Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Abecma: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

idecabtagene vicleucel · BCMA CAR-T

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-finding study in patients with relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (CRB-401)
“A first-in-human, two-part, nonrandomized, open-label, multicenter, dosing finding Phase 1 study to evaluate the safety, efficacy, cellular kinetics/pharmacokinetics of a single dose of ABECMA in subjects with relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (RRMM) (Study No. CRB-401, supportive study).”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not explicitly stated; mouse MED 6.16x10^5 CAR+ cells corresponds to HED 2.05x10^8 CAR+ T cells (100 kg)
“expression which represents the human equivalent dose (HED) of 2.05 x 108 CAR+ T cells for a 100-kg human.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 45Source ↗

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (autologous human T cells do not engraft in immunocompetent animals)
“No single or repeat-dose toxicity studies were conducted with ide-cel as traditional animal studies employing common toxicology study designs are not appropriate for ide-cel since autologous human T cells do not graft in immunocompetent animals.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 42Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
None GLP; non-GLP NSG mouse PK/PD/biodistribution/general safety study (B4-15-090, single IV, 29 days)
“No single or repeat-dose toxicity studies were conducted with ide-cel as traditional animal studies employing common toxicology study designs are not appropriate for ide-cel”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 42Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted (product characteristics)
“No animal reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were conducted for bb2121 which is acceptable based on the product characteristics.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (product characteristics)
“No animal reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were conducted for bb2121 which is acceptable based on the product characteristics.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; DART studies not needed given product characteristics
“No animal reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were conducted for bb2121 which is acceptable based on the product characteristics.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted; in vitro IL-2-independent growth assay instead
“No carcinogenicity or tumorigenicity studies were conducted for bb2121. However, the applicant evaluated IL-2 independent growth in Study #10.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 27Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; in vitro IL-2-independent growth assay (5 patient, 2 healthy donors) showed no uncontrolled proliferation
“Additionally, an IL-2-independent growth assay of ABECMA® generated from five patient donors and two healthy donors showed no signs of uncontrolled cellular proliferation.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required; conventional animal studies not appropriate (autologous human T cells do not engraft in immunocompetent animals)
“Conventional animal studies employing common toxicology study designs are not appropriate for ide-cel since autologous human T cells do not graft in immunocompetent animals and thus, in vivo nonclinical general safety, genotoxicity, carcinogenicity, developmental safety or reproductive safety studies were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 42Source ↗

Same question, other cell therapies

Carvykti

ciltacabtagene autoleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Country not stated; first clinical trial in patients with relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (LEGEND-2)

MACI

autologous cultured chondrocytes on porcine collagen membrane · Autologous chondrocytes
Outside the United States: all clinical studies ex-US (countries not named)

Tecelra

afamitresgene autoleucel · MAGE-A4 TCR-T
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation and expansion study in HLA-A*02 patients with MAGE-A4-positive advanced tumors

Yescarta

axicabtagene ciloleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Country not stated; initial dose-finding study NCI 09-C-0082 in patients with advanced B-cell malignancies

Zemcelpro

dorocubicel · UM171-expanded cord blood CD34+
Canada: dose de-escalation study (Study 001) at 2 sites in patients needing allogeneic stem cell transplant

Alofisel

darvadstrocel · Allogeneic adipose MSC
Not stated in public reviews

Amtagvi

lifileucel · TIL therapy
Not stated in public reviews

Aucatzyl

obecabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Breyanzi

lisocabtagene maraleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

ChondroCelect

characterised viable autologous cartilage cells · Autologous chondrocytes
Not stated in public reviews

Ebvallo

tabelecleucel · EBV-specific allogeneic T cells
Not stated in public reviews

Encelto

revakinagene taroretcel · CNTF (encapsulated RPE cell implant)
Not stated in public reviews

Gintuit

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and fibroblasts in bovine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Holoclar

autologous corneal epithelial cells containing limbal stem cells · Autologous limbal stem cells
Not stated in public reviews

Kymriah

tisagenlecleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Lantidra

donislecel · Allogeneic pancreatic islets
Not stated in public reviews

Laviv

azficel-T · Autologous fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Omisirge

omidubicel · Expanded cord blood HPC
Not stated in public reviews

Provenge

sipuleucel-T · PAP-GM-CSF (autologous APC)
Not stated in public reviews

Rethymic

allogeneic processed thymus tissue · Allogeneic thymus tissue
Not stated in public reviews

Ryoncil

remestemcel-L · Allogeneic BM-MSC
Not stated in public reviews

Spherox

spheroids of autologous matrix-associated chondrocytes · Autologous chondrocyte spheroids
Not stated in public reviews

StrataGraft

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and dermal fibroblasts in murine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Tecartus

brexucabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Tregzi

allogeneic Treg immunotherapy with HSPC and T cells (Orca-T) · Allogeneic Treg + HSPC + Tcon
Not stated in public reviews

Zalmoxis

allogeneic T cells modified with HSV-TK / dLNGFR (nalotimagene carmaleucel) · HSV-TK suicide-gene T cells
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 27 cell therapies →