Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Lantidra: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

donislecel · Allogeneic pancreatic islets

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
No nonclinical basis; target 10,000 EIN/kg from prior Edmonton Protocol clinical experience
“In both UIH-001 & UIH-002 studies a target islet dose of 10,000 EIN/kg was proposed based on the findings of previous experience with Edmonton Protocol for allogeneic islet transplantation.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 14Source ↗

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (no toxicology studies conducted; published literature instead)
“No toxicology studies with LANTIDRA were conducted. The applicant provided publications assessing the overall safety of islet allografts following intraportal transplantation in Module 4 of the BLA.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 19Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
None; publications on intraportal islet allograft safety (e.g., diabetic mouse liver morphology study) cited instead
“The applicant provided publications assessing the overall safety of islet allografts following intraportal transplantation in Module 4 of the BLA.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 19Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted
“No DART studies with LANTIDRA were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 21Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted
“No DART studies with LANTIDRA were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 21Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: no DART studies
“No DART studies with LANTIDRA were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 21Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted; publications in diabetic rats with intraportal islet transplants cited
“No carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity studies with LANITDRA were conducted. The applicant cited two publications that examined the potential for hepatic carcinogenicity following intraportal transplantation of allogeneic islets in diabetic rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 21Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; literature: low-number intraportal islet grafts in diabetic rats caused liver tumors, high numbers did not; risk judged low
“This combination of islet number, hyperinsulinism, and hyperglycemia resulted in liver tumors. Transplantation of high numbers of islets did not result in hepatic neoplasms.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 25Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted; published rat islet-transplant literature cited instead
“No carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity studies with LANITDRA were conducted. The applicant cited two publications that examined the potential for hepatic carcinogenicity following intraportal transplantation of allogeneic islets in diabetic rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 21Source ↗

Same question, other cell therapies

Abecma

idecabtagene vicleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-finding study in patients with relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (CRB-401)

Carvykti

ciltacabtagene autoleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Country not stated; first clinical trial in patients with relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (LEGEND-2)

MACI

autologous cultured chondrocytes on porcine collagen membrane · Autologous chondrocytes
Outside the United States: all clinical studies ex-US (countries not named)

Tecelra

afamitresgene autoleucel · MAGE-A4 TCR-T
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation and expansion study in HLA-A*02 patients with MAGE-A4-positive advanced tumors

Yescarta

axicabtagene ciloleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Country not stated; initial dose-finding study NCI 09-C-0082 in patients with advanced B-cell malignancies

Zemcelpro

dorocubicel · UM171-expanded cord blood CD34+
Canada: dose de-escalation study (Study 001) at 2 sites in patients needing allogeneic stem cell transplant

Alofisel

darvadstrocel · Allogeneic adipose MSC
Not stated in public reviews

Amtagvi

lifileucel · TIL therapy
Not stated in public reviews

Aucatzyl

obecabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Breyanzi

lisocabtagene maraleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

ChondroCelect

characterised viable autologous cartilage cells · Autologous chondrocytes
Not stated in public reviews

Ebvallo

tabelecleucel · EBV-specific allogeneic T cells
Not stated in public reviews

Encelto

revakinagene taroretcel · CNTF (encapsulated RPE cell implant)
Not stated in public reviews

Gintuit

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and fibroblasts in bovine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Holoclar

autologous corneal epithelial cells containing limbal stem cells · Autologous limbal stem cells
Not stated in public reviews

Kymriah

tisagenlecleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Laviv

azficel-T · Autologous fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Omisirge

omidubicel · Expanded cord blood HPC
Not stated in public reviews

Provenge

sipuleucel-T · PAP-GM-CSF (autologous APC)
Not stated in public reviews

Rethymic

allogeneic processed thymus tissue · Allogeneic thymus tissue
Not stated in public reviews

Ryoncil

remestemcel-L · Allogeneic BM-MSC
Not stated in public reviews

Spherox

spheroids of autologous matrix-associated chondrocytes · Autologous chondrocyte spheroids
Not stated in public reviews

StrataGraft

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and dermal fibroblasts in murine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Tecartus

brexucabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Tregzi

allogeneic Treg immunotherapy with HSPC and T cells (Orca-T) · Allogeneic Treg + HSPC + Tcon
Not stated in public reviews

Zalmoxis

allogeneic T cells modified with HSV-TK / dLNGFR (nalotimagene carmaleucel) · HSV-TK suicide-gene T cells
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 27 cell therapies →