Nonclinical precedent Request an invite
Precedia/Cell therapy/Ebvallo/Skipped studies

Ebvallo: genotox, carcinogenicity and repro: done or skipped?

tabelecleucel · EBV-specific allogeneic T cells
Genotoxicity
Not conducted (ICH S6(R1)); non-genetically engineered cells
“In accordance with ICH S6(R1), genotoxicity studies with tabelecleucel were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted (ICH S6(R1)); in vitro EBV transmission/transformation co-culture assay done
“standard carcinogenicity bioassays are generally inappropriate for”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗
Instead of carcinogenicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Instead of genotoxicity
Not applicable: cells not genetically modified
“In accordance with ICH S6(R1), genotoxicity studies with tabelecleucel were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗
DRG histopathology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted; highly species-specific pharmacology
“Due to the highly species-specific nature of the pharmacology associated with tabelecleucel, nonclinical reproductive/developmental toxicity studies were not submitted with this application.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Not conducted; species-specific product
“Safety pharmacology studies were not conducted due to the species-specific nature of tabelecleucel and the limited applicability of non-human toxicology models.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Not conducted (ICH S6(R1))
“In accordance with ICH S6(R1), genotoxicity studies with tabelecleucel were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Not conducted (ICH S6(R1))
“In accordance with ICH S6(R1), genotoxicity studies with tabelecleucel were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Not conducted (ICH S6(R1))
“In accordance with ICH S6(R1), genotoxicity studies with tabelecleucel were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; in vitro co-culture study RPT-129-1002 of EBV transmission and tumorigenic effect
“The applicant conducted study RPT-129-1002 to investigate potential EBV transmission and tumorigenic effect.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (ICH S6(R1): standard bioassays inappropriate)
“Tabelecleucel has not demonstrated, and is not anticipated to have, carcinogenic potential and as stated in ICH S6(R1), standard carcinogenicity bioassays are generally inappropriate for”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗
hERG / QT
Not conducted (species-specific product)
“Safety pharmacology studies were not conducted due to the species-specific nature of tabelecleucel and the limited applicability of non-human toxicology models.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗

Same question, other cell therapies

Abecma

idecabtagene vicleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Not conducted (traditional); insertion site analysis of 20 clinical lots

Alofisel

darvadstrocel · Allogeneic adipose MSC
Not conducted; cell-based product does not interact with DNA

Amtagvi

lifileucel · TIL therapy
Not conducted (not warranted given product characteristics and biological activity)

Aucatzyl

obecabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted (third-generation SIN lentiviral vector, release criterion, long-term clinical monitoring for insertional mutagenesis)

Breyanzi

lisocabtagene maraleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted (traditional); lentiviral integration site mapping instead

Carvykti

ciltacabtagene autoleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Not conducted (classical); lentiviral integration site analysis instead

ChondroCelect

characterised viable autologous cartilage cells · Autologous chondrocytes
Not conducted (per cell-based product guideline)

Encelto

revakinagene taroretcel · CNTF (encapsulated RPE cell implant)
Done: ISO-10993 battery (bacterial, mammalian cell, mouse micronucleus on device extracts), negative

Gintuit

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and fibroblasts in bovine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not conducted (nature of product and clinical experience)

Holoclar

autologous corneal epithelial cells containing limbal stem cells · Autologous limbal stem cells
Not conducted (classical); in vitro karyotype analysis of cells

Kymriah

tisagenlecleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted (classical); lentiviral integration site analysis on 14 donor products

Lantidra

donislecel · Allogeneic pancreatic islets
Not conducted

Laviv

azficel-T · Autologous fibroblasts
Not conducted (autologous nature, prior human experience)

MACI

autologous cultured chondrocytes on porcine collagen membrane · Autologous chondrocytes
Not conducted on cells; four studies on collagen membrane were non-mutagenic

Omisirge

omidubicel · Expanded cord blood HPC
No standard genotox; cytogenetic/karyotype analyses of CF and NF showed no clonal aneuploidy

Provenge

sipuleucel-T · PAP-GM-CSF (autologous APC)
Not conducted (autologous nature of product)

Rethymic

allogeneic processed thymus tissue · Allogeneic thymus tissue
Not conducted

Ryoncil

remestemcel-L · Allogeneic BM-MSC
Not conducted (not warranted)

Spherox

spheroids of autologous matrix-associated chondrocytes · Autologous chondrocyte spheroids
Not conducted (per cell-based product guideline)

StrataGraft

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and dermal fibroblasts in murine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not conducted

Tecartus

brexucabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted (traditional); vector integration site analysis performed instead

Tecelra

afamitresgene autoleucel · MAGE-A4 TCR-T
Not conducted (no test models or relevant species); integration site analysis showed polyclonal products, no selective insertion

Tregzi

allogeneic Treg immunotherapy with HSPC and T cells (Orca-T) · Allogeneic Treg + HSPC + Tcon
Not conducted

Yescarta

axicabtagene ciloleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted; literature review of retroviral-transduced T-cell transformation risk instead

Zalmoxis

allogeneic T cells modified with HSV-TK / dLNGFR (nalotimagene carmaleucel) · HSV-TK suicide-gene T cells
Not conducted; in vitro retroviral integration site analysis instead

Zemcelpro

dorocubicel · UM171-expanded cord blood CD34+
Done for residual UM171 only (Ames, CHO micronucleus negative) plus cytogenetics of treated cells; none for cells

Summary across all 27 cell therapies →