Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Exondys 51: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

eteplirsen · DMD exon 51 (PMO)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Exondys 51 don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for oligonucleotides outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Kidney tubular degeneration in all species; monkey NOAEL 320 mg/kg (~20x AUC); juvenile rat NOAEL 300 mg/kg (6x); bone density loss (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 91)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
39-week IV male cynomolgus monkey with 8-week recovery
“39-Week Intravenous Injection Toxicity and Toxicokinetic Study of Eteplirsen in Sexually Mature Male Cynomolgus Monkeys with an 8-Week Recovery”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 74Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
39-week IV male monkey; 10-week IV juvenile rat (PND14-77); 26-week IV mdx mouse with surrogate AVI-4225
“Pivotal toxicology studies of eteplirsen were conducted in male monkeys (39-week study) and juvenile male rats (10-week study). A 26-week study was conducted with a mouse-specific surrogate (AVI-4225) in male transgenic mdx mice.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 25Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted (patient population almost entirely male); male reproductive organs assessed in toxicity studies
“No developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were conducted with eteplirsen because the patient population is almost entirely male. Potential effects on male fertility were assessed by histopathological evaluation of male reproductive organs in toxicity studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (almost entirely male population); male reproductive organ histopathology in tox studies; juvenile rat study
“No developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were conducted with eteplirsen because the patient population is almost entirely male.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: no female fertility, embryofetal or early postnatal development studies, as the DMD population is almost entirely male
“Assessments of the effects of eteplirsen on female fertility, embryofetal development, and early postnatal development were not conducted because the DMD patient population is almost entirely male.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 88Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Male Tg.rasH2 mouse (26-week) and male rat (96-week)
“Administration of eteplirsen to male transgenic (Tg.rasH2) mice (0, 200, 500, or 960 mg/kg) weekly for 26 weeks (intravenous [IV] injection for 15 weeks, followed by subcutaneous injection for 11 weeks) and to male rats (0, 60, 180, or 600 mg/kg IV) weekly for 96 weeks resulted in no increase in neoplasms.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity model
26-week Tg.rasH2 mouse and 96-week rat; no increase in neoplasms
“Administration of eteplirsen to male transgenic (Tg.rasH2) mice (0, 200, 500, or 960 mg/kg) weekly for 26 weeks (intravenous [IV] injection for 15 weeks, followed by subcutaneous injection for 11 weeks) and to male rats (0, 60, 180, or 600 mg/kg IV) weekly for 96 weeks resulted in no increase in neoplasms.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
26-week transgenic mouse and 2-year rat studies planned after approval; none conducted before the marketing application
“The sponsor plans to conduct a 26-week study in transgenic mice and a 2-year study in rats to assess the carcinogenicity of eteplirsen.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 88Source ↗

Same question, other oligonucleotides

Dawnzera

donidalorsen · Prekallikrein / KLKB1 (ASO)
Canada: first-in-human study in healthy volunteers

Givlaari

givosiran · ALAS1 (siRNA)
US, UK and Sweden: 6 clinical study centers (4 US, 1 UK, 1 Sweden)

Oxlumo

lumasiran · HAO1 (siRNA)
UK: single ascending dose in healthy subjects (Study 001 Part A)

Zanvastro

zilganersen · GFAP (ASO)
United States and other countries: ION373-CS1, the single combined first clinical and pivotal trial in AxD patients

Amondys 45

casimersen · DMD exon 45 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Amvuttra

vutrisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Defitelio

defibrotide · Fragmented DNA oligonucleotides
Not stated in public reviews

Hibsago

bepirovirsen · HBV RNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Izervay

avacincaptad pegol · C5 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Kynamro

mipomersen · APOB (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Leqvio

inclisiran · PCSK9 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Macugen

pegaptanib · VEGF-165 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Onpattro

patisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Qalsody

tofersen · SOD1 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Qfitlia

fitusiran · Antithrombin / SERPINC1 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Redemplo

plozasiran · APOC3 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rivfloza

nedosiran · LDHA (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rytelo

imetelstat · Telomerase (oligo)
Not stated in public reviews

Spinraza

nusinersen · SMN2 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tegsedi

inotersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tryngolza

olezarsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Viltepso

viltolarsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vitravene

fomivirsen · CMV IE2 mRNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyondys 53

golodirsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Wainua

eplontersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Waylivra

volanesorsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 27 oligonucleotides →