Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Holoclar: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

autologous corneal epithelial cells containing limbal stem cells · Autologous limbal stem cells

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Holoclar don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for cell therapies

FDA expects preclinical proof-of-concept and toxicology studies to identify active dose levels and support the choice of starting dose and escalation. The 2013 guidance gives no numeric formula or scaling rule for the starting dose.

“Selection of potential starting dose level, dose-escalation schedule, and dosing regimen for clinical trials.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2013: Preclinical Assessment of Investigational Cellular and Gene Therapy…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: No NOAEL; no animal tox. In vitro: no chromosomal aberrations, soft agar negative (EMA assessment report, p. 18)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study; animal toxicity studies omitted (no suitable animal model)
“Overall, the omission of classical toxicology animal studies, including single and repeat dose studies as well as immunogenicity studies, was considered by the CAT to be justified due to the lack of suitable animal models and in light of the available clinical safety data.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 21Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
No in vivo tox; in vitro karyotype, growth factor dependence and soft agar assays
“in order to investigate the proliferative capacity of the 3T3-J2 feeder cells, the applicant performed in vitro karyotype analysis and soft agar assays.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 18Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted; no systemic exposure and autologous product
“As no systemic exposure was to be expected and since the product was autologous in nature, the risk for product-related toxicity to the reproductive system was considered to be negligible and therefore omission of reproductive toxicity testing was deemed acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 21Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted; no systemic exposure and autologous product
“As no systemic exposure was to be expected and since the product was autologous in nature, the risk for product-related toxicity to the reproductive system was considered to be negligible”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 21Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: reproductive toxicity testing omitted (autologous, no systemic exposure)
“As no systemic exposure was to be expected and since the product was autologous in nature, the risk for product-related toxicity to the reproductive system was considered to be negligible and therefore omission of reproductive toxicity testing was deemed acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 21Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted; in vitro tumorigenicity assays instead
“While conventional carcinogenicity studies have not been performed, the potential for transformation and formation of tumours by the human corneal epithelial cells in Holoclar was investigated in in vitro assays.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 18Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; three in vitro tumorigenicity assays (karyotype, growth factor dependence, soft agar) indicated low risk
“tumourigenicity of Holoclar drug substance and product was investigated in three different in vitro approaches, all of which pointed towards a low risk of tumour formation.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 21Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: conventional carcinogenicity not performed; in vitro tumorigenicity assays instead
“While conventional carcinogenicity studies have not been performed, the potential for transformation and formation of tumours by the human corneal epithelial cells in Holoclar was investigated in in vitro assays.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 18Source ↗

Same question, other cell therapies

Abecma

idecabtagene vicleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-finding study in patients with relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (CRB-401)

Carvykti

ciltacabtagene autoleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Country not stated; first clinical trial in patients with relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (LEGEND-2)

MACI

autologous cultured chondrocytes on porcine collagen membrane · Autologous chondrocytes
Outside the United States: all clinical studies ex-US (countries not named)

Tecelra

afamitresgene autoleucel · MAGE-A4 TCR-T
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation and expansion study in HLA-A*02 patients with MAGE-A4-positive advanced tumors

Yescarta

axicabtagene ciloleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Country not stated; initial dose-finding study NCI 09-C-0082 in patients with advanced B-cell malignancies

Zemcelpro

dorocubicel · UM171-expanded cord blood CD34+
Canada: dose de-escalation study (Study 001) at 2 sites in patients needing allogeneic stem cell transplant

Alofisel

darvadstrocel · Allogeneic adipose MSC
Not stated in public reviews

Amtagvi

lifileucel · TIL therapy
Not stated in public reviews

Aucatzyl

obecabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Breyanzi

lisocabtagene maraleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

ChondroCelect

characterised viable autologous cartilage cells · Autologous chondrocytes
Not stated in public reviews

Ebvallo

tabelecleucel · EBV-specific allogeneic T cells
Not stated in public reviews

Encelto

revakinagene taroretcel · CNTF (encapsulated RPE cell implant)
Not stated in public reviews

Gintuit

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and fibroblasts in bovine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Kymriah

tisagenlecleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Lantidra

donislecel · Allogeneic pancreatic islets
Not stated in public reviews

Laviv

azficel-T · Autologous fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Omisirge

omidubicel · Expanded cord blood HPC
Not stated in public reviews

Provenge

sipuleucel-T · PAP-GM-CSF (autologous APC)
Not stated in public reviews

Rethymic

allogeneic processed thymus tissue · Allogeneic thymus tissue
Not stated in public reviews

Ryoncil

remestemcel-L · Allogeneic BM-MSC
Not stated in public reviews

Spherox

spheroids of autologous matrix-associated chondrocytes · Autologous chondrocyte spheroids
Not stated in public reviews

StrataGraft

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and dermal fibroblasts in murine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Tecartus

brexucabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Tregzi

allogeneic Treg immunotherapy with HSPC and T cells (Orca-T) · Allogeneic Treg + HSPC + Tcon
Not stated in public reviews

Zalmoxis

allogeneic T cells modified with HSV-TK / dLNGFR (nalotimagene carmaleucel) · HSV-TK suicide-gene T cells
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 27 cell therapies →