Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Breyanzi: genotox, carcinogenicity and repro: done or skipped?

lisocabtagene maraleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Genotoxicity
Not conducted (traditional); lentiviral integration site mapping instead
“Traditional genotoxicity assays and carcinogenicity assessments were not performed for JCAR017.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted (ICH S9); GLP in vitro 60-day IL-2-independent growth study instead
“Consistent with regulatory guidance under “Nonclinical Evaluation for Anticancer Pharmaceuticals” (ICH S9, 2009) carcinogenicity studies were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
Instead of carcinogenicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Instead of genotoxicity
Genome-wide lentiviral integration site mapping in 54 CAR T products from 34 patients; separate GLP in vitro IL-2-independent growth study
“Lentiviral integration sites were characterized to evaluate the risk for insertional toxicities in the JCAR017. An unbiased, genome-wide, assay assessed viral integration events across 54 CAR T cell products derived from 34 patients that were transduced with vector to produce JCAR017.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 38Source ↗
DRG histopathology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (no survival in immunocompetent rodents; GvHD in immunodeficient mice)
“JCAR017 does not survive in immunocompetent rodents and induces graft-versus-host disease in immunocompromised mice; therefore, traditional DART studies were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 38Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Not conducted (no species cross-reactivity)
“The autologous cell-based JCAR017 T products lack species cross-reactivity thus in all NC studies performed safety pharmacology was deemed not practical and of negligible utility.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Not conducted (negligible utility for this product)
“In this light, traditional toxicity, including single and repeat-dose toxicity, genotoxicity, carcinogenicity, reproductive and developmental toxicity, and local tolerance studies were deemed of negligible utility and thus were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Not conducted; genome-wide lentiviral integration site analysis across 54 products from 34 patients instead
“An unbiased, genome-wide, assay assessed viral integration events across 54 CAR T cell products derived from 34 patients that were transduced with vector to produce JCAR017.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 38Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Not conducted (negligible utility for this product)
“In this light, traditional toxicity, including single and repeat-dose toxicity, genotoxicity, carcinogenicity, reproductive and developmental toxicity, and local tolerance studies were deemed of negligible utility and thus were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; in vitro GLP IL-2-independent growth study assessed oncogenic transformation risk
“An in vitro GLP-compliant study evaluated the IL-2 independent growth of JCAR017 to assess the risk of oncogenic transformation following transduction.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 40Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (ICH S9)
“Consistent with regulatory guidance under “Nonclinical Evaluation for Anticancer Pharmaceuticals” (ICH S9, 2009) carcinogenicity studies were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
hERG / QT
Not conducted (no safety pharmacology studies)
“No safety pharmacology studies were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 38Source ↗

Same question, other cell therapies

Abecma

idecabtagene vicleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Not conducted (traditional); insertion site analysis of 20 clinical lots

Alofisel

darvadstrocel · Allogeneic adipose MSC
Not conducted; cell-based product does not interact with DNA

Amtagvi

lifileucel · TIL therapy
Not conducted (not warranted given product characteristics and biological activity)

Aucatzyl

obecabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted (third-generation SIN lentiviral vector, release criterion, long-term clinical monitoring for insertional mutagenesis)

Carvykti

ciltacabtagene autoleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Not conducted (classical); lentiviral integration site analysis instead

ChondroCelect

characterised viable autologous cartilage cells · Autologous chondrocytes
Not conducted (per cell-based product guideline)

Ebvallo

tabelecleucel · EBV-specific allogeneic T cells
Not conducted (ICH S6(R1)); non-genetically engineered cells

Encelto

revakinagene taroretcel · CNTF (encapsulated RPE cell implant)
Done: ISO-10993 battery (bacterial, mammalian cell, mouse micronucleus on device extracts), negative

Gintuit

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and fibroblasts in bovine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not conducted (nature of product and clinical experience)

Holoclar

autologous corneal epithelial cells containing limbal stem cells · Autologous limbal stem cells
Not conducted (classical); in vitro karyotype analysis of cells

Kymriah

tisagenlecleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted (classical); lentiviral integration site analysis on 14 donor products

Lantidra

donislecel · Allogeneic pancreatic islets
Not conducted

Laviv

azficel-T · Autologous fibroblasts
Not conducted (autologous nature, prior human experience)

MACI

autologous cultured chondrocytes on porcine collagen membrane · Autologous chondrocytes
Not conducted on cells; four studies on collagen membrane were non-mutagenic

Omisirge

omidubicel · Expanded cord blood HPC
No standard genotox; cytogenetic/karyotype analyses of CF and NF showed no clonal aneuploidy

Provenge

sipuleucel-T · PAP-GM-CSF (autologous APC)
Not conducted (autologous nature of product)

Rethymic

allogeneic processed thymus tissue · Allogeneic thymus tissue
Not conducted

Ryoncil

remestemcel-L · Allogeneic BM-MSC
Not conducted (not warranted)

Spherox

spheroids of autologous matrix-associated chondrocytes · Autologous chondrocyte spheroids
Not conducted (per cell-based product guideline)

StrataGraft

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and dermal fibroblasts in murine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not conducted

Tecartus

brexucabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted (traditional); vector integration site analysis performed instead

Tecelra

afamitresgene autoleucel · MAGE-A4 TCR-T
Not conducted (no test models or relevant species); integration site analysis showed polyclonal products, no selective insertion

Tregzi

allogeneic Treg immunotherapy with HSPC and T cells (Orca-T) · Allogeneic Treg + HSPC + Tcon
Not conducted

Yescarta

axicabtagene ciloleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted; literature review of retroviral-transduced T-cell transformation risk instead

Zalmoxis

allogeneic T cells modified with HSV-TK / dLNGFR (nalotimagene carmaleucel) · HSV-TK suicide-gene T cells
Not conducted; in vitro retroviral integration site analysis instead

Zemcelpro

dorocubicel · UM171-expanded cord blood CD34+
Done for residual UM171 only (Ames, CHO micronucleus negative) plus cytogenetics of treated cells; none for cells

Summary across all 27 cell therapies →