Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Tecentriq: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

atezolizumab · PD-L1

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation study in patients with solid tumours (PCD4989g)
“Multicenter, first-in-human, dose-escalation, open-label study”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 37Source ↗
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Tecentriq don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for monoclonal antibodies

ADCs with cytotoxic payloads follow the S9 rules (1/10 STD10 or 1/6 HNSTD of the ADC, scaled by body surface area). For immune agonists, a MABEL-based start dose should be considered instead.

“For example, for cytotoxic payloads, the starting clinical dose can be determined using either 1/10th the Severely Toxic Dose (STD) in 10% of animals (STD10) in rodents or 1/6th the Highest Non- Severely Toxic Dose (HNSTD) in non-rodents, for the ADC based on body surface area, depending on which is the most appropriate and/or sensitive species.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2018: ICH S9 Guideline: Nonclinical Evaluation for Anticancer…, p. 15Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Arteritis/periarteritis in monkeys and sciatic neuropathy in mice, possibly enhanced autoreactive immune response (EMA assessment report, p. 36)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
26-week IV cynomolgus monkey study (13-3278) with recovery groups; recovery length not stated
“13-3278 3/sex (main) 2/sex (recovery) IV: 0, 5, 15, 50 26 weeks Q1W”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP cynomolgus monkey studies: 8-week SC and IV, and 26-week IV, weekly up to 50 mg/kg
“In GLP-compliant toxicology studies, Cynomolgus monkeys received atezolizumab at doses up to 50 mg/kg/week given SC for 8 weeks or administered IV for up to 26 weeks.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 55Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted; reproductive organs assessed in chronic monkey study (irregular cycles, no new corpora lutea)
“Reproductive and developmental toxicity studies have not been conducted with atezolizumab. However, in the chronic toxicity study in sexually mature monkeys, atezolizumab treatment at the high-dose resulted in irregular menstrual cycles and a lack of newly formed corpora lutea in the ovaries.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
No dedicated studies; chronic monkey study: irregular menstrual cycles and no new corpora lutea at high dose
“Reproductive and developmental toxicity studies have not been conducted with atezolizumab. However, in the chronic toxicity study in sexually mature monkeys, atezolizumab treatment at the high-dose resulted in irregular menstrual cycles and a lack of newly formed corpora lutea in the ovaries.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; literature-based assessment of reproductive and developmental risk instead (oncology, ICH S9)
“The Applicant did not conduct reproductive and developmental toxicology studies with atezolizumab.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 49Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (ICH S6(R1), ICH S9)
“Carcinogenicity studies have not been conducted in accordance with ICH S6(R1) and ICH S9.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (ICH S6(R1), ICH S9); no increased carcinogenic risk expected from mechanism
“Carcinogenicity studies have not been conducted in accordance with ICH S6(R1) and ICH S9. Furthermore, due to its mechanism of action, atezolizumab is not expected to be associated with an increased carcinogenic risk.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (ICH S6(R1) and ICH S9)
“Carcinogenicity studies have not been conducted in accordance with ICH S6(R1) and ICH S9.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗

Same question, other monoclonal antibodies

Bavencio

avelumab · PD-L1
US, Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Korea, Poland, Taiwan, China and UK: first dose-escalation study (EMR100070-001) in patients with solid tumors

Bimzelx

bimekizumab · IL-17A/IL-17F
Outside the US (country not named): first-in-human placebo-controlled study UP0008, not under the US IND

Cinqair

reslizumab · IL-5
Europe: single-dose escalation in 32 patients with severe asthma

Ebanga

ansuvimab · Zaire ebolavirus glycoprotein
United States (NIH Clinical Center, Bethesda, Maryland): single-dose study in healthy adults

Enspryng

satralizumab · IL-6R
Japan: early study in healthy volunteers (SA-001JG); another in RA patients

Lartruvo

olaratumab · PDGFRα
United States: single-agent dose-escalation study in patients with advanced solid tumours and lymphomas (2 US centres)

Loqtorzi

toripalimab · PD-1
China: initial clinical studies in patients with a variety of tumor types

Monjuvi

tafasitamab · CD19
United States: first-in-human dose escalation in 27 patients with relapsed/refractory CLL/SLL at 3 centers

Penpulimab

penpulimab · PD-1
Australia: first-in-human study in patients

Rystiggo

rozanolixizumab · FcRn
United Kingdom: first-in-human study UP0018

Takhzyro

lanadelumab · Plasma kallikrein
Country not stated; first-in-human single ascending dose study in 32 healthy adults (DX-2930-01)

Tezspire

tezepelumab · TSLP
Country not stated; first-in-human single ascending dose study in adult healthy subjects

Tremfya

guselkumab · IL-23 p19
Country not stated; first-in-human single-dose study in healthy subjects and psoriasis patients (PSO1001)

Actemra

tocilizumab · IL-6R
Not stated in public reviews

Adakveo

crizanlizumab · P-selectin
Not stated in public reviews

Adbry

tralokinumab · IL-13
Not stated in public reviews

Aduhelm

aducanumab · Aggregated amyloid-β
Not stated in public reviews

Aimovig

erenumab · CGRP receptor
Not stated in public reviews

Ajovy

fremanezumab · CGRP
Not stated in public reviews

Alhemo

concizumab · TFPI
Not stated in public reviews

Andembry

garadacimab · Factor XIIa
Not stated in public reviews

Anthim

obiltoxaximab · B. anthracis PA
Not stated in public reviews

Arzerra

ofatumumab · CD20
Not stated in public reviews

Avastin

bevacizumab · VEGF-A
Not stated in public reviews

Benlysta

belimumab · BLyS (BAFF)
Not stated in public reviews

Beovu

brolucizumab · VEGF-A
Not stated in public reviews

Beyfortus

nirsevimab · RSV F protein
Not stated in public reviews

Briumvi

ublituximab · CD20
Not stated in public reviews

Cablivi

caplacizumab · von Willebrand factor (A1 domain)
Not stated in public reviews

Campath

alemtuzumab · CD52
Not stated in public reviews

Cimzia

certolizumab pegol · TNF-α
Not stated in public reviews

Cosentyx

secukinumab · IL-17A
Not stated in public reviews

Crysvita

burosumab · FGF23
Not stated in public reviews

Cyramza

ramucirumab · VEGFR2
Not stated in public reviews

Danyelza

naxitamab · GD2
Not stated in public reviews

Darzalex

daratumumab · CD38
Not stated in public reviews

Dupixent

dupilumab · IL-4Ra
Not stated in public reviews

Ebglyss

lebrikizumab · IL-13
Not stated in public reviews

Emgality

galcanezumab · CGRP
Not stated in public reviews

Empliciti

elotuzumab · SLAMF7
Not stated in public reviews

Enflonsia

clesrovimab · RSV F protein (site IV)
Not stated in public reviews

Enjaymo

sutimlimab · Complement C1s
Not stated in public reviews

Entyvio

vedolizumab · α4β7-integrin
Not stated in public reviews

Erbitux

cetuximab · EGFR
Not stated in public reviews

Evenity

romosozumab · Sclerostin
Not stated in public reviews

Evkeeza

evinacumab · ANGPTL3
Not stated in public reviews

Exdensur

depemokimab · IL-5
Not stated in public reviews

Fasenra

benralizumab · IL-5Rα
Not stated in public reviews

Gamifant

emapalumab · IFN-γ
Not stated in public reviews

Gazyva

obinutuzumab · CD20
Not stated in public reviews

Herceptin

trastuzumab · HER2
Not stated in public reviews

Humira

adalimumab · TNF-α
Not stated in public reviews

Hympavzi

marstacimab · TFPI
Not stated in public reviews

Ilaris

canakinumab · IL-1β
Not stated in public reviews

Ilumya

tildrakizumab · IL-23 p19
Not stated in public reviews

Imaavy

nipocalimab · FcRn
Not stated in public reviews

Imfinzi

durvalumab · PD-L1
Not stated in public reviews

Imjudo

tremelimumab · CTLA-4
Not stated in public reviews

Jemperli

dostarlimab · PD-1
Not stated in public reviews

Kevzara

sarilumab · IL-6R
Not stated in public reviews

Keytruda

pembrolizumab · PD-1
Not stated in public reviews

Kisunla

donanemab · Amyloid-β (N3pG)
Not stated in public reviews

Leqembi

lecanemab · Amyloid-β protofibrils
Not stated in public reviews

Libtayo

cemiplimab · PD-1
Not stated in public reviews

Lucentis

ranibizumab · VEGF-A
Not stated in public reviews

Margenza

margetuximab · HER2
Not stated in public reviews

Nemluvio

nemolizumab · IL-31RA
Not stated in public reviews

Niktimvo

axatilimab · CSF-1R
Not stated in public reviews

Nucala

mepolizumab · IL-5
Not stated in public reviews

Ocrevus

ocrelizumab · CD20
Not stated in public reviews

Omvoh

mirikizumab · IL-23 p19
Not stated in public reviews

Opdivo

nivolumab · PD-1
Not stated in public reviews

Pasatru

garetosmab · Activin A
Not stated in public reviews

Perjeta

pertuzumab · HER2
Not stated in public reviews

Piasky

crovalimab · Complement C5
Not stated in public reviews

Portrazza

necitumumab · EGFR
Not stated in public reviews

Poteligeo

mogamulizumab · CCR4
Not stated in public reviews

Praluent

alirocumab · PCSK9
Not stated in public reviews

Praxbind

idarucizumab · Dabigatran
Not stated in public reviews

Prolia

denosumab · RANKL
Not stated in public reviews

Raxibacumab

raxibacumab · B. anthracis protective antigen
Not stated in public reviews

Remicade

infliximab · TNF-α
Not stated in public reviews

Repatha

evolocumab · PCSK9
Not stated in public reviews

Rituxan

rituximab · CD20
Not stated in public reviews

Saphnelo

anifrolumab · IFNAR1
Not stated in public reviews

Sarclisa

isatuximab · CD38
Not stated in public reviews

Siliq

brodalumab · IL-17RA
Not stated in public reviews

Simponi

golimumab · TNF-α
Not stated in public reviews

Simulect

basiliximab · IL-2Rα (CD25)
Not stated in public reviews

Skyrizi

risankizumab · IL-23 p19
Not stated in public reviews

Soliris

eculizumab · Complement C5
Not stated in public reviews

Spevigo

spesolimab · IL-36R
Not stated in public reviews

Stelara

ustekinumab · IL-12/23 p40
Not stated in public reviews

Sylvant

siltuximab · IL-6
Not stated in public reviews

Synagis

palivizumab · RSV F protein
Not stated in public reviews

Taltz

ixekizumab · IL-17A
Not stated in public reviews

Tepezza

teprotumumab · IGF-1R
Not stated in public reviews

Tevimbra

tislelizumab · PD-1
Not stated in public reviews

Trogarzo

ibalizumab · CD4
Not stated in public reviews

Tysabri

natalizumab · α4-integrin
Not stated in public reviews

Tzield

teplizumab · CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Ultomiris

ravulizumab · Complement C5
Not stated in public reviews

Unituxin

dinutuximab · GD2
Not stated in public reviews

Unloxcyt

cosibelimab · PD-L1
Not stated in public reviews

Uplizna

inebilizumab · CD19
Not stated in public reviews

Vectibix

panitumumab · EGFR
Not stated in public reviews

Veopoz

pozelimab · Complement C5
Not stated in public reviews

Voyxact

sibeprenlimab · APRIL
Not stated in public reviews

Vyepti

eptinezumab · CGRP
Not stated in public reviews

Vyloy

zolbetuximab · Claudin 18.2
Not stated in public reviews

Xolair

omalizumab · IgE
Not stated in public reviews

Yartemlea

narsoplimab · MASP-2
Not stated in public reviews

Yervoy

ipilimumab · CTLA-4
Not stated in public reviews

Zinbryta

daclizumab · IL-2Rα (CD25)
Not stated in public reviews

Zinplava

bezlotoxumab · C. difficile toxin B
Not stated in public reviews

Zynyz

retifanlimab · PD-1
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 117 monoclonal antibodies →