Lartruvo: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?
olaratumab · PDGFRα
Before first-in-human
First-in-human: where
United States: single-agent dose-escalation study in patients with advanced solid tumours and lymphomas (2 US centres)
“JGDC (IMCL CP15-0601) is a phase 1 multicentre open-label dose escalation study of olaratumab single agent in advanced solid tumours and lymphomas, conducted in 2 US centres between December 2006 and March 2009.”
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank
The public FDA and EMA reviews of Lartruvo don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.
How it's usually set for oncology monoclonal antibodies (ICH S9)
HNSTD/STD10 is the method used for anticancer drugs in patients: the start dose is one-sixth of the highest non-severely toxic dose (HNSTD) in non-rodents, or one-tenth of the dose severely toxic to 10% of rodents (STD10), scaled by body surface area. The aim is a dose that is pharmacologically active yet reasonably safe.
“A common approach for many small molecules is to set a start dose at 1/10 the Severely Toxic Dose in 10% of the animals (STD 10) in rodents. If the non-rodent is the most appropriate species, then 1/6 the Highest Non-Severely Toxic Dose (HNSTD) is considered an appropriate starting dose.”
This product's starting point
NOAEL / key findings: NOAEL 75 mg/kg (highest dose) in 39-week monkey study; non-adverse ALT rise and liver infiltrates; potential targets skin, liver, lung, pancreas (EMA assessment report, p. 35)
Longest repeat-dose systemic studies
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
39-week cynomolgus monkey (weekly IV infusion) GLP study with 8-week recovery
“Weekly I.V. infusion of olaratumab for 39 weeks induced an increase in the incidence and/or severity of lymphocyte infiltration in numerous tissues, which often persisted or developed during the 8-week recovery period.”
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP monkey studies, weekly IV infusion for 5, 13 and 39 weeks with 7- or 8-week recovery
“by i.v. infusion over 5, 13 and 39 weeks, followed by recovery periods of 7 or 8 weeks.”
DART package
Species: DART
Mouse EFD with chimeric surrogate IMC-1E10, plus literature review
“the Applicant provided a scientific literature review and assessment of the potential reproductive toxicity of olaratumab in conjunction with an embryo-fetal development study in mice using a chimeric surrogate antibody, IMC-1E10.”
Reproductive & developmental
No fertility or PPND studies. Mouse EFD with surrogate IMC-1E10: teratogenic (eyelid, skeletal malformations) below human exposure
“IMC-1E10 was teratogenic at maternal IMC-1E10 exposures below the human exposure to olaratumab at the recommended dose of 15 mg/kg.”
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: not required for advanced cancer (mouse surrogate EFD only)
“Prenatal and Postnatal Development Not conducted and not required to support the approval of a pharmaceutical intended for the treatment of patients with advanced cancer.”
Carcinogenicity
Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (ICH S6, S1, S9)
“Not conducted per ICH S6, ICH S1, and ICH S9.”
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted: not warranted for advanced cancer (ICH S9); no carcinogenicity signal in 39-week monkey study
“Carcinogenicity studies are not warranted to support marketing for therapeutics intended to treat patients with advanced cancer (ICHS9). In addition, there were no findings observed in the 39-week repeat-dose study in monkeys that would indicate a carcinogenicity risk”
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (advanced cancer, ICH S9)
“Carcinogenicity studies are not warranted to support marketing for therapeutics intended to treat patients with advanced cancer (ICHS9).”
Same question, other monoclonal antibodies
US, Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Korea, Poland, Taiwan, China and UK: first dose-escalation study (EMR100070-001) in patients with solid tumors
Bimzelx
bimekizumab · IL-17A/IL-17FOutside the US (country not named): first-in-human placebo-controlled study UP0008, not under the US IND
Cinqair
reslizumab · IL-5Europe: single-dose escalation in 32 patients with severe asthma
Ebanga
ansuvimab · Zaire ebolavirus glycoproteinUnited States (NIH Clinical Center, Bethesda, Maryland): single-dose study in healthy adults
Enspryng
satralizumab · IL-6RJapan: early study in healthy volunteers (SA-001JG); another in RA patients
Loqtorzi
toripalimab · PD-1China: initial clinical studies in patients with a variety of tumor types
Monjuvi
tafasitamab · CD19United States: first-in-human dose escalation in 27 patients with relapsed/refractory CLL/SLL at 3 centers
Penpulimab
penpulimab · PD-1Australia: first-in-human study in patients
Rystiggo
rozanolixizumab · FcRnUnited Kingdom: first-in-human study UP0018
Takhzyro
lanadelumab · Plasma kallikreinCountry not stated; first-in-human single ascending dose study in 32 healthy adults (DX-2930-01)
Tecentriq
atezolizumab · PD-L1Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation study in patients with solid tumours (PCD4989g)
Tezspire
tezepelumab · TSLPCountry not stated; first-in-human single ascending dose study in adult healthy subjects
Tremfya
guselkumab · IL-23 p19Country not stated; first-in-human single-dose study in healthy subjects and psoriasis patients (PSO1001)
Actemra
tocilizumab · IL-6RNot stated in public reviews
Adakveo
crizanlizumab · P-selectinNot stated in public reviews
Adbry
tralokinumab · IL-13Not stated in public reviews
Aduhelm
aducanumab · Aggregated amyloid-βNot stated in public reviews
Aimovig
erenumab · CGRP receptorNot stated in public reviews
Ajovy
fremanezumab · CGRPNot stated in public reviews
Alhemo
concizumab · TFPINot stated in public reviews
Andembry
garadacimab · Factor XIIaNot stated in public reviews
Anthim
obiltoxaximab · B. anthracis PANot stated in public reviews
Arzerra
ofatumumab · CD20Not stated in public reviews
Avastin
bevacizumab · VEGF-ANot stated in public reviews
Benlysta
belimumab · BLyS (BAFF)Not stated in public reviews
Beovu
brolucizumab · VEGF-ANot stated in public reviews
Beyfortus
nirsevimab · RSV F proteinNot stated in public reviews
Briumvi
ublituximab · CD20Not stated in public reviews
Cablivi
caplacizumab · von Willebrand factor (A1 domain)Not stated in public reviews
Campath
alemtuzumab · CD52Not stated in public reviews
Cimzia
certolizumab pegol · TNF-αNot stated in public reviews
Cosentyx
secukinumab · IL-17ANot stated in public reviews
Crysvita
burosumab · FGF23Not stated in public reviews
Cyramza
ramucirumab · VEGFR2Not stated in public reviews
Danyelza
naxitamab · GD2Not stated in public reviews
Darzalex
daratumumab · CD38Not stated in public reviews
Dupixent
dupilumab · IL-4RaNot stated in public reviews
Ebglyss
lebrikizumab · IL-13Not stated in public reviews
Emgality
galcanezumab · CGRPNot stated in public reviews
Empliciti
elotuzumab · SLAMF7Not stated in public reviews
Enflonsia
clesrovimab · RSV F protein (site IV)Not stated in public reviews
Enjaymo
sutimlimab · Complement C1sNot stated in public reviews
Entyvio
vedolizumab · α4β7-integrinNot stated in public reviews
Erbitux
cetuximab · EGFRNot stated in public reviews
Evenity
romosozumab · SclerostinNot stated in public reviews
Evkeeza
evinacumab · ANGPTL3Not stated in public reviews
Exdensur
depemokimab · IL-5Not stated in public reviews
Fasenra
benralizumab · IL-5RαNot stated in public reviews
Gamifant
emapalumab · IFN-γNot stated in public reviews
Gazyva
obinutuzumab · CD20Not stated in public reviews
Herceptin
trastuzumab · HER2Not stated in public reviews
Humira
adalimumab · TNF-αNot stated in public reviews
Hympavzi
marstacimab · TFPINot stated in public reviews
Ilaris
canakinumab · IL-1βNot stated in public reviews
Ilumya
tildrakizumab · IL-23 p19Not stated in public reviews
Imaavy
nipocalimab · FcRnNot stated in public reviews
Imfinzi
durvalumab · PD-L1Not stated in public reviews
Imjudo
tremelimumab · CTLA-4Not stated in public reviews
Jemperli
dostarlimab · PD-1Not stated in public reviews
Kevzara
sarilumab · IL-6RNot stated in public reviews
Keytruda
pembrolizumab · PD-1Not stated in public reviews
Kisunla
donanemab · Amyloid-β (N3pG)Not stated in public reviews
Leqembi
lecanemab · Amyloid-β protofibrilsNot stated in public reviews
Libtayo
cemiplimab · PD-1Not stated in public reviews
Lucentis
ranibizumab · VEGF-ANot stated in public reviews
Margenza
margetuximab · HER2Not stated in public reviews
Nemluvio
nemolizumab · IL-31RANot stated in public reviews
Niktimvo
axatilimab · CSF-1RNot stated in public reviews
Nucala
mepolizumab · IL-5Not stated in public reviews
Ocrevus
ocrelizumab · CD20Not stated in public reviews
Omvoh
mirikizumab · IL-23 p19Not stated in public reviews
Opdivo
nivolumab · PD-1Not stated in public reviews
Pasatru
garetosmab · Activin ANot stated in public reviews
Perjeta
pertuzumab · HER2Not stated in public reviews
Piasky
crovalimab · Complement C5Not stated in public reviews
Portrazza
necitumumab · EGFRNot stated in public reviews
Poteligeo
mogamulizumab · CCR4Not stated in public reviews
Praluent
alirocumab · PCSK9Not stated in public reviews
Praxbind
idarucizumab · DabigatranNot stated in public reviews
Prolia
denosumab · RANKLNot stated in public reviews
Raxibacumab
raxibacumab · B. anthracis protective antigenNot stated in public reviews
Remicade
infliximab · TNF-αNot stated in public reviews
Repatha
evolocumab · PCSK9Not stated in public reviews
Rituxan
rituximab · CD20Not stated in public reviews
Saphnelo
anifrolumab · IFNAR1Not stated in public reviews
Sarclisa
isatuximab · CD38Not stated in public reviews
Siliq
brodalumab · IL-17RANot stated in public reviews
Simponi
golimumab · TNF-αNot stated in public reviews
Simulect
basiliximab · IL-2Rα (CD25)Not stated in public reviews
Skyrizi
risankizumab · IL-23 p19Not stated in public reviews
Soliris
eculizumab · Complement C5Not stated in public reviews
Spevigo
spesolimab · IL-36RNot stated in public reviews
Stelara
ustekinumab · IL-12/23 p40Not stated in public reviews
Sylvant
siltuximab · IL-6Not stated in public reviews
Synagis
palivizumab · RSV F proteinNot stated in public reviews
Taltz
ixekizumab · IL-17ANot stated in public reviews
Tepezza
teprotumumab · IGF-1RNot stated in public reviews
Tevimbra
tislelizumab · PD-1Not stated in public reviews
Trogarzo
ibalizumab · CD4Not stated in public reviews
Tysabri
natalizumab · α4-integrinNot stated in public reviews
Tzield
teplizumab · CD3Not stated in public reviews
Ultomiris
ravulizumab · Complement C5Not stated in public reviews
Unituxin
dinutuximab · GD2Not stated in public reviews
Unloxcyt
cosibelimab · PD-L1Not stated in public reviews
Uplizna
inebilizumab · CD19Not stated in public reviews
Vectibix
panitumumab · EGFRNot stated in public reviews
Veopoz
pozelimab · Complement C5Not stated in public reviews
Voyxact
sibeprenlimab · APRILNot stated in public reviews
Vyepti
eptinezumab · CGRPNot stated in public reviews
Vyloy
zolbetuximab · Claudin 18.2Not stated in public reviews
Xolair
omalizumab · IgENot stated in public reviews
Yartemlea
narsoplimab · MASP-2Not stated in public reviews
Yervoy
ipilimumab · CTLA-4Not stated in public reviews
Zinbryta
daclizumab · IL-2Rα (CD25)Not stated in public reviews
Zinplava
bezlotoxumab · C. difficile toxin BNot stated in public reviews
Zynyz
retifanlimab · PD-1Not stated in public reviews