dose is one-sixth of the highest non-severely toxic dose (HNSTD) in non-rodents, or one-tenth of the dose severely toxic to 10% of rodents (STD10), scaled by body surface area. The aim is a dose that is pharmacologically active yet reasonably safe.

“A common approach for many small molecules is to set a start dose at 1/10 the Severely Toxic Dose in 10% of the animals (STD 10) in rodents. If the non-rodent is the most appropriate species, then 1/6 the Highest Non-Severely Toxic Dose (HNSTD) is considered an appropriate starting dose.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2009: ICH S9: Nonclinical Evaluation for Anticancer Pharmaceuticals, p. 13Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: No NOAEL stated; only immune-response and injection-site effects in rats (EMA assessment report, p. 24)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
13-week IM rat study (4 doses every 21 days) with 21-day recovery
“A recovery group consisting of 10 males and 10 females rats per group were sacrificed 21 days after the interim necropsy (day 67). Study duration was 13 weeks.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 40Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
13-week IM rat repeat-dose (with local tolerance); rat fertility/embryo-foetal study; rat postnatal developmental study
“Toxicology studies supporting the safety of the 9vHPV vaccine included 3 GLP-compliant studies in rats consisting of: i) a repeat-dose toxicity study (with local tolerance and non-GLP immunogenicity assessments), ii) an intramuscular developmental toxicity and immunogenicity study with female fertility and embryo-foetal evaluation and iii) an intramuscular developmental toxicity and immunogenicity study with postnatal evaluation.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 24Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Rat (female fertility/embryo-foetal and postnatal development)
“The reproductive and developmental toxicity of the 9vHPV vaccine was assessed in two GLP-compliant studies using female rats.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 25Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Two GLP rat studies (fertility/EFD and postnatal); no adverse effects; up to 240 and 160 times human dose (mg/kg)
“Reproduction studies have been performed in rats at doses up to 240 and 160 times the human dose on mg/kg basis and revealed no evidence of impaired fertility or harm to the fetus due to V503 vaccine.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 43Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Rat postnatal developmental study (dosing to lactation day 7) completed before the marketing application
“In the second developmental toxicity study, female rats (F0) received 0.5 mL (0.25 mL administered to each quadriceps muscle) intramuscular injection with 9vHPV vaccine on 4 occasions (Premating Week -5 and -2 plus GD 6 and LD 7).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“The oncogenic/carcinogenic potential of the 9vHPV vaccine in long and short-term studies was not evaluated. According to current requirements as mentioned above, carcinogenicity studies are generally not required for vaccines and this is acceptable also for Gardasil 9.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 25Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (not required for vaccines)
“The oncogenic/carcinogenic potential of the 9vHPV vaccine in long and short-term studies was not evaluated. According to current requirements as mentioned above, carcinogenicity studies are generally not required for vaccines and this is acceptable also for Gardasil 9.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 25Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required for vaccines
“The oncogenic/carcinogenic potential of the 9vHPV vaccine in long and short-term studies was not evaluated. According to current requirements as mentioned above, carcinogenicity studies are generally not required for vaccines and this is acceptable also for Gardasil 9.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 25Source ↗

Email me this as a cited memo

Tox package for Gardasil 9, each with the regulator's own words, the page and a link. Ready to paste into a briefing document or send to your team.

Same question, other vaccines

Nuvaxovid

COVID-19 vaccine, recombinant spike protein nanoparticle, Matrix-M-adjuvanted · SARS-CoV-2 spike (nanoparticle)
Australia: Study 2019nCoV-101 Part 1, started May 2020

PreHevbrio

hepatitis B vaccine (recombinant), 3-antigen · HBsAg S/pre-S1/pre-S2 VLPs
Israel, Thailand and Singapore: legacy dose-ranging studies, one with a first-in-human part up to 20 µg

Arexvy

respiratory syncytial virus vaccine, adjuvanted (AS01E) · RSV preF3; TLR4 (AS01E adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Cervarix

human papillomavirus bivalent (types 16, 18) vaccine, recombinant, AS04-adjuvanted · HPV 16/18 L1 VLPs; TLR4 (AS04 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Cyfendus

anthrax vaccine adsorbed, adjuvanted · B. anthracis PA; TLR9 (CpG 7909 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Fendrix

hepatitis B vaccine (rDNA), AS04C-adjuvanted · HBsAg VLPs; TLR4 (AS04C adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Flublok

influenza vaccine, recombinant hemagglutinin · Influenza HA
Not stated in public reviews

Gardasil

human papillomavirus quadrivalent (types 6, 11, 16, 18) vaccine, recombinant · HPV 6/11/16/18 L1 VLPs
Not stated in public reviews

HBVaxPro

hepatitis B vaccine (rDNA) · HBsAg VLPs
Not stated in public reviews

Heplisav-B

hepatitis B vaccine (recombinant), adjuvanted · HBsAg; TLR9 (CpG 1018 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Mosquirix

RTS,S/AS01 malaria vaccine · P. falciparum CSP-HBsAg (RTS,S) VLPs; TLR4 (AS01 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Shingrix

zoster vaccine recombinant, AS01B-adjuvanted · VZV glycoprotein E; TLR4 (AS01B adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 13 vaccines →