Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Tecelra: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

afamitresgene autoleucel · MAGE-A4 TCR-T

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation and expansion study in HLA-A*02 patients with MAGE-A4-positive advanced tumors
“a Phase 1, first-in-human, cell dose escalation and expansion study (ADP-0044-001) in HLA-A*02 patients with MAGE-A4-positive unresectable locally advanced or metastatic tumors.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Tecelra don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for cell therapies

FDA expects preclinical proof-of-concept and toxicology studies to identify active dose levels and support the choice of starting dose and escalation. The 2013 guidance gives no numeric formula or scaling rule for the starting dose.

“Selection of potential starting dose level, dose-escalation schedule, and dosing regimen for clinical trials.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2013: Preclinical Assessment of Investigational Cellular and Gene Therapy…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: No NOAEL; in vitro alloreactivity against HLA-A*02:05 (contraindication); cross-reactivity to MAGE-A8/MAGE-B2 (cancer/germline-restricted) (FDA multi-discipline review, p. 39)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No single- or repeat-dose toxicity studies (no appropriate animal model for human TCR-engineered T cells)
“Standard in vivo single-dose or repeat-dose toxicity studies were not conducted with afamitresgene autoleucel due to the lack of appropriate animal models for testing of human TCR engineered T-cells.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 39Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
No in vivo tox; in vitro X-scan/MAGE-family peptide cross-reactivity, alloreactivity, normal/iPSC cell co-culture; murine xenograft efficacy
“A comprehensive analysis of cross-reactivity was performed using a peptide library screen with single amino-acid substitutions at each position of the antigenic peptide sequence (X-scan) and peptides from MAGE family member proteins.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted; acceptable based on product characteristics and safety profile
“No animal reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were conducted with TECELRA which is acceptable based on the product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted; theoretical testis/placenta risk (MAGE-A4 expression) judged mitigated by immune privilege, labeling, pharmacovigilance
“MAGE-A4 is known to be expressed in testes and placenta, and so there is a theoretical risk of embryotoxicity or toxicity to the testes.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 40Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
No reproductive/developmental studies; acceptable given product characteristics and safety profile
“No animal reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were conducted with TECELRA which is acceptable based on the product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (no relevant animal models)
“Afamitresgene autoleucel is a human TCR engineered T-cell product, therefore conventional carcinogenicity studies were not performed due to the lack of relevant animal models.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 40Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; vector integration site profile similar to other lentiviral products, no greater insertional oncogenesis risk expected
“However, vector integration site analysis demonstrated that the insertion site profile for the product was similar to other lentiviral vector products and was not expected to represent a greater risk for the development of insertional oncogenesis.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted; no relevant animal models for a human TCR-engineered T-cell product
“Afamitresgene autoleucel is a human TCR engineered T-cell product, therefore conventional carcinogenicity studies were not performed due to the lack of relevant animal models.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 40Source ↗

Same question, other cell therapies

Abecma

idecabtagene vicleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-finding study in patients with relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (CRB-401)

Carvykti

ciltacabtagene autoleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Country not stated; first clinical trial in patients with relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (LEGEND-2)

MACI

autologous cultured chondrocytes on porcine collagen membrane · Autologous chondrocytes
Outside the United States: all clinical studies ex-US (countries not named)

Yescarta

axicabtagene ciloleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Country not stated; initial dose-finding study NCI 09-C-0082 in patients with advanced B-cell malignancies

Zemcelpro

dorocubicel · UM171-expanded cord blood CD34+
Canada: dose de-escalation study (Study 001) at 2 sites in patients needing allogeneic stem cell transplant

Alofisel

darvadstrocel · Allogeneic adipose MSC
Not stated in public reviews

Amtagvi

lifileucel · TIL therapy
Not stated in public reviews

Aucatzyl

obecabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Breyanzi

lisocabtagene maraleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

ChondroCelect

characterised viable autologous cartilage cells · Autologous chondrocytes
Not stated in public reviews

Ebvallo

tabelecleucel · EBV-specific allogeneic T cells
Not stated in public reviews

Encelto

revakinagene taroretcel · CNTF (encapsulated RPE cell implant)
Not stated in public reviews

Gintuit

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and fibroblasts in bovine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Holoclar

autologous corneal epithelial cells containing limbal stem cells · Autologous limbal stem cells
Not stated in public reviews

Kymriah

tisagenlecleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Lantidra

donislecel · Allogeneic pancreatic islets
Not stated in public reviews

Laviv

azficel-T · Autologous fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Omisirge

omidubicel · Expanded cord blood HPC
Not stated in public reviews

Provenge

sipuleucel-T · PAP-GM-CSF (autologous APC)
Not stated in public reviews

Rethymic

allogeneic processed thymus tissue · Allogeneic thymus tissue
Not stated in public reviews

Ryoncil

remestemcel-L · Allogeneic BM-MSC
Not stated in public reviews

Spherox

spheroids of autologous matrix-associated chondrocytes · Autologous chondrocyte spheroids
Not stated in public reviews

StrataGraft

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and dermal fibroblasts in murine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Tecartus

brexucabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Tregzi

allogeneic Treg immunotherapy with HSPC and T cells (Orca-T) · Allogeneic Treg + HSPC + Tcon
Not stated in public reviews

Zalmoxis

allogeneic T cells modified with HSV-TK / dLNGFR (nalotimagene carmaleucel) · HSV-TK suicide-gene T cells
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 27 cell therapies →