Nonclinical precedent Request an invite
Precedia/Cell therapy/Abecma/Skipped studies

Abecma: genotox, carcinogenicity and repro: done or skipped?

idecabtagene vicleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Genotoxicity
Not conducted (traditional); insertion site analysis of 20 clinical lots
“No traditional genotoxicity assays and carcinogenicity assessments were performed for bb2121.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted; in vitro IL-2-independent growth assay showed no transformation
“No carcinogenicity or tumorigenicity studies were conducted for bb2121. However, the applicant evaluated IL-2 independent growth in Study #10.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 27Source ↗
Instead of carcinogenicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Instead of genotoxicity
In vitro expansion studies (5 patient, 2 healthy donor lots) showed no transformation; insertion site analysis on products from 20 patients
“In vitro expansion studies with CAR-positive T cells (ABECMA) from five patients and two healthy donor drug product lots showed no evidence for transformation and/or immortalization of T cells. A genomic insertion site analysis of the lentiviral vector was performed on ABECMA samples from twenty (20) individual patient donors.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
DRG histopathology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (product characteristics)
“No animal reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were conducted for bb2121 which is acceptable based on the product characteristics.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Not conducted
“No safety pharmacology studies were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 22Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Not conducted (autologous human cell product)
“Ide-cel is an autologous human cellular product and therefore, standard genotoxicity studies eg, Ames assay, clastogenicity assessments were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 42Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Not conducted; vector integration site analysis of 20 clinical lots showed no preferential integration near oncogenes
“Integration site analysis was performed for 20 clinical drug product lots. The resulting data showed that the lentiviral vector does not preferentially integrate in or near genes of concern for oncogenic transformation and is consistent with other similar vectors.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Not conducted (autologous human cell product)
“Ide-cel is an autologous human cellular product and therefore, standard genotoxicity studies eg, Ames assay, clastogenicity assessments were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 42Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; in vitro IL-2-independent growth assay (5 patient, 2 healthy donors) showed no uncontrolled proliferation
“Additionally, an IL-2-independent growth assay of ABECMA® generated from five patient donors and two healthy donors showed no signs of uncontrolled cellular proliferation.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required; conventional animal studies not appropriate (autologous human T cells do not engraft in immunocompetent animals)
“Conventional animal studies employing common toxicology study designs are not appropriate for ide-cel since autologous human T cells do not graft in immunocompetent animals and thus, in vivo nonclinical general safety, genotoxicity, carcinogenicity, developmental safety or reproductive safety studies were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 42Source ↗
hERG / QT
Not conducted (no safety pharmacology studies)
“No safety pharmacology studies were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 22Source ↗

Same question, other cell therapies

Alofisel

darvadstrocel · Allogeneic adipose MSC
Not conducted; cell-based product does not interact with DNA

Amtagvi

lifileucel · TIL therapy
Not conducted (not warranted given product characteristics and biological activity)

Aucatzyl

obecabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted (third-generation SIN lentiviral vector, release criterion, long-term clinical monitoring for insertional mutagenesis)

Breyanzi

lisocabtagene maraleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted (traditional); lentiviral integration site mapping instead

Carvykti

ciltacabtagene autoleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Not conducted (classical); lentiviral integration site analysis instead

ChondroCelect

characterised viable autologous cartilage cells · Autologous chondrocytes
Not conducted (per cell-based product guideline)

Ebvallo

tabelecleucel · EBV-specific allogeneic T cells
Not conducted (ICH S6(R1)); non-genetically engineered cells

Encelto

revakinagene taroretcel · CNTF (encapsulated RPE cell implant)
Done: ISO-10993 battery (bacterial, mammalian cell, mouse micronucleus on device extracts), negative

Gintuit

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and fibroblasts in bovine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not conducted (nature of product and clinical experience)

Holoclar

autologous corneal epithelial cells containing limbal stem cells · Autologous limbal stem cells
Not conducted (classical); in vitro karyotype analysis of cells

Kymriah

tisagenlecleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted (classical); lentiviral integration site analysis on 14 donor products

Lantidra

donislecel · Allogeneic pancreatic islets
Not conducted

Laviv

azficel-T · Autologous fibroblasts
Not conducted (autologous nature, prior human experience)

MACI

autologous cultured chondrocytes on porcine collagen membrane · Autologous chondrocytes
Not conducted on cells; four studies on collagen membrane were non-mutagenic

Omisirge

omidubicel · Expanded cord blood HPC
No standard genotox; cytogenetic/karyotype analyses of CF and NF showed no clonal aneuploidy

Provenge

sipuleucel-T · PAP-GM-CSF (autologous APC)
Not conducted (autologous nature of product)

Rethymic

allogeneic processed thymus tissue · Allogeneic thymus tissue
Not conducted

Ryoncil

remestemcel-L · Allogeneic BM-MSC
Not conducted (not warranted)

Spherox

spheroids of autologous matrix-associated chondrocytes · Autologous chondrocyte spheroids
Not conducted (per cell-based product guideline)

StrataGraft

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and dermal fibroblasts in murine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not conducted

Tecartus

brexucabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted (traditional); vector integration site analysis performed instead

Tecelra

afamitresgene autoleucel · MAGE-A4 TCR-T
Not conducted (no test models or relevant species); integration site analysis showed polyclonal products, no selective insertion

Tregzi

allogeneic Treg immunotherapy with HSPC and T cells (Orca-T) · Allogeneic Treg + HSPC + Tcon
Not conducted

Yescarta

axicabtagene ciloleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted; literature review of retroviral-transduced T-cell transformation risk instead

Zalmoxis

allogeneic T cells modified with HSV-TK / dLNGFR (nalotimagene carmaleucel) · HSV-TK suicide-gene T cells
Not conducted; in vitro retroviral integration site analysis instead

Zemcelpro

dorocubicel · UM171-expanded cord blood CD34+
Done for residual UM171 only (Ames, CHO micronucleus negative) plus cytogenetics of treated cells; none for cells

Summary across all 27 cell therapies →