CarcinogenicityAcceptedBeyond the letter
No carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity studies; waived on toxicological risk assessments of rhCNTF and residual medium
Why: Toxicological risk assessments of rhCNTF and residual medium support the safety profile · Weight of evidence
“Studies to evaluate the carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of ENCELTO were not conducted. These studies are not warranted based on the safety profile described in the provided toxicological risk assessments (TRAs).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗ “This reviewer agrees with the rationale provided in the TRAs for not conducting carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 50Source ↗ DARTAcceptedBeyond the letter
No DART studies with the implant; relies on existing rhCNTF DART studies and margins of exposure above 100
Why: Lack of meaningful systemic exposure after intraocular dosing and no health risks in multiple DART studies · Pharmacology or kinetics · Weight of evidence
“As shown in the above table, MOEs are above 100, indicating adequate protection of human health and a low risk of adverse reproductive and developmental effects. Reviewer conclusion: Based on lack of meaningful exposure and the absence of health risks identified by multiple DART studies, additional DART studies are not warranted for rhCNTF.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 43Source ↗ GenotoxicityVerdict not stated
Genotoxicity assessed with an ISO-10993 medical-device battery rather than a standard drug battery
Why: ISO-10993 guidance for biological evaluation of medical devices · Within the guideline
“A battery of genotoxicity studies was conducted to support licensure of NT-501 in keeping with ISO-10993, guidance for biological evaluation of medical devices.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗ Efficacy modelVerdict not stated
Dog rcd1 efficacy study used an early 11 mm prototype, not the 6.5 mm clinical device
“The device used in this study is an early prototype that is 11 mm in length (the proposed clinical device is 6.5 mm). Thus, this study is preliminary regarding assessing the overall pharmacology of the product, NT-501.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗