Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Rethymic: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

allogeneic processed thymus tissue · Allogeneic thymus tissue

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Rethymic don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for cell therapies

FDA expects preclinical proof-of-concept and toxicology studies to identify active dose levels and support the choice of starting dose and escalation. The 2013 guidance gives no numeric formula or scaling rule for the starting dose.

“Selection of potential starting dose level, dose-escalation schedule, and dosing regimen for clinical trials.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2013: Preclinical Assessment of Investigational Cellular and Gene Therapy…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: No NOAEL; no toxicology studies; dose range from clinical use (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (no nonclinical toxicology studies conducted)
“Per the applicant, based on the acceptable clinical safety profile of RVT-802 and the lack of relevant animal models, no nonclinical toxicology studies with RVT-802 were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 21Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
No toxicology studies; pharmacology only (in vitro thymus organ culture, nude rat transplants to 9 months)
“no nonclinical toxicology studies with RVT-802 were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 21Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted; published mouse thymectomy literature reviewed instead
“No DART studies were conducted. To assess the DART potential of RVT-802, the applicant examined published assessments of DART outcomes in mice following thymectomy.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 21Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted; published thymectomy literature suggests minimal risk
“No DART studies were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 21Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted and not indicated
“In vitro or in vivo genotoxicity, carcinogenicity, or developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were not conducted with RETHYMIC, nor were they indicated.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 12Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted; published mouse thymus-transplant literature reviewed instead
“No carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity studies were conducted. To assess the carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity potential of RVT-802, the applicant examined published assessments of carcinogenicity outcomes in mice following thymus transplantation.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 22Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; literature on thymus transplantation in tumor-bearing mice reviewed; risk considered minimal
“Although the thymus products administered were not identical to RVT-802 and the studies were conducted in tumor-bearing mice (which does not reflect the clinical scenario), these data combined with the existing clinical safety data for RVT-802, indicate that the risk of carcinogenicity after RVT-802 transplantation in humans appears to be minimal.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 22Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: carcinogenicity studies not conducted and not indicated
“In vitro or in vivo genotoxicity, carcinogenicity, or developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were not conducted with RETHYMIC, nor were they indicated.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 12Source ↗

Email me this as a cited memo

Tox package for Rethymic, each with the regulator's own words, the page and a link. Ready to paste into a briefing document or send to your team.

Same question, other cell therapies

Abecma

idecabtagene vicleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-finding study in patients with relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (CRB-401)

Carvykti

ciltacabtagene autoleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Country not stated; first clinical trial in patients with relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (LEGEND-2)

MACI

autologous cultured chondrocytes on porcine collagen membrane · Autologous chondrocytes
Outside the United States: all clinical studies ex-US (countries not named)

Tecelra

afamitresgene autoleucel · MAGE-A4 TCR-T
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation and expansion study in HLA-A*02 patients with MAGE-A4-positive advanced tumors

Yescarta

axicabtagene ciloleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Country not stated; initial dose-finding study NCI 09-C-0082 in patients with advanced B-cell malignancies

Zemcelpro

dorocubicel · UM171-expanded cord blood CD34+
Canada: dose de-escalation study (Study 001) at 2 sites in patients needing allogeneic stem cell transplant

Alofisel

darvadstrocel · Allogeneic adipose MSC
Not stated in public reviews

Amtagvi

lifileucel · TIL therapy
Not stated in public reviews

Aucatzyl

obecabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Breyanzi

lisocabtagene maraleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

ChondroCelect

characterised viable autologous cartilage cells · Autologous chondrocytes
Not stated in public reviews

Ebvallo

tabelecleucel · EBV-specific allogeneic T cells
Not stated in public reviews

Encelto

revakinagene taroretcel · CNTF (encapsulated RPE cell implant)
Not stated in public reviews

Gintuit

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and fibroblasts in bovine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Holoclar

autologous corneal epithelial cells containing limbal stem cells · Autologous limbal stem cells
Not stated in public reviews

Kymriah

tisagenlecleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Lantidra

donislecel · Allogeneic pancreatic islets
Not stated in public reviews

Laviv

azficel-T · Autologous fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Omisirge

omidubicel · Expanded cord blood HPC
Not stated in public reviews

Provenge

sipuleucel-T · PAP-GM-CSF (autologous APC)
Not stated in public reviews

Ryoncil

remestemcel-L · Allogeneic BM-MSC
Not stated in public reviews

Spherox

spheroids of autologous matrix-associated chondrocytes · Autologous chondrocyte spheroids
Not stated in public reviews

StrataGraft

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and dermal fibroblasts in murine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Tecartus

brexucabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Tregzi

allogeneic Treg immunotherapy with HSPC and T cells (Orca-T) · Allogeneic Treg + HSPC + Tcon
Not stated in public reviews

Zalmoxis

allogeneic T cells modified with HSV-TK / dLNGFR (nalotimagene carmaleucel) · HSV-TK suicide-gene T cells
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 27 cell therapies →