Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Aucatzyl: genotox, carcinogenicity and repro: done or skipped?

obecabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Genotoxicity
Not conducted (third-generation SIN lentiviral vector, release criterion, long-term clinical monitoring for insertional mutagenesis)
“No nonclinical genotoxicity studies were conducted with obe-cel based on the genotoxic risks associated with the third-generation self-inactivating lentiviral vector used to produce obe-cel, acceptable release criterion, and inclusion of long-term clinical monitoring for insertional mutagenesis and clonality.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 10Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted (ICH S9; no murine CD19 cross-reactivity; murine T cells resist LV transformation)
“Carcinogenicity studies are not needed for indications falling under ICH S9 scope (advanced cancer). In addition, there is no cross-reactivity of the CD19-CAR T cells from Aucatzyl with the murine antigen.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
Instead of carcinogenicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Instead of genotoxicity
Literature-based insertional mutagenesis risk evaluation instead of insertion site analysis
“The literature-based risk evaluation of insertional mutagenesis instead of actual insertion site analysis is sufficient from a non-clinical perspective.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 42Source ↗
DRG histopathology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (ICH S9; no pharmacologically relevant species)
“DART studies are not needed for indications falling under ICH S9 scope (advanced cancer) and no pharmacologically relevant animal species is available.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Not conducted; human-specific product with immune-related risks, immunocompromised models of limited relevance
“No safety pharmacology studies with obe-cel were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 9Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Not conducted (standard genotoxicity not applicable to ATMPs)
“Standard in vitro and in vivo genotoxicity studies are not applicable to ATMPs.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Not conducted; relies on third-generation SIN lentiviral vector, release criterion and long-term clinical monitoring for insertional mutagenesis
“No nonclinical genotoxicity studies were conducted with obe-cel based on the genotoxic risks associated with the third-generation self-inactivating lentiviral vector used to produce obe-cel, acceptable release criterion, and inclusion of long-term clinical monitoring”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 10Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Not conducted (standard genotoxicity not applicable to ATMPs)
“Standard in vitro and in vivo genotoxicity studies are not applicable to ATMPs.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; oncogenesis testing in mice judged difficult as murine T cells resist LV-mediated transformation
“Moreover, evaluation of oncogenesis in e.g. mice would be difficult, considering the high resistance of murine T cells against transformation by LV-related genetic insertions.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (ICH S9, advanced cancer)
“Carcinogenicity studies are not needed for indications falling under ICH S9 scope (advanced cancer).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
hERG / QT
Not conducted (no safety pharmacology studies)
“No safety pharmacology studies with obe-cel were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 9Source ↗

Email me this as a cited memo

Skipped studies for Aucatzyl, each with the regulator's own words, the page and a link. Ready to paste into a briefing document or send to your team.

Same question, other cell therapies

Abecma

idecabtagene vicleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Not conducted (traditional); insertion site analysis of 20 clinical lots

Alofisel

darvadstrocel · Allogeneic adipose MSC
Not conducted; cell-based product does not interact with DNA

Amtagvi

lifileucel · TIL therapy
Not conducted (not warranted given product characteristics and biological activity)

Breyanzi

lisocabtagene maraleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted (traditional); lentiviral integration site mapping instead

Carvykti

ciltacabtagene autoleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Not conducted (classical); lentiviral integration site analysis instead

ChondroCelect

characterised viable autologous cartilage cells · Autologous chondrocytes
Not conducted (per cell-based product guideline)

Ebvallo

tabelecleucel · EBV-specific allogeneic T cells
Not conducted (ICH S6(R1)); non-genetically engineered cells

Encelto

revakinagene taroretcel · CNTF (encapsulated RPE cell implant)
Done: ISO-10993 battery (bacterial, mammalian cell, mouse micronucleus on device extracts), negative

Gintuit

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and fibroblasts in bovine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not conducted (nature of product and clinical experience)

Holoclar

autologous corneal epithelial cells containing limbal stem cells · Autologous limbal stem cells
Not conducted (classical); in vitro karyotype analysis of cells

Kymriah

tisagenlecleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted (classical); lentiviral integration site analysis on 14 donor products

Lantidra

donislecel · Allogeneic pancreatic islets
Not conducted

Laviv

azficel-T · Autologous fibroblasts
Not conducted (autologous nature, prior human experience)

MACI

autologous cultured chondrocytes on porcine collagen membrane · Autologous chondrocytes
Not conducted on cells; four studies on collagen membrane were non-mutagenic

Omisirge

omidubicel · Expanded cord blood HPC
No standard genotox; cytogenetic/karyotype analyses of CF and NF showed no clonal aneuploidy

Provenge

sipuleucel-T · PAP-GM-CSF (autologous APC)
Not conducted (autologous nature of product)

Rethymic

allogeneic processed thymus tissue · Allogeneic thymus tissue
Not conducted

Ryoncil

remestemcel-L · Allogeneic BM-MSC
Not conducted (not warranted)

Spherox

spheroids of autologous matrix-associated chondrocytes · Autologous chondrocyte spheroids
Not conducted (per cell-based product guideline)

StrataGraft

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and dermal fibroblasts in murine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not conducted

Tecartus

brexucabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted (traditional); vector integration site analysis performed instead

Tecelra

afamitresgene autoleucel · MAGE-A4 TCR-T
Not conducted (no test models or relevant species); integration site analysis showed polyclonal products, no selective insertion

Tregzi

allogeneic Treg immunotherapy with HSPC and T cells (Orca-T) · Allogeneic Treg + HSPC + Tcon
Not conducted

Yescarta

axicabtagene ciloleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted; literature review of retroviral-transduced T-cell transformation risk instead

Zalmoxis

allogeneic T cells modified with HSV-TK / dLNGFR (nalotimagene carmaleucel) · HSV-TK suicide-gene T cells
Not conducted; in vitro retroviral integration site analysis instead

Zemcelpro

dorocubicel · UM171-expanded cord blood CD34+
Done for residual UM171 only (Ames, CHO micronucleus negative) plus cytogenetics of treated cells; none for cells

Summary across all 27 cell therapies →