Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Pasatru: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

garetosmab · Activin A

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Pasatru don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for monoclonal antibodies

Use pharmacology data (target binding, receptor occupancy, in vitro human cells, PK/PD modelling) to estimate the lowest dose expected to have any biological effect (MABEL) and the active dose (PAD), and, for healthy volunteers, start at an exposure below the PAD unless robustly justified.

“these data should be used to determine the minimal anticipated biological effect level (MABEL) in humans and an estimation of the pharmacologically active dose (PAD) and/or anticipated therapeutic dose range (ATD) in humans.”
✓ VerifiedEMA 2017: Guideline on strategies to identify and mitigate risks for…, p. 11Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Cynomolgus monkey NOAEL 50 mg/kg for both sexes (highest dose; about five-times clinical AUC) (FDA integrated review, p. 59)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
26-week cynomolgus monkey IV study (weekly, up to 50 mg/kg) with treatment-free recovery period
“in a 26-week study in which garetosmab was administered intravenously once weekly at doses up to 50 mg/kg (14 times or 49 times the recommended human doses of garetosmab 3 mg/kg or 10 mg/kg every 4 weeks, respectively, based on AUC). Minimal to moderate seminiferous tubule degeneration was observed in male monkeys, which was reversible after a treatment-free recovery period.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 111Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Cynomolgus monkey 26-week IV study, once weekly, up to 50 mg/kg, with reproductive organ and fertility endpoints
“Reproductive organs and fertility-related parameters were assessed in sexually mature cynomolgus monkeys in a 26-week study in which garetosmab was administered intravenously once weekly at doses up to 50 mg/kg”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 111Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Cynomolgus monkey (enhanced pre- and postnatal development); no dedicated fertility studies
“In an enhanced pre- and postnatal development study in cynomolgus monkeys, weekly intravenous infusion of garetosmab at 5 or 50 mg/kg from gestation Day 20 until delivery resulted in no maternal toxicity.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 60Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Monkey ePPND: severe developmental toxicity at 50 mg/kg with 100% offspring mortality by postnatal day 6
“Severe developmental toxicity occurred at 50 mg/kg (approximately nine-times the maximum clinical exposure based on AUC), with 100% mortality of all spontaneously delivered offspring by postnatal Day 6.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 60Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
ePPND in cynomolgus monkey (IV 5 or 50 mg/kg weekly) completed before the marketing application
“In an enhanced pre- and postnatal development study in cynomolgus monkeys, weekly intravenous infusion of garetosmab at 5 or 50 mg/kg from gestation Day 20 until delivery resulted in no maternal toxicity.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 60Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted; weight-of-evidence carcinogenicity assessment
“Carcinogenicity studies have not been conducted with garetosmab-grts.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; weight-of-evidence carcinogenicity assessment instead
“a weight of evidence carcinogenicity assessment, and tissue cross-reactivity studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 58Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted
“Carcinogenicity studies have not been conducted with garetosmab-grts.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗

Same question, other monoclonal antibodies

Bavencio

avelumab · PD-L1
US, Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Korea, Poland, Taiwan, China and UK: first dose-escalation study (EMR100070-001) in patients with solid tumors

Bimzelx

bimekizumab · IL-17A/IL-17F
Outside the US (country not named): first-in-human placebo-controlled study UP0008, not under the US IND

Cinqair

reslizumab · IL-5
Europe: single-dose escalation in 32 patients with severe asthma

Ebanga

ansuvimab · Zaire ebolavirus glycoprotein
United States (NIH Clinical Center, Bethesda, Maryland): single-dose study in healthy adults

Enspryng

satralizumab · IL-6R
Japan: early study in healthy volunteers (SA-001JG); another in RA patients

Lartruvo

olaratumab · PDGFRα
United States: single-agent dose-escalation study in patients with advanced solid tumours and lymphomas (2 US centres)

Loqtorzi

toripalimab · PD-1
China: initial clinical studies in patients with a variety of tumor types

Monjuvi

tafasitamab · CD19
United States: first-in-human dose escalation in 27 patients with relapsed/refractory CLL/SLL at 3 centers

Penpulimab

penpulimab · PD-1
Australia: first-in-human study in patients

Rystiggo

rozanolixizumab · FcRn
United Kingdom: first-in-human study UP0018

Takhzyro

lanadelumab · Plasma kallikrein
Country not stated; first-in-human single ascending dose study in 32 healthy adults (DX-2930-01)

Tecentriq

atezolizumab · PD-L1
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation study in patients with solid tumours (PCD4989g)

Tezspire

tezepelumab · TSLP
Country not stated; first-in-human single ascending dose study in adult healthy subjects

Tremfya

guselkumab · IL-23 p19
Country not stated; first-in-human single-dose study in healthy subjects and psoriasis patients (PSO1001)

Actemra

tocilizumab · IL-6R
Not stated in public reviews

Adakveo

crizanlizumab · P-selectin
Not stated in public reviews

Adbry

tralokinumab · IL-13
Not stated in public reviews

Aduhelm

aducanumab · Aggregated amyloid-β
Not stated in public reviews

Aimovig

erenumab · CGRP receptor
Not stated in public reviews

Ajovy

fremanezumab · CGRP
Not stated in public reviews

Alhemo

concizumab · TFPI
Not stated in public reviews

Andembry

garadacimab · Factor XIIa
Not stated in public reviews

Anthim

obiltoxaximab · B. anthracis PA
Not stated in public reviews

Arzerra

ofatumumab · CD20
Not stated in public reviews

Avastin

bevacizumab · VEGF-A
Not stated in public reviews

Benlysta

belimumab · BLyS (BAFF)
Not stated in public reviews

Beovu

brolucizumab · VEGF-A
Not stated in public reviews

Beyfortus

nirsevimab · RSV F protein
Not stated in public reviews

Briumvi

ublituximab · CD20
Not stated in public reviews

Cablivi

caplacizumab · von Willebrand factor (A1 domain)
Not stated in public reviews

Campath

alemtuzumab · CD52
Not stated in public reviews

Cimzia

certolizumab pegol · TNF-α
Not stated in public reviews

Cosentyx

secukinumab · IL-17A
Not stated in public reviews

Crysvita

burosumab · FGF23
Not stated in public reviews

Cyramza

ramucirumab · VEGFR2
Not stated in public reviews

Danyelza

naxitamab · GD2
Not stated in public reviews

Darzalex

daratumumab · CD38
Not stated in public reviews

Dupixent

dupilumab · IL-4Ra
Not stated in public reviews

Ebglyss

lebrikizumab · IL-13
Not stated in public reviews

Emgality

galcanezumab · CGRP
Not stated in public reviews

Empliciti

elotuzumab · SLAMF7
Not stated in public reviews

Enflonsia

clesrovimab · RSV F protein (site IV)
Not stated in public reviews

Enjaymo

sutimlimab · Complement C1s
Not stated in public reviews

Entyvio

vedolizumab · α4β7-integrin
Not stated in public reviews

Erbitux

cetuximab · EGFR
Not stated in public reviews

Evenity

romosozumab · Sclerostin
Not stated in public reviews

Evkeeza

evinacumab · ANGPTL3
Not stated in public reviews

Exdensur

depemokimab · IL-5
Not stated in public reviews

Fasenra

benralizumab · IL-5Rα
Not stated in public reviews

Gamifant

emapalumab · IFN-γ
Not stated in public reviews

Gazyva

obinutuzumab · CD20
Not stated in public reviews

Herceptin

trastuzumab · HER2
Not stated in public reviews

Humira

adalimumab · TNF-α
Not stated in public reviews

Hympavzi

marstacimab · TFPI
Not stated in public reviews

Ilaris

canakinumab · IL-1β
Not stated in public reviews

Ilumya

tildrakizumab · IL-23 p19
Not stated in public reviews

Imaavy

nipocalimab · FcRn
Not stated in public reviews

Imfinzi

durvalumab · PD-L1
Not stated in public reviews

Imjudo

tremelimumab · CTLA-4
Not stated in public reviews

Jemperli

dostarlimab · PD-1
Not stated in public reviews

Kevzara

sarilumab · IL-6R
Not stated in public reviews

Keytruda

pembrolizumab · PD-1
Not stated in public reviews

Kisunla

donanemab · Amyloid-β (N3pG)
Not stated in public reviews

Leqembi

lecanemab · Amyloid-β protofibrils
Not stated in public reviews

Libtayo

cemiplimab · PD-1
Not stated in public reviews

Lucentis

ranibizumab · VEGF-A
Not stated in public reviews

Margenza

margetuximab · HER2
Not stated in public reviews

Nemluvio

nemolizumab · IL-31RA
Not stated in public reviews

Niktimvo

axatilimab · CSF-1R
Not stated in public reviews

Nucala

mepolizumab · IL-5
Not stated in public reviews

Ocrevus

ocrelizumab · CD20
Not stated in public reviews

Omvoh

mirikizumab · IL-23 p19
Not stated in public reviews

Opdivo

nivolumab · PD-1
Not stated in public reviews

Perjeta

pertuzumab · HER2
Not stated in public reviews

Piasky

crovalimab · Complement C5
Not stated in public reviews

Portrazza

necitumumab · EGFR
Not stated in public reviews

Poteligeo

mogamulizumab · CCR4
Not stated in public reviews

Praluent

alirocumab · PCSK9
Not stated in public reviews

Praxbind

idarucizumab · Dabigatran
Not stated in public reviews

Prolia

denosumab · RANKL
Not stated in public reviews

Raxibacumab

raxibacumab · B. anthracis protective antigen
Not stated in public reviews

Remicade

infliximab · TNF-α
Not stated in public reviews

Repatha

evolocumab · PCSK9
Not stated in public reviews

Rituxan

rituximab · CD20
Not stated in public reviews

Saphnelo

anifrolumab · IFNAR1
Not stated in public reviews

Sarclisa

isatuximab · CD38
Not stated in public reviews

Siliq

brodalumab · IL-17RA
Not stated in public reviews

Simponi

golimumab · TNF-α
Not stated in public reviews

Simulect

basiliximab · IL-2Rα (CD25)
Not stated in public reviews

Skyrizi

risankizumab · IL-23 p19
Not stated in public reviews

Soliris

eculizumab · Complement C5
Not stated in public reviews

Spevigo

spesolimab · IL-36R
Not stated in public reviews

Stelara

ustekinumab · IL-12/23 p40
Not stated in public reviews

Sylvant

siltuximab · IL-6
Not stated in public reviews

Synagis

palivizumab · RSV F protein
Not stated in public reviews

Taltz

ixekizumab · IL-17A
Not stated in public reviews

Tepezza

teprotumumab · IGF-1R
Not stated in public reviews

Tevimbra

tislelizumab · PD-1
Not stated in public reviews

Trogarzo

ibalizumab · CD4
Not stated in public reviews

Tysabri

natalizumab · α4-integrin
Not stated in public reviews

Tzield

teplizumab · CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Ultomiris

ravulizumab · Complement C5
Not stated in public reviews

Unituxin

dinutuximab · GD2
Not stated in public reviews

Unloxcyt

cosibelimab · PD-L1
Not stated in public reviews

Uplizna

inebilizumab · CD19
Not stated in public reviews

Vectibix

panitumumab · EGFR
Not stated in public reviews

Veopoz

pozelimab · Complement C5
Not stated in public reviews

Voyxact

sibeprenlimab · APRIL
Not stated in public reviews

Vyepti

eptinezumab · CGRP
Not stated in public reviews

Vyloy

zolbetuximab · Claudin 18.2
Not stated in public reviews

Xolair

omalizumab · IgE
Not stated in public reviews

Yartemlea

narsoplimab · MASP-2
Not stated in public reviews

Yervoy

ipilimumab · CTLA-4
Not stated in public reviews

Zinbryta

daclizumab · IL-2Rα (CD25)
Not stated in public reviews

Zinplava

bezlotoxumab · C. difficile toxin B
Not stated in public reviews

Zynyz

retifanlimab · PD-1
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 117 monoclonal antibodies →