Nonclinical precedent Request an invite
Precedia/Cell therapy/Kymriah/Skipped studies

Kymriah: genotox, carcinogenicity and repro: done or skipped?

tisagenlecleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Genotoxicity
Not conducted (classical); lentiviral integration site analysis on 14 donor products
“Genotoxicity Studies: Classical genotoxicity studies were not conducted. The provided LV integration site analysis may be relevant for evaluation of potential genotoxicity.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 12Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted (rodent models not appropriate for insertional mutagenesis of modified cells)
“Genotoxicity assays and carcinogenicity studies in rodents are not appropriate to assess the risk of insertional mutagenesis for genetically modified cell therapy products.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 40Source ↗
Instead of carcinogenicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Instead of genotoxicity
Lentiviral insertion site analysis on CTL019 from 14 donors (2 healthy, 12 patients)
“A genomic insertion site analysis was performed on CTL019 from 14 individual donors (2 healthy donors and 12 patients representing pediatric ALL-derived and diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL)-derived cells).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
DRG histopathology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted
“No preclinical reproductive studies were conducted with CTL019 to assess whether it can cause fetal harm when administered to a pregnant woman.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Not conducted
“No safety pharmacology studies have been conducted (see non-clinical discussion).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Not conducted (no classical genotoxicity studies)
“Genotoxicity Studies: Classical genotoxicity studies were not conducted. The provided LV integration site analysis may be relevant for evaluation of potential genotoxicity.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 12Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Not conducted; lentiviral integration site analysis provided instead
“Genotoxicity Studies: Classical genotoxicity studies were not conducted. The provided LV integration site analysis may be relevant for evaluation of potential genotoxicity.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 12Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Not conducted (no classical genotoxicity studies)
“Genotoxicity Studies: Classical genotoxicity studies were not conducted. The provided LV integration site analysis may be relevant for evaluation of potential genotoxicity.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 12Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; immunocompromised mice showed no abnormal growth or clonal expansion up to 7 months; integration site analysis
“In vivo studies in immunocompromised mice did not show signs of abnormal cell growth or signs of clonal cell expansion for up to 7 months, which represents the longest meaningful observation period for immunocompromised mouse models.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 40Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: rodent carcinogenicity studies not appropriate for genetically modified cell therapy
“Genotoxicity assays and carcinogenicity studies in rodents are not appropriate to assess the risk of insertional mutagenesis for genetically modified cell therapy products.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 40Source ↗
hERG / QT
Not conducted (no safety pharmacology studies)
“No safety pharmacology studies have been conducted (see non-clinical discussion).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗

Same question, other cell therapies

Abecma

idecabtagene vicleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Not conducted (traditional); insertion site analysis of 20 clinical lots

Alofisel

darvadstrocel · Allogeneic adipose MSC
Not conducted; cell-based product does not interact with DNA

Amtagvi

lifileucel · TIL therapy
Not conducted (not warranted given product characteristics and biological activity)

Aucatzyl

obecabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted (third-generation SIN lentiviral vector, release criterion, long-term clinical monitoring for insertional mutagenesis)

Breyanzi

lisocabtagene maraleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted (traditional); lentiviral integration site mapping instead

Carvykti

ciltacabtagene autoleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Not conducted (classical); lentiviral integration site analysis instead

ChondroCelect

characterised viable autologous cartilage cells · Autologous chondrocytes
Not conducted (per cell-based product guideline)

Ebvallo

tabelecleucel · EBV-specific allogeneic T cells
Not conducted (ICH S6(R1)); non-genetically engineered cells

Encelto

revakinagene taroretcel · CNTF (encapsulated RPE cell implant)
Done: ISO-10993 battery (bacterial, mammalian cell, mouse micronucleus on device extracts), negative

Gintuit

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and fibroblasts in bovine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not conducted (nature of product and clinical experience)

Holoclar

autologous corneal epithelial cells containing limbal stem cells · Autologous limbal stem cells
Not conducted (classical); in vitro karyotype analysis of cells

Lantidra

donislecel · Allogeneic pancreatic islets
Not conducted

Laviv

azficel-T · Autologous fibroblasts
Not conducted (autologous nature, prior human experience)

MACI

autologous cultured chondrocytes on porcine collagen membrane · Autologous chondrocytes
Not conducted on cells; four studies on collagen membrane were non-mutagenic

Omisirge

omidubicel · Expanded cord blood HPC
No standard genotox; cytogenetic/karyotype analyses of CF and NF showed no clonal aneuploidy

Provenge

sipuleucel-T · PAP-GM-CSF (autologous APC)
Not conducted (autologous nature of product)

Rethymic

allogeneic processed thymus tissue · Allogeneic thymus tissue
Not conducted

Ryoncil

remestemcel-L · Allogeneic BM-MSC
Not conducted (not warranted)

Spherox

spheroids of autologous matrix-associated chondrocytes · Autologous chondrocyte spheroids
Not conducted (per cell-based product guideline)

StrataGraft

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and dermal fibroblasts in murine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not conducted

Tecartus

brexucabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted (traditional); vector integration site analysis performed instead

Tecelra

afamitresgene autoleucel · MAGE-A4 TCR-T
Not conducted (no test models or relevant species); integration site analysis showed polyclonal products, no selective insertion

Tregzi

allogeneic Treg immunotherapy with HSPC and T cells (Orca-T) · Allogeneic Treg + HSPC + Tcon
Not conducted

Yescarta

axicabtagene ciloleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not conducted; literature review of retroviral-transduced T-cell transformation risk instead

Zalmoxis

allogeneic T cells modified with HSV-TK / dLNGFR (nalotimagene carmaleucel) · HSV-TK suicide-gene T cells
Not conducted; in vitro retroviral integration site analysis instead

Zemcelpro

dorocubicel · UM171-expanded cord blood CD34+
Done for residual UM171 only (Ames, CHO micronucleus negative) plus cytogenetics of treated cells; none for cells

Summary across all 27 cell therapies →