No standard genotox; cytogenetic/karyotype analyses of CF and NF showed no clonal aneuploidy
“The genomic integrity was evaluated using cytogenic and karyotype analysis. Results showed no difference in the occurrence of chromosomal abnormalities between the CF, NF, and control cells and no evidence of clonal aneuploidy.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted (not warranted based on known safety profile)
“No carcinogenicity/tumorgenicity studies were conducted with the test article and were not warranted based on the known safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 30Source ↗
Instead of carcinogenicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Instead of genotoxicity
Not applicable: cells not genetically modified
“The genomic integrity was evaluated using cytogenic and karyotype analysis. Results showed no difference in the occurrence of chromosomal abnormalities between the CF, NF, and control cells and no evidence of clonal aneuploidy.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗
DRG histopathology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (no reproductive organ findings; conditioning regimen already affects fertility)
“Per the applicant, developmental and reproductive toxicology studies were not conducted because there were no test article-related toxicity findings in reproductive organs as assessed by histopathological analyses”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 28Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Not conducted
“No safety pharmacology studies with omidubicel-onlv were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 23Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Cytogenetic and karyotype analysis of CF and NF cells: no clonal aneuploidy, no difference from controls
“The genomic integrity was evaluated using cytogenic and karyotype analysis. Results showed no difference in the occurrence of chromosomal abnormalities between the CF, NF, and control cells and no evidence of clonal aneuploidy.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Not conducted
“No in vivo carcinogenicity, mutagenicity and fertility studies were conducted to evaluate the effects of OMISIRGE.”
Not conducted (not warranted); single-dose mouse toxicity and genetic stability data showed no tumorigenic concern
“No carcinogenicity/tumorgenicity studies were conducted with the test article and were not warranted based on the known safety profile. Genetic stability and single-dose toxicity were assessed in Study No. 10 (GAM-066-AIT-BIO) and did not reveal specific tumorigenic or oncogenic concerns.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 30Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: not warranted based on product characteristics and safety profile
“No carcinogenicity or reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were conducted with OMISIRGE. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗
hERG / QT
Not conducted (no safety pharmacology studies)
“No safety pharmacology studies with omidubicel-onlv were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 23Source ↗