Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

ChondroCelect: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

characterised viable autologous cartilage cells · Autologous chondrocytes

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Clinical dose 0.8-1 x10^6 cells/cm2 based on animal studies, literature and ACI experience (not a formal FIH calculation)
“The dose selection was based on a combination of animal studies conducted by TiGenix, published literature and experience in humans with ACI.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 13Source ↗

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study; long single-dose observation (up to 53 weeks in goats) judged sufficient
“As the observation period of the single dose studies described above were up to 12 weeks in mice, 14 weeks in sheep and 53 weeks in goats, these studies are considered to be sufficient to assess the long-term effects of ChondroCelect.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 12Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Non-GLP single-dose studies: mouse (12 wk), sheep (14 wk), goat (53 wk), local implantation
“These studies were non-GLP which is not in conformity with the pharmaceutical standards.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 10Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted (negligible risk given nature and intended use)
“Taking into account the nature of the product and its intended clinical use the risk for reproductive and developmental toxicity is considered to be negligible.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 12Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted; risk considered negligible
“the omission of reproductive and developmental toxicity studies in the development program for ChondroCelect is acceptable”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 12Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; negligible risk given nature of product and intended use
“Taking into account the nature of the product and its intended clinical use the risk for reproductive and developmental toxicity is considered to be negligible.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 12Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (in vitro senescence study instead)
“In view of these results, the absence of standard carcinogenicity studies was considered to be acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 12Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; in vitro senescence study of serially passaged human chondrocytes
“In order to address the carcinogenic potential of ChondroCelect, the Applicant performed an in vitro study to evaluate senescence of human articular chondrocytes after serial passaging, using ChondroCelect culture conditions.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 12Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (absence of standard studies accepted)
“In view of these results, the absence of standard carcinogenicity studies was considered to be acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 12Source ↗

Email me this as a cited memo

Tox package for ChondroCelect, each with the regulator's own words, the page and a link. Ready to paste into a briefing document or send to your team.

Same question, other cell therapies

Abecma

idecabtagene vicleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-finding study in patients with relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (CRB-401)

Carvykti

ciltacabtagene autoleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Country not stated; first clinical trial in patients with relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (LEGEND-2)

MACI

autologous cultured chondrocytes on porcine collagen membrane · Autologous chondrocytes
Outside the United States: all clinical studies ex-US (countries not named)

Tecelra

afamitresgene autoleucel · MAGE-A4 TCR-T
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation and expansion study in HLA-A*02 patients with MAGE-A4-positive advanced tumors

Yescarta

axicabtagene ciloleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Country not stated; initial dose-finding study NCI 09-C-0082 in patients with advanced B-cell malignancies

Zemcelpro

dorocubicel · UM171-expanded cord blood CD34+
Canada: dose de-escalation study (Study 001) at 2 sites in patients needing allogeneic stem cell transplant

Alofisel

darvadstrocel · Allogeneic adipose MSC
Not stated in public reviews

Amtagvi

lifileucel · TIL therapy
Not stated in public reviews

Aucatzyl

obecabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Breyanzi

lisocabtagene maraleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Ebvallo

tabelecleucel · EBV-specific allogeneic T cells
Not stated in public reviews

Encelto

revakinagene taroretcel · CNTF (encapsulated RPE cell implant)
Not stated in public reviews

Gintuit

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and fibroblasts in bovine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Holoclar

autologous corneal epithelial cells containing limbal stem cells · Autologous limbal stem cells
Not stated in public reviews

Kymriah

tisagenlecleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Lantidra

donislecel · Allogeneic pancreatic islets
Not stated in public reviews

Laviv

azficel-T · Autologous fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Omisirge

omidubicel · Expanded cord blood HPC
Not stated in public reviews

Provenge

sipuleucel-T · PAP-GM-CSF (autologous APC)
Not stated in public reviews

Rethymic

allogeneic processed thymus tissue · Allogeneic thymus tissue
Not stated in public reviews

Ryoncil

remestemcel-L · Allogeneic BM-MSC
Not stated in public reviews

Spherox

spheroids of autologous matrix-associated chondrocytes · Autologous chondrocyte spheroids
Not stated in public reviews

StrataGraft

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and dermal fibroblasts in murine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Tecartus

brexucabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Tregzi

allogeneic Treg immunotherapy with HSPC and T cells (Orca-T) · Allogeneic Treg + HSPC + Tcon
Not stated in public reviews

Zalmoxis

allogeneic T cells modified with HSV-TK / dLNGFR (nalotimagene carmaleucel) · HSV-TK suicide-gene T cells
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 27 cell therapies →