Enjaymo: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?
sutimlimab · Complement C1s
Before first-in-human
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank
The public FDA and EMA reviews of Enjaymo don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.
How it's usually set for monoclonal antibodies
Use pharmacology data (target binding, receptor occupancy, in vitro human cells, PK/PD modelling) to estimate the lowest dose expected to have any biological effect (MABEL) and the active dose (PAD), and, for healthy volunteers, start at an exposure below the PAD unless robustly justified.
“these data should be used to determine the minimal anticipated biological effect level (MABEL) in humans and an estimation of the pharmacologically active dose (PAD) and/or anticipated therapeutic dose range (ATD) in humans.”
This product's starting point
NOAEL / key findings: NOAEL 180 mg/kg/week (highest dose) in repeat-dose monkey study; no adverse findings despite near-complete classical complement inhibition (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 40)
Longest repeat-dose systemic studies
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
26-week cynomolgus monkey (IV) GLP study with 8-week recovery
“In a GLP-compliant chronic toxicology study, sutimlimab was administered to cynomolgus monkeys by 30-minute intravenous infusion at 2 doses (60 and 180 mg/kg/week) for 26 consecutive weeks with an 8-week treatment-free recovery period.”
Pivotal GLP studies
Cynomolgus monkey 5-week (up to 100 mg/kg/week) and 26-week (up to 180 mg/kg/week) IV studies with 8-week recovery
“Sutimlimab has been evaluated in repeat-dose studies in cynomolgus monkey for 5 (up to 100 mg/kg/week) and 26 weeks (up to 180 mg/kg/week) with 8 weeks of recovery.”
DART package
Species: DART
Cynomolgus monkey (ePPND, 60 and 180 mg/kg/week); no dedicated fertility study
“An enhanced pre- and post-natal developmental (ePPND) toxicity study was conducted in pregnant monkeys with intravenous administration of 60 and 180 mg/kg/week sutimlimab (during organogenesis to parturition) to evaluate the potential for embryo-fetal and pre/post-natal developmental toxicity.”
Reproductive & developmental
Monkey ePPND up to 180 mg/kg/week (~4x clinical exposure): no adverse reproductive or developmental effects; no dedicated fertility study
“There were no adverse effects on reproductive or developmental outcomes at 180 mg/kg/week, which represents 4 times the human exposure at the 7.5 g clinical dose.”
PPND / ePPND: when
ePPND in cynomolgus monkey completed before the marketing application
“An enhanced pre- and post-natal developmental (ePPND) toxicity study was conducted in pregnant monkeys with intravenous administration of 60 and 180 mg/kg/week sutimlimab (during organogenesis to parturition) to evaluate the potential for embryo-fetal and pre/post-natal developmental toxicity.”
Carcinogenicity
Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (weight-of-evidence assessment instead)
“The applicant’s non-clinical package did not include a traditional in vivo carcinogenicity assessment. Instead, the applicant provided a weight-of-evidence (WOE)-based assessment of carcinogenic potential (per ICH S6).”
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; weight-of-evidence assessment (ICH S6)
“The applicant’s non-clinical package did not include a traditional in vivo carcinogenicity assessment. Instead, the applicant provided a weight-of-evidence (WOE)-based assessment of carcinogenic potential (per ICH S6).”
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required; ECAC concurred no additional carcinogenicity studies warranted
“CDER’s Executive Carcinogenicity Assessment Committee concurred with this assessment, and no additional studies of the carcinogenic potential of sutimlimab are warranted at this time.”
Same question, other monoclonal antibodies
US, Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Korea, Poland, Taiwan, China and UK: first dose-escalation study (EMR100070-001) in patients with solid tumors
Bimzelx
bimekizumab · IL-17A/IL-17FOutside the US (country not named): first-in-human placebo-controlled study UP0008, not under the US IND
Cinqair
reslizumab · IL-5Europe: single-dose escalation in 32 patients with severe asthma
Ebanga
ansuvimab · Zaire ebolavirus glycoproteinUnited States (NIH Clinical Center, Bethesda, Maryland): single-dose study in healthy adults
Enspryng
satralizumab · IL-6RJapan: early study in healthy volunteers (SA-001JG); another in RA patients
Lartruvo
olaratumab · PDGFRαUnited States: single-agent dose-escalation study in patients with advanced solid tumours and lymphomas (2 US centres)
Loqtorzi
toripalimab · PD-1China: initial clinical studies in patients with a variety of tumor types
Monjuvi
tafasitamab · CD19United States: first-in-human dose escalation in 27 patients with relapsed/refractory CLL/SLL at 3 centers
Penpulimab
penpulimab · PD-1Australia: first-in-human study in patients
Rystiggo
rozanolixizumab · FcRnUnited Kingdom: first-in-human study UP0018
Takhzyro
lanadelumab · Plasma kallikreinCountry not stated; first-in-human single ascending dose study in 32 healthy adults (DX-2930-01)
Tecentriq
atezolizumab · PD-L1Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation study in patients with solid tumours (PCD4989g)
Tezspire
tezepelumab · TSLPCountry not stated; first-in-human single ascending dose study in adult healthy subjects
Tremfya
guselkumab · IL-23 p19Country not stated; first-in-human single-dose study in healthy subjects and psoriasis patients (PSO1001)
Actemra
tocilizumab · IL-6RNot stated in public reviews
Adakveo
crizanlizumab · P-selectinNot stated in public reviews
Adbry
tralokinumab · IL-13Not stated in public reviews
Aduhelm
aducanumab · Aggregated amyloid-βNot stated in public reviews
Aimovig
erenumab · CGRP receptorNot stated in public reviews
Ajovy
fremanezumab · CGRPNot stated in public reviews
Alhemo
concizumab · TFPINot stated in public reviews
Andembry
garadacimab · Factor XIIaNot stated in public reviews
Anthim
obiltoxaximab · B. anthracis PANot stated in public reviews
Arzerra
ofatumumab · CD20Not stated in public reviews
Avastin
bevacizumab · VEGF-ANot stated in public reviews
Benlysta
belimumab · BLyS (BAFF)Not stated in public reviews
Beovu
brolucizumab · VEGF-ANot stated in public reviews
Beyfortus
nirsevimab · RSV F proteinNot stated in public reviews
Briumvi
ublituximab · CD20Not stated in public reviews
Cablivi
caplacizumab · von Willebrand factor (A1 domain)Not stated in public reviews
Campath
alemtuzumab · CD52Not stated in public reviews
Cimzia
certolizumab pegol · TNF-αNot stated in public reviews
Cosentyx
secukinumab · IL-17ANot stated in public reviews
Crysvita
burosumab · FGF23Not stated in public reviews
Cyramza
ramucirumab · VEGFR2Not stated in public reviews
Danyelza
naxitamab · GD2Not stated in public reviews
Darzalex
daratumumab · CD38Not stated in public reviews
Dupixent
dupilumab · IL-4RaNot stated in public reviews
Ebglyss
lebrikizumab · IL-13Not stated in public reviews
Emgality
galcanezumab · CGRPNot stated in public reviews
Empliciti
elotuzumab · SLAMF7Not stated in public reviews
Enflonsia
clesrovimab · RSV F protein (site IV)Not stated in public reviews
Entyvio
vedolizumab · α4β7-integrinNot stated in public reviews
Erbitux
cetuximab · EGFRNot stated in public reviews
Evenity
romosozumab · SclerostinNot stated in public reviews
Evkeeza
evinacumab · ANGPTL3Not stated in public reviews
Exdensur
depemokimab · IL-5Not stated in public reviews
Fasenra
benralizumab · IL-5RαNot stated in public reviews
Gamifant
emapalumab · IFN-γNot stated in public reviews
Gazyva
obinutuzumab · CD20Not stated in public reviews
Herceptin
trastuzumab · HER2Not stated in public reviews
Humira
adalimumab · TNF-αNot stated in public reviews
Hympavzi
marstacimab · TFPINot stated in public reviews
Ilaris
canakinumab · IL-1βNot stated in public reviews
Ilumya
tildrakizumab · IL-23 p19Not stated in public reviews
Imaavy
nipocalimab · FcRnNot stated in public reviews
Imfinzi
durvalumab · PD-L1Not stated in public reviews
Imjudo
tremelimumab · CTLA-4Not stated in public reviews
Jemperli
dostarlimab · PD-1Not stated in public reviews
Kevzara
sarilumab · IL-6RNot stated in public reviews
Keytruda
pembrolizumab · PD-1Not stated in public reviews
Kisunla
donanemab · Amyloid-β (N3pG)Not stated in public reviews
Leqembi
lecanemab · Amyloid-β protofibrilsNot stated in public reviews
Libtayo
cemiplimab · PD-1Not stated in public reviews
Lucentis
ranibizumab · VEGF-ANot stated in public reviews
Margenza
margetuximab · HER2Not stated in public reviews
Nemluvio
nemolizumab · IL-31RANot stated in public reviews
Niktimvo
axatilimab · CSF-1RNot stated in public reviews
Nucala
mepolizumab · IL-5Not stated in public reviews
Ocrevus
ocrelizumab · CD20Not stated in public reviews
Omvoh
mirikizumab · IL-23 p19Not stated in public reviews
Opdivo
nivolumab · PD-1Not stated in public reviews
Pasatru
garetosmab · Activin ANot stated in public reviews
Perjeta
pertuzumab · HER2Not stated in public reviews
Piasky
crovalimab · Complement C5Not stated in public reviews
Portrazza
necitumumab · EGFRNot stated in public reviews
Poteligeo
mogamulizumab · CCR4Not stated in public reviews
Praluent
alirocumab · PCSK9Not stated in public reviews
Praxbind
idarucizumab · DabigatranNot stated in public reviews
Prolia
denosumab · RANKLNot stated in public reviews
Raxibacumab
raxibacumab · B. anthracis protective antigenNot stated in public reviews
Remicade
infliximab · TNF-αNot stated in public reviews
Repatha
evolocumab · PCSK9Not stated in public reviews
Rituxan
rituximab · CD20Not stated in public reviews
Saphnelo
anifrolumab · IFNAR1Not stated in public reviews
Sarclisa
isatuximab · CD38Not stated in public reviews
Siliq
brodalumab · IL-17RANot stated in public reviews
Simponi
golimumab · TNF-αNot stated in public reviews
Simulect
basiliximab · IL-2Rα (CD25)Not stated in public reviews
Skyrizi
risankizumab · IL-23 p19Not stated in public reviews
Soliris
eculizumab · Complement C5Not stated in public reviews
Spevigo
spesolimab · IL-36RNot stated in public reviews
Stelara
ustekinumab · IL-12/23 p40Not stated in public reviews
Sylvant
siltuximab · IL-6Not stated in public reviews
Synagis
palivizumab · RSV F proteinNot stated in public reviews
Taltz
ixekizumab · IL-17ANot stated in public reviews
Tepezza
teprotumumab · IGF-1RNot stated in public reviews
Tevimbra
tislelizumab · PD-1Not stated in public reviews
Trogarzo
ibalizumab · CD4Not stated in public reviews
Tysabri
natalizumab · α4-integrinNot stated in public reviews
Tzield
teplizumab · CD3Not stated in public reviews
Ultomiris
ravulizumab · Complement C5Not stated in public reviews
Unituxin
dinutuximab · GD2Not stated in public reviews
Unloxcyt
cosibelimab · PD-L1Not stated in public reviews
Uplizna
inebilizumab · CD19Not stated in public reviews
Vectibix
panitumumab · EGFRNot stated in public reviews
Veopoz
pozelimab · Complement C5Not stated in public reviews
Voyxact
sibeprenlimab · APRILNot stated in public reviews
Vyepti
eptinezumab · CGRPNot stated in public reviews
Vyloy
zolbetuximab · Claudin 18.2Not stated in public reviews
Xolair
omalizumab · IgENot stated in public reviews
Yartemlea
narsoplimab · MASP-2Not stated in public reviews
Yervoy
ipilimumab · CTLA-4Not stated in public reviews
Zinbryta
daclizumab · IL-2Rα (CD25)Not stated in public reviews
Zinplava
bezlotoxumab · C. difficile toxin BNot stated in public reviews
Zynyz
retifanlimab · PD-1Not stated in public reviews