Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Tregzi: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

allogeneic Treg immunotherapy with HSPC and T cells (Orca-T) · Allogeneic Treg + HSPC + Tcon

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
None; first clinical study supported by clinical safety data from a similar product instead of toxicology studies
“No toxicology studies were conducted for TREGZI. This omission is acceptable, as the applicant provided safety data from a Phase 1/2 clinical study with a similar clinical product to support initiation of the Phase 1b study”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 36Source ↗
First-in-human starting dose
No nonclinical basis; Phase 1/2 clinical safety data with a similar product supported the Phase 1b dose levels
“This omission is acceptable, as the applicant provided safety data from a Phase 1/2 clinical study with a similar clinical product to support initiation of the Phase 1b study”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 36Source ↗

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No toxicology studies (no repeat-dose study); clinical data from a similar product used instead
“No toxicology studies were conducted for TREGZI. This omission is acceptable, as the applicant provided safety data from a Phase 1/2 clinical study with a similar clinical product to support initiation of the Phase 1b study”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 36Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
No toxicology studies; xenogeneic GVHD POC study OBS-24-001 (18 studies, sublethally irradiated immunodeficient mice, human Tcons +/- Tregs)
“No toxicology studies were conducted for TREGZI.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 36Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted; not warranted based on product characteristics, biological activity and safety profile
“No genotoxicity, carcinogenicity, and developmental and reproductive toxicity (DART) studies were conducted for TREGZI. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics, biological activity, and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted
“No animal reproductive and developmental toxicity studies have been conducted with TREGZI to assess whether it can cause fetal harm when administered to a pregnant woman.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
No DART studies; not warranted based on product characteristics, biological activity and safety profile
“No genotoxicity, carcinogenicity, and developmental and reproductive toxicity (DART) studies were conducted for TREGZI. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics, biological activity, and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted; not warranted
“No genotoxicity, carcinogenicity, and developmental and reproductive toxicity (DART) studies were conducted for TREGZI. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics, biological activity, and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; omission acceptable given product characteristics, biological activity and clinical safety data
“No nonclinical studies were conducted to evaluate carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of TREGZI. Given the characteristics and biological activity of TREGZI, together with the clinical safety data for TREGZI, this omission is acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 37Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (not warranted based on product characteristics, biological activity and safety profile)
“No genotoxicity, carcinogenicity, and developmental and reproductive toxicity (DART) studies were conducted for TREGZI. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics, biological activity, and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

Same question, other cell therapies

Abecma

idecabtagene vicleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-finding study in patients with relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (CRB-401)

Carvykti

ciltacabtagene autoleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Country not stated; first clinical trial in patients with relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (LEGEND-2)

MACI

autologous cultured chondrocytes on porcine collagen membrane · Autologous chondrocytes
Outside the United States: all clinical studies ex-US (countries not named)

Tecelra

afamitresgene autoleucel · MAGE-A4 TCR-T
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation and expansion study in HLA-A*02 patients with MAGE-A4-positive advanced tumors

Yescarta

axicabtagene ciloleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Country not stated; initial dose-finding study NCI 09-C-0082 in patients with advanced B-cell malignancies

Zemcelpro

dorocubicel · UM171-expanded cord blood CD34+
Canada: dose de-escalation study (Study 001) at 2 sites in patients needing allogeneic stem cell transplant

Alofisel

darvadstrocel · Allogeneic adipose MSC
Not stated in public reviews

Amtagvi

lifileucel · TIL therapy
Not stated in public reviews

Aucatzyl

obecabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Breyanzi

lisocabtagene maraleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

ChondroCelect

characterised viable autologous cartilage cells · Autologous chondrocytes
Not stated in public reviews

Ebvallo

tabelecleucel · EBV-specific allogeneic T cells
Not stated in public reviews

Encelto

revakinagene taroretcel · CNTF (encapsulated RPE cell implant)
Not stated in public reviews

Gintuit

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and fibroblasts in bovine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Holoclar

autologous corneal epithelial cells containing limbal stem cells · Autologous limbal stem cells
Not stated in public reviews

Kymriah

tisagenlecleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Lantidra

donislecel · Allogeneic pancreatic islets
Not stated in public reviews

Laviv

azficel-T · Autologous fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Omisirge

omidubicel · Expanded cord blood HPC
Not stated in public reviews

Provenge

sipuleucel-T · PAP-GM-CSF (autologous APC)
Not stated in public reviews

Rethymic

allogeneic processed thymus tissue · Allogeneic thymus tissue
Not stated in public reviews

Ryoncil

remestemcel-L · Allogeneic BM-MSC
Not stated in public reviews

Spherox

spheroids of autologous matrix-associated chondrocytes · Autologous chondrocyte spheroids
Not stated in public reviews

StrataGraft

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and dermal fibroblasts in murine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Tecartus

brexucabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Zalmoxis

allogeneic T cells modified with HSV-TK / dLNGFR (nalotimagene carmaleucel) · HSV-TK suicide-gene T cells
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 27 cell therapies →