Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Stelara: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

ustekinumab · IL-12/23 p40

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
IV toxicology studies in primates supported the first human dose (NOAEL 500-fold above the first dose tier)
“supported by IV toxicology studies in primates that demonstrated no observed adverse effect level at doses 500-fold higher than the first dose tier studied in humans and 10-fold higher than the highest dose studied.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 24Source ↗
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Stelara don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for monoclonal antibodies

Use pharmacology data (target binding, receptor occupancy, in vitro human cells, PK/PD modelling) to estimate the lowest dose expected to have any biological effect (MABEL) and the active dose (PAD), and, for healthy volunteers, start at an exposure below the PAD unless robustly justified.

“these data should be used to determine the minimal anticipated biological effect level (MABEL) in humans and an estimation of the pharmacologically active dose (PAD) and/or anticipated therapeutic dose range (ATD) in humans.”
✓ VerifiedEMA 2017: Guideline on strategies to identify and mitigate risks for…, p. 11Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Well tolerated at 45 mg/kg twice weekly SC for 6 months in monkeys; no target organs, no delayed toxicity (EMA assessment report, p. 18)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
26-week SC cynomolgus monkey study with 12-week recovery
“26-week Subcutaneous Dose Toxicity and Toxicokinetic Study with CNTO 1275 (STELARA, ustekinumab) in Cynomolgus Monkeys with a 12-week Recovery Period (Study T-2001-004)”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 13Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Cynomolgus monkey studies: IV up to 45 mg/kg weekly for 1 month; SC up to 45 mg/kg twice weekly for 6 months
“Repeat-dose toxicity studies showed that CNTO 1275 (STELARA, ustekinumab) is generally well tolerated following IV doses up to 45 mg/kg/week for up to 1 month (Studies T-099-003 and T-099-004), and following twice-weekly SC doses up to 45 mg/kg for 6 months (Study T-2001-004).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 13Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Cynomolgus monkey and mouse
“The safety studies include repeated-dose toxicity with periods of recovery in cynomolgus monkeys, and developmental and reproductive toxicity studies in cynomolgus monkeys and mice; a number of non-pivotal studies was also conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 13Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Monkey EFD (IV or SC) and pre-/postnatal development (SC) studies: no effects on gestation, parturition, lactation or offspring
“In studies of embryo-fetal development in cynomolgus monkeys dosed intravenously or subcutaneously and pre-and post-natal development dosed subcutaneously, there were no effects on gestation, parturition, lactation or morphology or development of the offspring.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 17Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
PPND in cynomolgus monkey (SC): completed before the marketing application
“In studies of embryo-fetal development in cynomolgus monkeys dosed intravenously or subcutaneously and pre-and post-natal development dosed subcutaneously, there were no effects on gestation, parturition, lactation or morphology or development of the offspring.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 17Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (ICH S6)
“In accordance with the guideline entitled ‘Preclinical Safety Evaluation of Biotechnology-Derived Pharmaceuticals’ (ICH S6), carcinogenicity studies were not performed.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 17Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; ustekinumab does not bind or neutralise mouse or rat IL-12/IL-23, precluding rodent studies
“Direct evaluation of carcinogenic potential of CNTO 1275 (STELARA, ustekinumab) in carcinogenicity studies or rodent tumour immune surveillance models is precluded by the limited species reactivity of CNTO 1275 (STELARA, ustekinumab) which does not bind to or neutralise IL-12 or IL-23 from mice or rats.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 17Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required under ICH S6
“In accordance with the guideline entitled ‘Preclinical Safety Evaluation of Biotechnology-Derived Pharmaceuticals’ (ICH S6), carcinogenicity studies were not performed.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 17Source ↗

Same question, other monoclonal antibodies

Bavencio

avelumab · PD-L1
US, Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Korea, Poland, Taiwan, China and UK: first dose-escalation study (EMR100070-001) in patients with solid tumors

Bimzelx

bimekizumab · IL-17A/IL-17F
Outside the US (country not named): first-in-human placebo-controlled study UP0008, not under the US IND

Cinqair

reslizumab · IL-5
Europe: single-dose escalation in 32 patients with severe asthma

Ebanga

ansuvimab · Zaire ebolavirus glycoprotein
United States (NIH Clinical Center, Bethesda, Maryland): single-dose study in healthy adults

Enspryng

satralizumab · IL-6R
Japan: early study in healthy volunteers (SA-001JG); another in RA patients

Lartruvo

olaratumab · PDGFRα
United States: single-agent dose-escalation study in patients with advanced solid tumours and lymphomas (2 US centres)

Loqtorzi

toripalimab · PD-1
China: initial clinical studies in patients with a variety of tumor types

Monjuvi

tafasitamab · CD19
United States: first-in-human dose escalation in 27 patients with relapsed/refractory CLL/SLL at 3 centers

Penpulimab

penpulimab · PD-1
Australia: first-in-human study in patients

Rystiggo

rozanolixizumab · FcRn
United Kingdom: first-in-human study UP0018

Takhzyro

lanadelumab · Plasma kallikrein
Country not stated; first-in-human single ascending dose study in 32 healthy adults (DX-2930-01)

Tecentriq

atezolizumab · PD-L1
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation study in patients with solid tumours (PCD4989g)

Tezspire

tezepelumab · TSLP
Country not stated; first-in-human single ascending dose study in adult healthy subjects

Tremfya

guselkumab · IL-23 p19
Country not stated; first-in-human single-dose study in healthy subjects and psoriasis patients (PSO1001)

Actemra

tocilizumab · IL-6R
Not stated in public reviews

Adakveo

crizanlizumab · P-selectin
Not stated in public reviews

Adbry

tralokinumab · IL-13
Not stated in public reviews

Aduhelm

aducanumab · Aggregated amyloid-β
Not stated in public reviews

Aimovig

erenumab · CGRP receptor
Not stated in public reviews

Ajovy

fremanezumab · CGRP
Not stated in public reviews

Alhemo

concizumab · TFPI
Not stated in public reviews

Andembry

garadacimab · Factor XIIa
Not stated in public reviews

Anthim

obiltoxaximab · B. anthracis PA
Not stated in public reviews

Arzerra

ofatumumab · CD20
Not stated in public reviews

Avastin

bevacizumab · VEGF-A
Not stated in public reviews

Benlysta

belimumab · BLyS (BAFF)
Not stated in public reviews

Beovu

brolucizumab · VEGF-A
Not stated in public reviews

Beyfortus

nirsevimab · RSV F protein
Not stated in public reviews

Briumvi

ublituximab · CD20
Not stated in public reviews

Cablivi

caplacizumab · von Willebrand factor (A1 domain)
Not stated in public reviews

Campath

alemtuzumab · CD52
Not stated in public reviews

Cimzia

certolizumab pegol · TNF-α
Not stated in public reviews

Cosentyx

secukinumab · IL-17A
Not stated in public reviews

Crysvita

burosumab · FGF23
Not stated in public reviews

Cyramza

ramucirumab · VEGFR2
Not stated in public reviews

Danyelza

naxitamab · GD2
Not stated in public reviews

Darzalex

daratumumab · CD38
Not stated in public reviews

Dupixent

dupilumab · IL-4Ra
Not stated in public reviews

Ebglyss

lebrikizumab · IL-13
Not stated in public reviews

Emgality

galcanezumab · CGRP
Not stated in public reviews

Empliciti

elotuzumab · SLAMF7
Not stated in public reviews

Enflonsia

clesrovimab · RSV F protein (site IV)
Not stated in public reviews

Enjaymo

sutimlimab · Complement C1s
Not stated in public reviews

Entyvio

vedolizumab · α4β7-integrin
Not stated in public reviews

Erbitux

cetuximab · EGFR
Not stated in public reviews

Evenity

romosozumab · Sclerostin
Not stated in public reviews

Evkeeza

evinacumab · ANGPTL3
Not stated in public reviews

Exdensur

depemokimab · IL-5
Not stated in public reviews

Fasenra

benralizumab · IL-5Rα
Not stated in public reviews

Gamifant

emapalumab · IFN-γ
Not stated in public reviews

Gazyva

obinutuzumab · CD20
Not stated in public reviews

Herceptin

trastuzumab · HER2
Not stated in public reviews

Humira

adalimumab · TNF-α
Not stated in public reviews

Hympavzi

marstacimab · TFPI
Not stated in public reviews

Ilaris

canakinumab · IL-1β
Not stated in public reviews

Ilumya

tildrakizumab · IL-23 p19
Not stated in public reviews

Imaavy

nipocalimab · FcRn
Not stated in public reviews

Imfinzi

durvalumab · PD-L1
Not stated in public reviews

Imjudo

tremelimumab · CTLA-4
Not stated in public reviews

Jemperli

dostarlimab · PD-1
Not stated in public reviews

Kevzara

sarilumab · IL-6R
Not stated in public reviews

Keytruda

pembrolizumab · PD-1
Not stated in public reviews

Kisunla

donanemab · Amyloid-β (N3pG)
Not stated in public reviews

Leqembi

lecanemab · Amyloid-β protofibrils
Not stated in public reviews

Libtayo

cemiplimab · PD-1
Not stated in public reviews

Lucentis

ranibizumab · VEGF-A
Not stated in public reviews

Margenza

margetuximab · HER2
Not stated in public reviews

Nemluvio

nemolizumab · IL-31RA
Not stated in public reviews

Niktimvo

axatilimab · CSF-1R
Not stated in public reviews

Nucala

mepolizumab · IL-5
Not stated in public reviews

Ocrevus

ocrelizumab · CD20
Not stated in public reviews

Omvoh

mirikizumab · IL-23 p19
Not stated in public reviews

Opdivo

nivolumab · PD-1
Not stated in public reviews

Pasatru

garetosmab · Activin A
Not stated in public reviews

Perjeta

pertuzumab · HER2
Not stated in public reviews

Piasky

crovalimab · Complement C5
Not stated in public reviews

Portrazza

necitumumab · EGFR
Not stated in public reviews

Poteligeo

mogamulizumab · CCR4
Not stated in public reviews

Praluent

alirocumab · PCSK9
Not stated in public reviews

Praxbind

idarucizumab · Dabigatran
Not stated in public reviews

Prolia

denosumab · RANKL
Not stated in public reviews

Raxibacumab

raxibacumab · B. anthracis protective antigen
Not stated in public reviews

Remicade

infliximab · TNF-α
Not stated in public reviews

Repatha

evolocumab · PCSK9
Not stated in public reviews

Rituxan

rituximab · CD20
Not stated in public reviews

Saphnelo

anifrolumab · IFNAR1
Not stated in public reviews

Sarclisa

isatuximab · CD38
Not stated in public reviews

Siliq

brodalumab · IL-17RA
Not stated in public reviews

Simponi

golimumab · TNF-α
Not stated in public reviews

Simulect

basiliximab · IL-2Rα (CD25)
Not stated in public reviews

Skyrizi

risankizumab · IL-23 p19
Not stated in public reviews

Soliris

eculizumab · Complement C5
Not stated in public reviews

Spevigo

spesolimab · IL-36R
Not stated in public reviews

Sylvant

siltuximab · IL-6
Not stated in public reviews

Synagis

palivizumab · RSV F protein
Not stated in public reviews

Taltz

ixekizumab · IL-17A
Not stated in public reviews

Tepezza

teprotumumab · IGF-1R
Not stated in public reviews

Tevimbra

tislelizumab · PD-1
Not stated in public reviews

Trogarzo

ibalizumab · CD4
Not stated in public reviews

Tysabri

natalizumab · α4-integrin
Not stated in public reviews

Tzield

teplizumab · CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Ultomiris

ravulizumab · Complement C5
Not stated in public reviews

Unituxin

dinutuximab · GD2
Not stated in public reviews

Unloxcyt

cosibelimab · PD-L1
Not stated in public reviews

Uplizna

inebilizumab · CD19
Not stated in public reviews

Vectibix

panitumumab · EGFR
Not stated in public reviews

Veopoz

pozelimab · Complement C5
Not stated in public reviews

Voyxact

sibeprenlimab · APRIL
Not stated in public reviews

Vyepti

eptinezumab · CGRP
Not stated in public reviews

Vyloy

zolbetuximab · Claudin 18.2
Not stated in public reviews

Xolair

omalizumab · IgE
Not stated in public reviews

Yartemlea

narsoplimab · MASP-2
Not stated in public reviews

Yervoy

ipilimumab · CTLA-4
Not stated in public reviews

Zinbryta

daclizumab · IL-2Rα (CD25)
Not stated in public reviews

Zinplava

bezlotoxumab · C. difficile toxin B
Not stated in public reviews

Zynyz

retifanlimab · PD-1
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 117 monoclonal antibodies →