Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Veopoz: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

pozelimab · Complement C5

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Veopoz don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for monoclonal antibodies

Use pharmacology data (target binding, receptor occupancy, in vitro human cells, PK/PD modelling) to estimate the lowest dose expected to have any biological effect (MABEL) and the active dose (PAD), and, for healthy volunteers, start at an exposure below the PAD unless robustly justified.

“these data should be used to determine the minimal anticipated biological effect level (MABEL) in humans and an estimation of the pharmacologically active dose (PAD) and/or anticipated therapeutic dose range (ATD) in humans.”
✓ VerifiedEMA 2017: Guideline on strategies to identify and mitigate risks for…, p. 11Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: NOAEL 100 mg/kg/week (highest dose) in 13- and 26-week monkey studies; no adverse findings; clinical margins 12-15 (FDA multi-discipline review, p. 36)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
26-week cynomolgus monkey (IV infusion) with 13-week recovery
“A 26-Week Intravenous Infusion Toxicity, Toxicokinetic, and Fertility Assessment Study in Sexually Mature Cynomolgus Monkeys with a 13-Week Recovery Phase”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 40Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP 13-week monkey study: IV 5, 20, 100 mg/kg or SC 100 mg/kg once weekly; plus 26-week IV study
“Dose and frequency of dosing: IV: 5, 20, 100 mg/kg; SC: 100 mg/kg; once weekly”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 39Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Cynomolgus monkey (enhanced pre- and postnatal development with juvenile dosing of offspring)
“Pozelimab is not pharmacologically active in rat or mouse. Thus, an enhanced pre- and postnatal development study was conducted with pozelimab in pregnant cynomolgus monkeys, with juvenile dosing of the offspring for three months post-weaning.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 41Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
No fertility effects in 26-week study; monkey ePPND with juvenile dosing: no maternal, infant or juvenile effects up to 50 mg/kg/week
“No adverse effects of pozelimab were observed on male or female fertility parameters in the 26- week repeat-dose toxicity study at doses up to 100 mg/kg/week. Additionally, no adverse effects of pozelimab were observed on maternal or infant health or on juvenile development at doses up to 50 mg/kg/week”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 36Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
ePPND in cynomolgus monkey with juvenile dosing of offspring completed before the marketing application
“Thus, an enhanced pre- and postnatal development study was conducted with pozelimab in pregnant cynomolgus monkeys, with juvenile dosing of the offspring for three months post-weaning.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 41Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted; ECAC agreed studies not necessary
“The Executive Carcinogenicity Assessment Committee concurred with the Applicant’s proposal that nonclinical carcinogenicity studies with pozelimab are not necessary to support a BLA for this product.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 41Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; carcinogenicity risk assessment concluded low potential
“Carcinogenicity studies with pozelimab have not been conducted. The Applicant conducted a carcinogenicity risk assessment for pozelimab and concluded that the carcinogenic potential is low.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 41Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: ECAC concurred studies not necessary for the BLA (weight-of-evidence)
“Carcinogenicity Assessment Committee concurred with the Applicant’s proposal that nonclinical carcinogenicity studies with pozelimab are not necessary to support a BLA for this product.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 41Source ↗

Same question, other monoclonal antibodies

Bavencio

avelumab · PD-L1
US, Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Korea, Poland, Taiwan, China and UK: first dose-escalation study (EMR100070-001) in patients with solid tumors

Bimzelx

bimekizumab · IL-17A/IL-17F
Outside the US (country not named): first-in-human placebo-controlled study UP0008, not under the US IND

Cinqair

reslizumab · IL-5
Europe: single-dose escalation in 32 patients with severe asthma

Ebanga

ansuvimab · Zaire ebolavirus glycoprotein
United States (NIH Clinical Center, Bethesda, Maryland): single-dose study in healthy adults

Enspryng

satralizumab · IL-6R
Japan: early study in healthy volunteers (SA-001JG); another in RA patients

Lartruvo

olaratumab · PDGFRα
United States: single-agent dose-escalation study in patients with advanced solid tumours and lymphomas (2 US centres)

Loqtorzi

toripalimab · PD-1
China: initial clinical studies in patients with a variety of tumor types

Monjuvi

tafasitamab · CD19
United States: first-in-human dose escalation in 27 patients with relapsed/refractory CLL/SLL at 3 centers

Penpulimab

penpulimab · PD-1
Australia: first-in-human study in patients

Rystiggo

rozanolixizumab · FcRn
United Kingdom: first-in-human study UP0018

Takhzyro

lanadelumab · Plasma kallikrein
Country not stated; first-in-human single ascending dose study in 32 healthy adults (DX-2930-01)

Tecentriq

atezolizumab · PD-L1
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation study in patients with solid tumours (PCD4989g)

Tezspire

tezepelumab · TSLP
Country not stated; first-in-human single ascending dose study in adult healthy subjects

Tremfya

guselkumab · IL-23 p19
Country not stated; first-in-human single-dose study in healthy subjects and psoriasis patients (PSO1001)

Actemra

tocilizumab · IL-6R
Not stated in public reviews

Adakveo

crizanlizumab · P-selectin
Not stated in public reviews

Adbry

tralokinumab · IL-13
Not stated in public reviews

Aduhelm

aducanumab · Aggregated amyloid-β
Not stated in public reviews

Aimovig

erenumab · CGRP receptor
Not stated in public reviews

Ajovy

fremanezumab · CGRP
Not stated in public reviews

Alhemo

concizumab · TFPI
Not stated in public reviews

Andembry

garadacimab · Factor XIIa
Not stated in public reviews

Anthim

obiltoxaximab · B. anthracis PA
Not stated in public reviews

Arzerra

ofatumumab · CD20
Not stated in public reviews

Avastin

bevacizumab · VEGF-A
Not stated in public reviews

Benlysta

belimumab · BLyS (BAFF)
Not stated in public reviews

Beovu

brolucizumab · VEGF-A
Not stated in public reviews

Beyfortus

nirsevimab · RSV F protein
Not stated in public reviews

Briumvi

ublituximab · CD20
Not stated in public reviews

Cablivi

caplacizumab · von Willebrand factor (A1 domain)
Not stated in public reviews

Campath

alemtuzumab · CD52
Not stated in public reviews

Cimzia

certolizumab pegol · TNF-α
Not stated in public reviews

Cosentyx

secukinumab · IL-17A
Not stated in public reviews

Crysvita

burosumab · FGF23
Not stated in public reviews

Cyramza

ramucirumab · VEGFR2
Not stated in public reviews

Danyelza

naxitamab · GD2
Not stated in public reviews

Darzalex

daratumumab · CD38
Not stated in public reviews

Dupixent

dupilumab · IL-4Ra
Not stated in public reviews

Ebglyss

lebrikizumab · IL-13
Not stated in public reviews

Emgality

galcanezumab · CGRP
Not stated in public reviews

Empliciti

elotuzumab · SLAMF7
Not stated in public reviews

Enflonsia

clesrovimab · RSV F protein (site IV)
Not stated in public reviews

Enjaymo

sutimlimab · Complement C1s
Not stated in public reviews

Entyvio

vedolizumab · α4β7-integrin
Not stated in public reviews

Erbitux

cetuximab · EGFR
Not stated in public reviews

Evenity

romosozumab · Sclerostin
Not stated in public reviews

Evkeeza

evinacumab · ANGPTL3
Not stated in public reviews

Exdensur

depemokimab · IL-5
Not stated in public reviews

Fasenra

benralizumab · IL-5Rα
Not stated in public reviews

Gamifant

emapalumab · IFN-γ
Not stated in public reviews

Gazyva

obinutuzumab · CD20
Not stated in public reviews

Herceptin

trastuzumab · HER2
Not stated in public reviews

Humira

adalimumab · TNF-α
Not stated in public reviews

Hympavzi

marstacimab · TFPI
Not stated in public reviews

Ilaris

canakinumab · IL-1β
Not stated in public reviews

Ilumya

tildrakizumab · IL-23 p19
Not stated in public reviews

Imaavy

nipocalimab · FcRn
Not stated in public reviews

Imfinzi

durvalumab · PD-L1
Not stated in public reviews

Imjudo

tremelimumab · CTLA-4
Not stated in public reviews

Jemperli

dostarlimab · PD-1
Not stated in public reviews

Kevzara

sarilumab · IL-6R
Not stated in public reviews

Keytruda

pembrolizumab · PD-1
Not stated in public reviews

Kisunla

donanemab · Amyloid-β (N3pG)
Not stated in public reviews

Leqembi

lecanemab · Amyloid-β protofibrils
Not stated in public reviews

Libtayo

cemiplimab · PD-1
Not stated in public reviews

Lucentis

ranibizumab · VEGF-A
Not stated in public reviews

Margenza

margetuximab · HER2
Not stated in public reviews

Nemluvio

nemolizumab · IL-31RA
Not stated in public reviews

Niktimvo

axatilimab · CSF-1R
Not stated in public reviews

Nucala

mepolizumab · IL-5
Not stated in public reviews

Ocrevus

ocrelizumab · CD20
Not stated in public reviews

Omvoh

mirikizumab · IL-23 p19
Not stated in public reviews

Opdivo

nivolumab · PD-1
Not stated in public reviews

Pasatru

garetosmab · Activin A
Not stated in public reviews

Perjeta

pertuzumab · HER2
Not stated in public reviews

Piasky

crovalimab · Complement C5
Not stated in public reviews

Portrazza

necitumumab · EGFR
Not stated in public reviews

Poteligeo

mogamulizumab · CCR4
Not stated in public reviews

Praluent

alirocumab · PCSK9
Not stated in public reviews

Praxbind

idarucizumab · Dabigatran
Not stated in public reviews

Prolia

denosumab · RANKL
Not stated in public reviews

Raxibacumab

raxibacumab · B. anthracis protective antigen
Not stated in public reviews

Remicade

infliximab · TNF-α
Not stated in public reviews

Repatha

evolocumab · PCSK9
Not stated in public reviews

Rituxan

rituximab · CD20
Not stated in public reviews

Saphnelo

anifrolumab · IFNAR1
Not stated in public reviews

Sarclisa

isatuximab · CD38
Not stated in public reviews

Siliq

brodalumab · IL-17RA
Not stated in public reviews

Simponi

golimumab · TNF-α
Not stated in public reviews

Simulect

basiliximab · IL-2Rα (CD25)
Not stated in public reviews

Skyrizi

risankizumab · IL-23 p19
Not stated in public reviews

Soliris

eculizumab · Complement C5
Not stated in public reviews

Spevigo

spesolimab · IL-36R
Not stated in public reviews

Stelara

ustekinumab · IL-12/23 p40
Not stated in public reviews

Sylvant

siltuximab · IL-6
Not stated in public reviews

Synagis

palivizumab · RSV F protein
Not stated in public reviews

Taltz

ixekizumab · IL-17A
Not stated in public reviews

Tepezza

teprotumumab · IGF-1R
Not stated in public reviews

Tevimbra

tislelizumab · PD-1
Not stated in public reviews

Trogarzo

ibalizumab · CD4
Not stated in public reviews

Tysabri

natalizumab · α4-integrin
Not stated in public reviews

Tzield

teplizumab · CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Ultomiris

ravulizumab · Complement C5
Not stated in public reviews

Unituxin

dinutuximab · GD2
Not stated in public reviews

Unloxcyt

cosibelimab · PD-L1
Not stated in public reviews

Uplizna

inebilizumab · CD19
Not stated in public reviews

Vectibix

panitumumab · EGFR
Not stated in public reviews

Voyxact

sibeprenlimab · APRIL
Not stated in public reviews

Vyepti

eptinezumab · CGRP
Not stated in public reviews

Vyloy

zolbetuximab · Claudin 18.2
Not stated in public reviews

Xolair

omalizumab · IgE
Not stated in public reviews

Yartemlea

narsoplimab · MASP-2
Not stated in public reviews

Yervoy

ipilimumab · CTLA-4
Not stated in public reviews

Zinbryta

daclizumab · IL-2Rα (CD25)
Not stated in public reviews

Zinplava

bezlotoxumab · C. difficile toxin B
Not stated in public reviews

Zynyz

retifanlimab · PD-1
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 117 monoclonal antibodies →