Nonclinical precedent Request an invite
Precedia/Cell therapy/Encelto/Skipped studies

Encelto: genotox, carcinogenicity and repro: done or skipped?

revakinagene taroretcel · CNTF (encapsulated RPE cell implant)
Genotoxicity
Done: ISO-10993 battery (bacterial, mammalian cell, mouse micronucleus on device extracts), negative
“No genotoxicity was observed in these studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted (waived based on toxicological risk assessments)
“Studies to evaluate the carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of ENCELTO were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Instead of carcinogenicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Instead of genotoxicity
No substitute; ISO-10993 device genotoxicity battery on NT-501 instead of cell-specific assessment
“A battery of genotoxicity studies was conducted to support licensure of NT-501 in keeping with ISO-10993, guidance for biological evaluation of medical devices.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
DRG histopathology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Four DART studies of SC rhCNTF in rats and rabbits; no teratogenicity; exemption for device via margin of exposure
“There were no rhCNTF-related teratologic changes reported in the fetuses.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Not stated as separate studies; ERG assessments for intraocular implants in pharmacology
“Electroretinographic (ERG) Assessments for Intra-Ocular Implantation of”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Negative: bacterial reverse mutation assay of device extract (no 2-fold increase in revertants)
“There were no instances of a 2-fold or greater increase in the mean number of revertants of tester strains.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 44Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Negative: in vitro mammalian cell clastogenicity assay of device extract, with and without activation
“Under the conditions of this assay, the test article extract was not considered genotoxic to in the presence or absence of metabolic activation.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 45Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Negative: mouse bone marrow micronucleus study
“mouse bone marrow micronucleus study, and a Kligman maximization test. No genotoxicity was observed in these studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; waived via toxicological risk assessments for rhCNTF and ENDO medium
“The applicant provided TRAs conducted by to support waivers for carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity studies for rhCNTF and the medium used within the device, human Endothelial-SFM medium (ENDO medium).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 49Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (waiver rationale accepted by reviewer)
“This reviewer agrees with the rationale provided in the TRAs for not conducting carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 50Source ↗
hERG / QT
Not conducted (no safety pharmacology studies with NT-501)
“No safety pharmacology studies with NT-501 were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 11Source ↗

Same question, other cell therapies

Abecma

idecabtagene vicleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Not conducted (traditional); insertion site analysis of 20 clinical lots

Alofisel

darvadstrocel · Allogeneic adipose MSC
Not conducted; cell-based product does not interact with DNA

Amtagvi

lifileucel · TIL therapy
Not conducted (not warranted given product characteristics and biological activity)

Aucatzyl

obecabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted (third-generation SIN lentiviral vector, release criterion, long-term clinical monitoring for insertional mutagenesis)

Breyanzi

lisocabtagene maraleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted (traditional); lentiviral integration site mapping instead

Carvykti

ciltacabtagene autoleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Not conducted (classical); lentiviral integration site analysis instead

ChondroCelect

characterised viable autologous cartilage cells · Autologous chondrocytes
Not conducted (per cell-based product guideline)

Ebvallo

tabelecleucel · EBV-specific allogeneic T cells
Not conducted (ICH S6(R1)); non-genetically engineered cells

Gintuit

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and fibroblasts in bovine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not conducted (nature of product and clinical experience)

Holoclar

autologous corneal epithelial cells containing limbal stem cells · Autologous limbal stem cells
Not conducted (classical); in vitro karyotype analysis of cells

Kymriah

tisagenlecleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted (classical); lentiviral integration site analysis on 14 donor products

Lantidra

donislecel · Allogeneic pancreatic islets
Not conducted

Laviv

azficel-T · Autologous fibroblasts
Not conducted (autologous nature, prior human experience)

MACI

autologous cultured chondrocytes on porcine collagen membrane · Autologous chondrocytes
Not conducted on cells; four studies on collagen membrane were non-mutagenic

Omisirge

omidubicel · Expanded cord blood HPC
No standard genotox; cytogenetic/karyotype analyses of CF and NF showed no clonal aneuploidy

Provenge

sipuleucel-T · PAP-GM-CSF (autologous APC)
Not conducted (autologous nature of product)

Rethymic

allogeneic processed thymus tissue · Allogeneic thymus tissue
Not conducted

Ryoncil

remestemcel-L · Allogeneic BM-MSC
Not conducted (not warranted)

Spherox

spheroids of autologous matrix-associated chondrocytes · Autologous chondrocyte spheroids
Not conducted (per cell-based product guideline)

StrataGraft

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and dermal fibroblasts in murine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not conducted

Tecartus

brexucabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted (traditional); vector integration site analysis performed instead

Tecelra

afamitresgene autoleucel · MAGE-A4 TCR-T
Not conducted (no test models or relevant species); integration site analysis showed polyclonal products, no selective insertion

Tregzi

allogeneic Treg immunotherapy with HSPC and T cells (Orca-T) · Allogeneic Treg + HSPC + Tcon
Not conducted

Yescarta

axicabtagene ciloleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted; literature review of retroviral-transduced T-cell transformation risk instead

Zalmoxis

allogeneic T cells modified with HSV-TK / dLNGFR (nalotimagene carmaleucel) · HSV-TK suicide-gene T cells
Not conducted; in vitro retroviral integration site analysis instead

Zemcelpro

dorocubicel · UM171-expanded cord blood CD34+
Done for residual UM171 only (Ames, CHO micronucleus negative) plus cytogenetics of treated cells; none for cells

Summary across all 27 cell therapies →