Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Kymriah: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

tisagenlecleucel · CD19 CAR-T

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Kymriah don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for cell therapies

FDA expects preclinical proof-of-concept and toxicology studies to identify active dose levels and support the choice of starting dose and escalation. The 2013 guidance gives no numeric formula or scaling rule for the starting dose.

“Selection of potential starting dose level, dose-escalation schedule, and dosing regimen for clinical trials.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2013: Preclinical Assessment of Investigational Cellular and Gene Therapy…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: No NOAEL; mice up to 20x10^6 cells: no systemic toxicity or abnormal proliferation vs mock T cells; xGvHD (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single IV infusion; patient-specific product)
“The lack of repeat-dose toxicity studies is acceptable based on the fact that tisagenlecleucel will be administered as a single IV infusion, and since tisagenlecleucel is a patient specific product which is not appropriate to administer to immune competent animals.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 40Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
No GLP tox; non-GLP biotoxicity/BD study in B-ALL tumor-bearing immunodeficient mice, single IV, to Day 217
“The nonclinical toxicology studies were not conducted in compliance with Good Laboratory Practice (GLP), because there was no independent Quality Assurance (QA) audit of integral study parts and raw data storage was not applied in compliance with GLP regulations.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 28Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted
“No preclinical reproductive studies were conducted with CTL019 to assess whether it can cause fetal harm when administered to a pregnant woman.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted
“No preclinical reproductive studies were conducted with CTL019 to assess whether it can cause fetal harm when administered to a pregnant woman.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: no preclinical reproductive studies
“No preclinical reproductive studies were conducted with CTL019 to assess whether it can cause fetal harm when administered to a pregnant woman.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (no rodent carcinogenicity assessment)
“Classical genotoxicity assays and carcinogenicity assessment in rodent models were not performed for CTL019.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; immunocompromised mice showed no abnormal growth or clonal expansion up to 7 months; integration site analysis
“In vivo studies in immunocompromised mice did not show signs of abnormal cell growth or signs of clonal cell expansion for up to 7 months, which represents the longest meaningful observation period for immunocompromised mouse models.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 40Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: rodent carcinogenicity studies not appropriate for genetically modified cell therapy
“Genotoxicity assays and carcinogenicity studies in rodents are not appropriate to assess the risk of insertional mutagenesis for genetically modified cell therapy products.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 40Source ↗

Same question, other cell therapies

Abecma

idecabtagene vicleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-finding study in patients with relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (CRB-401)

Carvykti

ciltacabtagene autoleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Country not stated; first clinical trial in patients with relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (LEGEND-2)

MACI

autologous cultured chondrocytes on porcine collagen membrane · Autologous chondrocytes
Outside the United States: all clinical studies ex-US (countries not named)

Tecelra

afamitresgene autoleucel · MAGE-A4 TCR-T
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation and expansion study in HLA-A*02 patients with MAGE-A4-positive advanced tumors

Yescarta

axicabtagene ciloleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Country not stated; initial dose-finding study NCI 09-C-0082 in patients with advanced B-cell malignancies

Zemcelpro

dorocubicel · UM171-expanded cord blood CD34+
Canada: dose de-escalation study (Study 001) at 2 sites in patients needing allogeneic stem cell transplant

Alofisel

darvadstrocel · Allogeneic adipose MSC
Not stated in public reviews

Amtagvi

lifileucel · TIL therapy
Not stated in public reviews

Aucatzyl

obecabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Breyanzi

lisocabtagene maraleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

ChondroCelect

characterised viable autologous cartilage cells · Autologous chondrocytes
Not stated in public reviews

Ebvallo

tabelecleucel · EBV-specific allogeneic T cells
Not stated in public reviews

Encelto

revakinagene taroretcel · CNTF (encapsulated RPE cell implant)
Not stated in public reviews

Gintuit

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and fibroblasts in bovine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Holoclar

autologous corneal epithelial cells containing limbal stem cells · Autologous limbal stem cells
Not stated in public reviews

Lantidra

donislecel · Allogeneic pancreatic islets
Not stated in public reviews

Laviv

azficel-T · Autologous fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Omisirge

omidubicel · Expanded cord blood HPC
Not stated in public reviews

Provenge

sipuleucel-T · PAP-GM-CSF (autologous APC)
Not stated in public reviews

Rethymic

allogeneic processed thymus tissue · Allogeneic thymus tissue
Not stated in public reviews

Ryoncil

remestemcel-L · Allogeneic BM-MSC
Not stated in public reviews

Spherox

spheroids of autologous matrix-associated chondrocytes · Autologous chondrocyte spheroids
Not stated in public reviews

StrataGraft

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and dermal fibroblasts in murine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Tecartus

brexucabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Tregzi

allogeneic Treg immunotherapy with HSPC and T cells (Orca-T) · Allogeneic Treg + HSPC + Tcon
Not stated in public reviews

Zalmoxis

allogeneic T cells modified with HSV-TK / dLNGFR (nalotimagene carmaleucel) · HSV-TK suicide-gene T cells
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 27 cell therapies →