Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Gardasil: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

human papillomavirus quadrivalent (types 6, 11, 16, 18) vaccine, recombinant · HPV 6/11/16/18 L1 VLPs

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Gardasil don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for oncology vaccines (ICH S9)

HNSTD/STD10 is the method used for anticancer drugs in patients: the start dose is one-sixth of the highest non-severely toxic dose (HNSTD) in non-rodents, or one-tenth of the dose severely toxic to 10% of rodents (STD10), scaled by body surface area. The aim is a dose that is pharmacologically active yet reasonably safe.

“A common approach for many small molecules is to set a start dose at 1/10 the Severely Toxic Dose in 10% of the animals (STD 10) in rodents. If the non-rodent is the most appropriate species, then 1/6 the Highest Non-Severely Toxic Dose (HNSTD) is considered an appropriate starting dose.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2009: ICH S9: Nonclinical Evaluation for Anticancer Pharmaceuticals, p. 13Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: No systemic toxicity; iliac lymph node enlargement/hyperplasia and injection-site inflammation in mice (EMA assessment report, p. 8)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
10-week IM BALB/c mouse study (1 or 3 doses); recovery phase not stated
“A 10-week repeat-dose toxicity study was performed in BALB/c mice. Vaccine-treated mice received 1 or 3 doses of Gardasil at a concentration of 160/160/80/160 μg/ml of the HPV types 6/11/16/18 L1 VLPs.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 8Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
10-week IM repeat-dose study in BALB/c mice (1 or 3 doses); single-dose mouse and rat; rat DART; rabbit local tolerance
“A 10-week repeat-dose toxicity study was performed in BALB/c mice. Vaccine-treated mice received 1 or 3 doses of Gardasil at a concentration of 160/160/80/160 μg/ml of the HPV types 6/11/16/18 L1 VLPs.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 8Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Rat (female Sprague-Dawley; all phases of reproduction and development)
“The reproductive and developmental toxicity was assessed in a study in female Sprague-Dawley rats addressing all phases of reproduction and foetal development. An immune response to the vaccine was observed, and antibodies were shown to be transferred to the offspring during gestation and also lactation.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 9Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Female rat study covering all phases of reproduction and development; maternal antibodies transferred to offspring
“The reproductive and developmental toxicity was assessed in a study in female Sprague-Dawley rats addressing all phases of reproduction and foetal development. An immune response to the vaccine was observed, and antibodies were shown to be transferred to the offspring during gestation and also lactation.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 9Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Rat reproductive and developmental study covering all phases (including lactation) completed before the marketing application
“The reproductive and developmental toxicity was assessed in a study in female Sprague-Dawley rats addressing all phases of reproduction and foetal development. An immune response to the vaccine was observed, and antibodies were shown to be transferred to the offspring during gestation and also lactation.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 9Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“No carcinogenicity studies were conducted, and this is in line with CPMP/SWP/465/95.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 9Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (CPMP/SWP/465/95 vaccine guidance)
“No carcinogenicity studies were conducted, and this is in line with CPMP/SWP/465/95.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 9Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required under vaccine guidance (CPMP/SWP/465/95)
“No carcinogenicity studies were conducted, and this is in line with CPMP/SWP/465/95.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 9Source ↗

Same question, other vaccines

Nuvaxovid

COVID-19 vaccine, recombinant spike protein nanoparticle, Matrix-M-adjuvanted · SARS-CoV-2 spike (nanoparticle)
Australia: Study 2019nCoV-101 Part 1, started May 2020

PreHevbrio

hepatitis B vaccine (recombinant), 3-antigen · HBsAg S/pre-S1/pre-S2 VLPs
Israel, Thailand and Singapore: legacy dose-ranging studies, one with a first-in-human part up to 20 µg

Arexvy

respiratory syncytial virus vaccine, adjuvanted (AS01E) · RSV preF3; TLR4 (AS01E adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Cervarix

human papillomavirus bivalent (types 16, 18) vaccine, recombinant, AS04-adjuvanted · HPV 16/18 L1 VLPs; TLR4 (AS04 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Cyfendus

anthrax vaccine adsorbed, adjuvanted · B. anthracis PA; TLR9 (CpG 7909 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Fendrix

hepatitis B vaccine (rDNA), AS04C-adjuvanted · HBsAg VLPs; TLR4 (AS04C adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Flublok

influenza vaccine, recombinant hemagglutinin · Influenza HA
Not stated in public reviews

Gardasil 9

human papillomavirus 9-valent vaccine, recombinant · HPV 9-valent L1 VLPs
Not stated in public reviews

HBVaxPro

hepatitis B vaccine (rDNA) · HBsAg VLPs
Not stated in public reviews

Heplisav-B

hepatitis B vaccine (recombinant), adjuvanted · HBsAg; TLR9 (CpG 1018 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Mosquirix

RTS,S/AS01 malaria vaccine · P. falciparum CSP-HBsAg (RTS,S) VLPs; TLR4 (AS01 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Shingrix

zoster vaccine recombinant, AS01B-adjuvanted · VZV glycoprotein E; TLR4 (AS01B adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 13 vaccines →