Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
MABEL and in vitro receptor occupancy: 0.0001 mg/kg, about 10% predicted CD38 occupancy in B and T cells
“Based on the overall data, the recommended starting human dose for the first-in-human study was 0.0001 mg/kg, which is approximately 10% of the predicted CD38 receptor occupancy measured in normal human B and T cells.”
“toxicology studies with isatuximab were limited to a repeat-dose (once weekly for 3 weeks) toxicity study in cynomolgus monkeys (preceded by a small exploratory study)”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 54Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP 3-week cynomolgus monkey IV study, 20, 50 or 100 mg/kg/week, once weekly
“The weekly repeated intravenous administration of isatuximab for 3 weeks to cynomolgus monkeys at doses of 20, 50 or 100 mg/kg/week resulted in no isatuximab-related findings in any parameters and in any groups.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 54Source ↗
DART package
Species: DART
Not conducted (no pharmacologically relevant species); weight of evidence from CD38 literature
“Due to the lack of an appropriate pharmacologically relevant animal species for a study assessing the effects of isatuximab on embryo-fetal development, the evaluation of the reproductive and developmental toxicity of isatuximab is based on a weight of evidence (WOE) approach using literature on the involvement of CD38 in reproduction and development.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 37Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
No studies; weight of evidence from CD38 knockout models: fetal CD38+ immune cell depletion and reduced bone density
“Effects observed in target antigen CD38 knockout animal models include the depletion of fetal CD38 positive immune cells and a decrease in bone density.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 37Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
No PPND study conducted; FDA concurred under ICH S9 (oncology)
“Prenatal and Postnatal Development The Applicant's Position: No study or assessment conducted. The FDA's Assessment: FDA concurs based on the ICH S9 guidance.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 63Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“No carcinogenicity studies were performed with isatuximab.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 58Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (ICH S6, ICH S9)
“In line with relevant guidelines no genotoxicity, carcinogenicity and reproductive toxicity studies were conducted (ref. ICH S6, ICH S9; SmPC section 5.3).”
US, Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Korea, Poland, Taiwan, China and UK: first dose-escalation study (EMR100070-001) in patients with solid tumors