Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

What tox package did approved cell therapies have, from first-in-human to approval?

From the FDA and EMA reviews of all 27 approved cell therapies. Each answer links to the regulator's own sentence.

Check my plan against these
Short answer
2 of 27 ran first-in-human outside the US (where the reviews say so); 1 had a recovery phase in the longest repeat-dose study; 0 finished PPND after the marketing application.
First-in-human: outside the US2/27
First-in-human: not stated25/27
Longest repeat-dose: with recovery phase1/27
Longest repeat-dose: recovery not stated1/27
Longest repeat-dose: no repeat-dose study25/27
PPND: completed before the marketing application1/27
PPND: not conducted26/27
Carcinogenicity: completed before the marketing application2/27
Carcinogenicity: not conducted2/27
Carcinogenicity: not required23/27

Precedent by precedent

27 approved cell therapies, with the reviewers' own words.

Abecma

idecabtagene vicleucel · BCMA CAR-T
First-in-human: where
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-finding study in patients with relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (CRB-401)
“A first-in-human, two-part, nonrandomized, open-label, multicenter, dosing finding Phase 1 study to evaluate the safety, efficacy, cellular kinetics/pharmacokinetics of a single dose of ABECMA in subjects with relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (RRMM) (Study No. CRB-401, supportive study).”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (autologous human T cells do not engraft in immunocompetent animals)
“No single or repeat-dose toxicity studies were conducted with ide-cel as traditional animal studies employing common toxicology study designs are not appropriate for ide-cel since autologous human T cells do not graft in immunocompetent animals.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 42Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; DART studies not needed given product characteristics
“No animal reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were conducted for bb2121 which is acceptable based on the product characteristics.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required; conventional animal studies not appropriate (autologous human T cells do not engraft in immunocompetent animals)
“Conventional animal studies employing common toxicology study designs are not appropriate for ide-cel since autologous human T cells do not graft in immunocompetent animals and thus, in vivo nonclinical general safety, genotoxicity, carcinogenicity, developmental safety or reproductive safety studies were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 42Source ↗

Carvykti

ciltacabtagene autoleucel · BCMA CAR-T
First-in-human: where
Country not stated; first clinical trial in patients with relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (LEGEND-2)
“In the first phase 1 single arm trial CAR T cells in patients with relapsed/refractory MM (Legend -2), ORR for the total population was 87.8%, with 64% CR and 56.8% MRD negative, VGPR was 10.8%, PR was 12.2%, CR (64%) and ORR (87.8%) in patients that had relapsed following IMiDs and PI treatment.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 7Source ↗
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (no relevant species; single-dose product)
“No repeat dose toxicity has been performed given there is no relevant nonclinical species and that cilta-cel is administered as a single dose to patients and is anticipated to undergo expansion and persistence following administration.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; acceptable given product type and BCMA expression pattern
“No non-clinical reproductive and developmental toxicity studies have been conducted, which is acceptable based on the type of product and the BCMA expression pattern.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (ICH S9, advanced cancer)
“As indicated in the ICH S9 guidance, carcinogenicity studies are not warranted to support marketing for therapeutics intended to treat advanced cancer.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗

MACI

autologous cultured chondrocytes on porcine collagen membrane · Autologous chondrocytes
First-in-human: where
Outside the United States: all clinical studies ex-US (countries not named)
“Note: No IND(s) is associated with this file. All clinical studies were conducted outside of the United States (OUS).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 5Source ↗
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single implantation); longest study 53-week horse implant study
“A definitive 53-week study was conducted in 27 horses (Study # GENZ-09-4417) to evaluate the safety and the activity of MACI”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: local knee implantation, no systemic distribution
“The applicant did not conduct carcinogenicity or developmental and reproductive toxicity studies. This is acceptable considering the local anatomic site of MACI implantation, the absence of systemic MACI distribution following administration”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: local implantation site, no systemic distribution, membrane not genotoxic
“The applicant did not conduct carcinogenicity or developmental and reproductive toxicity studies. This is acceptable considering the local anatomic site of MACI implantation, the absence of systemic MACI distribution following administration”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

Tecelra

afamitresgene autoleucel · MAGE-A4 TCR-T
First-in-human: where
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation and expansion study in HLA-A*02 patients with MAGE-A4-positive advanced tumors
“a Phase 1, first-in-human, cell dose escalation and expansion study (ADP-0044-001) in HLA-A*02 patients with MAGE-A4-positive unresectable locally advanced or metastatic tumors.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No single- or repeat-dose toxicity studies (no appropriate animal model for human TCR-engineered T cells)
“Standard in vivo single-dose or repeat-dose toxicity studies were not conducted with afamitresgene autoleucel due to the lack of appropriate animal models for testing of human TCR engineered T-cells.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 39Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
No reproductive/developmental studies; acceptable given product characteristics and safety profile
“No animal reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were conducted with TECELRA which is acceptable based on the product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted; no relevant animal models for a human TCR-engineered T-cell product
“Afamitresgene autoleucel is a human TCR engineered T-cell product, therefore conventional carcinogenicity studies were not performed due to the lack of relevant animal models.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 40Source ↗

Yescarta

axicabtagene ciloleucel · CD19 CAR-T
First-in-human: where
Country not stated; initial dose-finding study NCI 09-C-0082 in patients with advanced B-cell malignancies
“Dosing of the conditioning chemotherapy agents and Yescarta was based on the results NCI study 09-C￾0082, a Phase 1 open label study of the safety and feasibility of anti-CD 19 CAR T-cells in subjects with advanced B-cell malignancies.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 47Source ↗
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No toxicology studies with the product; surrogate mouse CAR-T pharmacology study only
“No toxicology studies with KTE-C19 were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 16Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
No fertility/reproduction/development studies; acceptable given product type, target expression and lack of a relevant animal model
“No studies have been conducted to evaluate the effects of YESCARTA on fertility, reproduction and development. This is acceptable based on the type of product, the expression pattern of the target antigen and the lack of a relevant animal model.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted; literature review on retroviral-vector T-cell transformation submitted instead
“No in vitro and in vivo genotoxicity and carcinogenicity assessments for KTE-C19 were conducted. To address the risk of retroviral vector insertional mutagenesis and potential carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity the applicant performed a review of published nonclinical and clinical information reported for T cells transduced with retroviral vectors.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

Zemcelpro

dorocubicel · UM171-expanded cord blood CD34+
First-in-human: where
Canada: dose de-escalation study (Study 001) at 2 sites in patients needing allogeneic stem cell transplant
“Study-001 is a prospective, single-arm, multicentre, open-label phase I-II dose de-escalation study of ECT-001-CB in patients who need an allogeneic hematopoietic stem cell transplant but lack a suitable donor. The study was conducted at 2 study sites in Canada and is completed.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 70Source ↗
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (product given once)
“Repeat dose studies were not conducted and are not relevant for the product as it is applied only once.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
No reproductive/developmental studies; acceptable as not for use in pregnancy and minimal residual UM171
“The applicant contended that such studies are unnecessary as ECT-001-CB is not recommended for use in pregnant women, and only minimal residual amounts of UM 171 were detected in dorocubicel. The absence of such studies is considered acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 47Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (ICH S9, advanced cancer)
“The applicant did not perform any carcinogenicity studies, which is in line with ICH S9 since the product is to be used in patients with advanced cancer.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 47Source ↗

Alofisel

darvadstrocel · Allogeneic adipose MSC
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
Athymic nude rat repeat-dose study (perianal) with 6-month post-dose observation; IV study similar
“Two repeat-dose toxicity studies were conducted with human eASC in male and female athymic nude rats (Crl:NIH-Foxn1rnu) via the perianal route, a study with a 3-month post-dose observation period and a study with a 6-month post-dose observation period.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 23Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; biodistribution showed no migration to reproductive organs
“Reproductive and developmental toxicity studies have not been performed for Alofisel because preclinical biodistribution studies indicated no migration and integration of eASC into reproductive organs following administration of eASC via different routes.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 24Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
No standard bioassay; in vivo nude mouse tumourigenicity study (no tumours) completed before the marketing application
“In in vivo tumourigenicity tests, nude mice administered a subcutaneous injection of eASC at various population doubling levels, equal to levels of product for clinical use, all survived to scheduled sacrifice and no tumour-formation was observed.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 24Source ↗

Amtagvi

lifileucel · TIL therapy
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (no toxicology studies conducted)
“No toxicology studies were conducted for AMTAGVI.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 13Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; acceptable given product characteristics and biological activity
“No DART studies were conducted for AMTAGVI. Given the characteristics and biological activity of AMTAGVI, this omission is acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 14Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (product characteristics, biological activity, safety profile)
“No genotoxicity, carcinogenicity, and developmental and reproductive toxicity (DART) studies were conducted for AMTAGVI. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics, biological activity, and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

Aucatzyl

obecabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (no general toxicity studies performed)
“The applicant has not performed general toxicity studies with their product.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; not needed under ICH S9 (advanced cancer) and no pharmacologically relevant species
“DART studies are not needed for indications falling under ICH S9 scope (advanced cancer) and no pharmacologically relevant animal species is available.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (ICH S9, advanced cancer)
“Carcinogenicity studies are not needed for indications falling under ICH S9 scope (advanced cancer).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗

Breyanzi

lisocabtagene maraleucel · CD19 CAR-T
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (no species cross-reactivity; deemed of negligible utility)
“In this light, traditional toxicity, including single and repeat-dose toxicity, genotoxicity, carcinogenicity, reproductive and developmental toxicity, and local tolerance studies were deemed of negligible utility and thus were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; no survival in immunocompetent rodents and GvHD in immunocompromised mice
“JCAR017 does not survive in immunocompetent rodents and induces graft-versus-host disease in immunocompromised mice; therefore, traditional DART studies were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 38Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (ICH S9)
“Consistent with regulatory guidance under “Nonclinical Evaluation for Anticancer Pharmaceuticals” (ICH S9, 2009) carcinogenicity studies were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗

ChondroCelect

characterised viable autologous cartilage cells · Autologous chondrocytes
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study; long single-dose observation (up to 53 weeks in goats) judged sufficient
“As the observation period of the single dose studies described above were up to 12 weeks in mice, 14 weeks in sheep and 53 weeks in goats, these studies are considered to be sufficient to assess the long-term effects of ChondroCelect.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 12Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; negligible risk given nature of product and intended use
“Taking into account the nature of the product and its intended clinical use the risk for reproductive and developmental toxicity is considered to be negligible.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 12Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (absence of standard studies accepted)
“In view of these results, the absence of standard carcinogenicity studies was considered to be acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 12Source ↗

Ebvallo

tabelecleucel · EBV-specific allogeneic T cells
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (species-specific product)
“Single and repeat dose toxicity studies were not conducted as due to the species-specific nature of tabelecleucel these studies would yield no additional information to aid in the understanding of its potential toxicity in humans.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; highly species-specific pharmacology
“Due to the highly species-specific nature of the pharmacology associated with tabelecleucel, nonclinical reproductive/developmental toxicity studies were not submitted with this application.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (ICH S6(R1): standard bioassays inappropriate)
“Tabelecleucel has not demonstrated, and is not anticipated to have, carcinogenic potential and as stated in ICH S6(R1), standard carcinogenicity bioassays are generally inappropriate for”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗

Encelto

revakinagene taroretcel · CNTF (encapsulated RPE cell implant)
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study; long-term intravitreal implantation toxicity study in minipigs and pigs
“The effect of long-term ITV implantation of NT-501 was evaluated in a 3-part toxicology study in 4–8-month-old minipigs, 4–10-year-old pigs, and catastrophic device failure of NT-501 was evaluated by ITV injection of unencapsulated NTC-201-6A cells into 8-9 month old minipigs.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Rat SC rhCNTF study from pre-mating to postpartum Day 21 with pup postnatal development, completed before the marketing application
“In female rats administered rhCNTF at dose levels of 0, 10, 100, or 300 μg/kg/day SC for 2 weeks prior to mating to postpartum Day 21, mating performance, fertility and gestational parameters were normal. No adverse effects on fetuses or pup postnatal development were reported.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (waiver rationale accepted by reviewer)
“This reviewer agrees with the rationale provided in the TRAs for not conducting carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 50Source ↗

Gintuit

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and fibroblasts in bovine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (ICH chronic toxicology not conducted; nature of product and clinical experience)
“toxicology, chronic toxicology, genotoxicity, carcinogenicity, reproductive and developmental toxicity, safety pharmacology, and immunotoxicity (http://www.ich.org/cache/compo/276-254-1.html) were not conducted due to the nature of Apligraf® and the extensive clinical experience in the cutaneous indications.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 49Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; nature of product and extensive clinical experience
“reproductive and developmental toxicity, safety pharmacology, and immunotoxicity (http://www.ich.org/cache/compo/276-254-1.html) were not conducted due to the nature of Apligraf® and the extensive clinical experience in the cutaneous indications.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 49Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (nature of product and extensive clinical experience)
“were not conducted due to the nature of Apligraf® and the extensive clinical experience in the cutaneous indications.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 49Source ↗

Holoclar

autologous corneal epithelial cells containing limbal stem cells · Autologous limbal stem cells
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study; animal toxicity studies omitted (no suitable animal model)
“Overall, the omission of classical toxicology animal studies, including single and repeat dose studies as well as immunogenicity studies, was considered by the CAT to be justified due to the lack of suitable animal models and in light of the available clinical safety data.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 21Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: reproductive toxicity testing omitted (autologous, no systemic exposure)
“As no systemic exposure was to be expected and since the product was autologous in nature, the risk for product-related toxicity to the reproductive system was considered to be negligible and therefore omission of reproductive toxicity testing was deemed acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 21Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: conventional carcinogenicity not performed; in vitro tumorigenicity assays instead
“While conventional carcinogenicity studies have not been performed, the potential for transformation and formation of tumours by the human corneal epithelial cells in Holoclar was investigated in in vitro assays.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 18Source ↗

Kymriah

tisagenlecleucel · CD19 CAR-T
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single IV infusion; patient-specific product)
“The lack of repeat-dose toxicity studies is acceptable based on the fact that tisagenlecleucel will be administered as a single IV infusion, and since tisagenlecleucel is a patient specific product which is not appropriate to administer to immune competent animals.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 40Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: no preclinical reproductive studies
“No preclinical reproductive studies were conducted with CTL019 to assess whether it can cause fetal harm when administered to a pregnant woman.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: rodent carcinogenicity studies not appropriate for genetically modified cell therapy
“Genotoxicity assays and carcinogenicity studies in rodents are not appropriate to assess the risk of insertional mutagenesis for genetically modified cell therapy products.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 40Source ↗

Lantidra

donislecel · Allogeneic pancreatic islets
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (no toxicology studies conducted; published literature instead)
“No toxicology studies with LANTIDRA were conducted. The applicant provided publications assessing the overall safety of islet allografts following intraportal transplantation in Module 4 of the BLA.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 19Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: no DART studies
“No DART studies with LANTIDRA were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 21Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted; published rat islet-transplant literature cited instead
“No carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity studies with LANITDRA were conducted. The applicant cited two publications that examined the potential for hepatic carcinogenicity following intraportal transplantation of allogeneic islets in diabetic rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 21Source ↗

Laviv

azficel-T · Autologous fibroblasts
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (no preclinical studies conducted)
“No preclinical studies were conducted with this product.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: autologous product with prior human experience
“reproductive and developmental toxicity, safety pharmacology, and immunotoxicity (http://www.ich.org/cache/compo/276-254- 1.html) were not conducted by the sponsor due to the autologous nature of IT and the previous human experience.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 24Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: autologous, minimally manipulated cells judged unlikely to become tumorigenic
“The pharmacology/toxicology review of the original IND submission supported the sponsor’s decision, noting that these cells are autologous, minimally manipulated, highly unlikely to change in phenotype, dedifferentiate, migrate or become tumorigenic (see Attachment I).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 24Source ↗

Omisirge

omidubicel · Expanded cord blood HPC
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single IV infusion in irradiated NOD/SCID mice)
“To assess the safety of the CF + NF cells following a single intravenous infusion into irradiated NOD-SCID mice.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 26Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: no reproductive organ findings in mouse toxicity study; conditioning regimen already affects fertility
“Per the applicant, developmental and reproductive toxicology studies were not conducted because there were no test article-related toxicity findings in reproductive organs as assessed by histopathological analyses”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 28Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: not warranted based on product characteristics and safety profile
“No carcinogenicity or reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were conducted with OMISIRGE. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗

Provenge

sipuleucel-T · PAP-GM-CSF (autologous APC)
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose toxicity study (autologous product)
“consisting of pharmacokinetics, acute toxicology, chronic toxicology, genotoxicity, carcinogenicity, reproductive and developmental toxicity, safety pharmacology, and immunotoxicity (http://www.ich.org/cache/compo/276-254 1.html) were not conducted due to the autologous nature of Sipuleucel-T”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 25Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: not considered relevant for an autologous cell therapy
“Conventional reproductive and development toxicity studies were not considered relevant given the nature and the intended clinical use of this autologous cell therapy product.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: absence of carcinogenicity studies accepted given the nature of sipuleucel-T
“The absence of genotoxicity, mutagenicity and carcinogenicity studies was considered acceptable taking into account the nature of sipuleucel-T.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗

Rethymic

allogeneic processed thymus tissue · Allogeneic thymus tissue
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (no nonclinical toxicology studies conducted)
“Per the applicant, based on the acceptable clinical safety profile of RVT-802 and the lack of relevant animal models, no nonclinical toxicology studies with RVT-802 were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 21Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted and not indicated
“In vitro or in vivo genotoxicity, carcinogenicity, or developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were not conducted with RETHYMIC, nor were they indicated.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 12Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: carcinogenicity studies not conducted and not indicated
“In vitro or in vivo genotoxicity, carcinogenicity, or developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were not conducted with RETHYMIC, nor were they indicated.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 12Source ↗

Ryoncil

remestemcel-L · Allogeneic BM-MSC
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
13-week (90-day) rat IV GLP study, 13 doses; recovery phase not stated
“In a 90-day GLP repeat dose toxicity study, rats received 2×106, 10×106 or 20×106 rat ceMSC/kg administered in a 5mL/kg dosing volume by tail vein injection over a two-minute period twice per week for 4 weeks and weekly thereafter for a total of 13 dose administrations.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: not warranted based on product characteristics and safety profile
“Genotoxicity, carcinogenicity, and reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were not performed for RYONCIL. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: not warranted based on product characteristics and safety profile
“Genotoxicity, carcinogenicity, and reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were not performed for RYONCIL. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗

Spherox

spheroids of autologous matrix-associated chondrocytes · Autologous chondrocyte spheroids
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single administration of spheroids in all in vivo studies)
“In the in vivo studies, a single dose of spheroids was either injected or implanted into a knee joint or administered subcutaneously in the back of the animal.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: autologous cells with local action and limited biodistribution
“Reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were not conducted. In line with guidelines on cell-based medicinal products (EMEA/CHMP/410869/2006), the applicant has provided an acceptable justification for omitting these studies”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: conventional carcinogenicity omitted per cell-based product guideline
“No genotoxicity, conventional carcinogenicity and reproductive- and developmental toxicity studies were performed which is in line with the guideline on cell-based medicinal products (EMEA/CHMP/410869/2006).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗

StrataGraft

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and dermal fibroblasts in murine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study: single topical application in nude mice, followed to 140 days
“Within the significant limitations of the study design and data provided, no apparent local or systemic toxicity was observed out to 140 days following topical application of STRATAGRAFT® to immunodeficient mice with an existing wound.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 10Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
No DART studies conducted; acceptable given product characteristics and safety profile
“No animal reproductive or developmental toxicity (DART) studies were conducted with STRATAGRAFT, which is acceptable, considering the product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 12Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
No standard carcinogenicity study; immunodeficient-mouse tumorigenicity studies (20-week topical, 23-week s.c. NIKS cells) completed before the marketing application, no tumors
“No tumor formation was observed for the 20-week study duration. In addition, following a single subcutaneous injection of NIKS keratinocytes in immunodeficient mice, no tumor formation was detected for the 23-week study duration.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 12Source ↗

Tecartus

brexucabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single infusion product)
“KTE-X19 is intended to be administered as a single infusion treatment therefore no repeat-dose toxicities study was conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
No reproductive/developmental studies; acceptable given product type, target expression and lack of a relevant animal model
“The lack of non-clinical reproductive and developmental toxicity studies is acceptable based on the type of product, the expression pattern of the target antigen and the lack of a relevant animal model.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (acceptable based on product characteristics, safety profile and indication)
“Traditional in vitro and in vivo genotoxicity and carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity assessments of KTE-X19 were not conducted which is acceptable based on the product characteristics, safety profile and indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

Tregzi

allogeneic Treg immunotherapy with HSPC and T cells (Orca-T) · Allogeneic Treg + HSPC + Tcon
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No toxicology studies (no repeat-dose study); clinical data from a similar product used instead
“No toxicology studies were conducted for TREGZI. This omission is acceptable, as the applicant provided safety data from a Phase 1/2 clinical study with a similar clinical product to support initiation of the Phase 1b study”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 36Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
No DART studies; not warranted based on product characteristics, biological activity and safety profile
“No genotoxicity, carcinogenicity, and developmental and reproductive toxicity (DART) studies were conducted for TREGZI. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics, biological activity, and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (not warranted based on product characteristics, biological activity and safety profile)
“No genotoxicity, carcinogenicity, and developmental and reproductive toxicity (DART) studies were conducted for TREGZI. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics, biological activity, and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

Zalmoxis

allogeneic T cells modified with HSV-TK / dLNGFR (nalotimagene carmaleucel) · HSV-TK suicide-gene T cells
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study; single-dose toxicity assessed within immunodeficient-mouse GvHD pharmacodynamic studies
“Single dose toxicity has been assessed in the immunodeficient animal models in the pharmacodynamic studies. Repeat dose toxicity Repeat-dose toxicity studies were not submitted (See discussion on non-clinical aspects).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 20Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
No reproductive toxicology studies; omission considered acceptable
“Conventional toxicology, carcinogenicity, mutagenicity and reproductive toxicology studies have not been performed, which is considered acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 26Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: species-specific product, standard rodent/NHP carcinogenicity studies not appropriate; in vitro oncogenic-risk studies instead
“The MM-TK DP is a species specific product and therefore standard carcinogenicity studies using rodents or non-human primates as described in the ICH guidelines are not appropriate.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 22Source ↗