Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Shingrix: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

zoster vaccine recombinant, AS01B-adjuvanted · VZV glycoprotein E; TLR4 (AS01B adjuvant)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Shingrix don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for vaccines outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: No vaccine NOAEL stated; rabbit CRP up to 9-fold (males) and 5-fold (females), transient (FDA summary basis for approval, p. 14)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
AS01B alone in rabbit: seven IM doses 14 days apart, necropsy 3 or 28 days after last dose
“Group of 10 male and 10 female rabbits were treated with AS01B by intramuscular injection into the muscles of each hind limb on seven occasions 14 days apart. They were given a dose volume of 500 µL of the formulation and thus received 50 µg MPL and 50 µg QS-21 in a liposomal formulation per dose. Five rabbits per sex per group (including control group) were euthanized 3 or 28 days after the last dose.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 175Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Two rabbit IM repeat-dose vaccine studies, rat EFD/pre-postnatal and male fertility studies, rabbit local tolerance, rat safety pharmacology
“SHINGRIX has been evaluated in two repeat dose toxicity studies in rabbits, one reproductive-developmental toxicity study in rats, one male fertility study in rats, two local tolerance studies in rabbits, and one safety pharmacology study in rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Rat (vaccine: pre/postnatal and male fertility); rat and rabbit EFD for QS-21 and MPL
“gE/AS01B and AS01B reproductive toxicity was assessed in two studies both performed in rats, one covering pre-, peri- and post-natal development and one covering male fertility.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rat EFD/pre-postnatal at 40% of human dose: no maternal toxicity or offspring effects
“Treatment of female CD rats with the candidate vaccine at 40% of the full human dose per occasion was well tolerated, did not lead to maternal toxicity, and did not adversely affect embryo-fetal or pre- and post-natal survival, growth or development of the offspring.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 14Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Combined EFD and pre/postnatal study in rat (gE/AS01B) completed before the marketing application
“Treatment of female CD rats with the candidate vaccine at 40% of the full human dose per occasion was well tolerated, did not lead to maternal toxicity, and did not adversely affect embryo-fetal or pre- and post-natal survival, growth or development of the offspring.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 14Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“Carcinogenicity studies were not performed. As carcinogenicity studies are not required for final vaccine formulations, adjuvants systems and/or immunoenhancers based on current guidelines, this was considered acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (not required for vaccines or adjuvants)
“Carcinogenicity studies were not performed. As carcinogenicity studies are not required for final vaccine formulations, adjuvants systems and/or immunoenhancers based on current guidelines, this was considered acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required for vaccines, adjuvant systems or immunoenhancers
“Carcinogenicity studies were not performed. As carcinogenicity studies are not required for final vaccine formulations, adjuvants systems and/or immunoenhancers based on current guidelines, this was considered acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗

Same question, other vaccines

Nuvaxovid

COVID-19 vaccine, recombinant spike protein nanoparticle, Matrix-M-adjuvanted · SARS-CoV-2 spike (nanoparticle)
Australia: Study 2019nCoV-101 Part 1, started May 2020

PreHevbrio

hepatitis B vaccine (recombinant), 3-antigen · HBsAg S/pre-S1/pre-S2 VLPs
Israel, Thailand and Singapore: legacy dose-ranging studies, one with a first-in-human part up to 20 µg

Arexvy

respiratory syncytial virus vaccine, adjuvanted (AS01E) · RSV preF3; TLR4 (AS01E adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Cervarix

human papillomavirus bivalent (types 16, 18) vaccine, recombinant, AS04-adjuvanted · HPV 16/18 L1 VLPs; TLR4 (AS04 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Cyfendus

anthrax vaccine adsorbed, adjuvanted · B. anthracis PA; TLR9 (CpG 7909 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Fendrix

hepatitis B vaccine (rDNA), AS04C-adjuvanted · HBsAg VLPs; TLR4 (AS04C adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Flublok

influenza vaccine, recombinant hemagglutinin · Influenza HA
Not stated in public reviews

Gardasil

human papillomavirus quadrivalent (types 6, 11, 16, 18) vaccine, recombinant · HPV 6/11/16/18 L1 VLPs
Not stated in public reviews

Gardasil 9

human papillomavirus 9-valent vaccine, recombinant · HPV 9-valent L1 VLPs
Not stated in public reviews

HBVaxPro

hepatitis B vaccine (rDNA) · HBsAg VLPs
Not stated in public reviews

Heplisav-B

hepatitis B vaccine (recombinant), adjuvanted · HBsAg; TLR9 (CpG 1018 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Mosquirix

RTS,S/AS01 malaria vaccine · P. falciparum CSP-HBsAg (RTS,S) VLPs; TLR4 (AS01 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 13 vaccines →