Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Spherox: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

spheroids of autologous matrix-associated chondrocytes · Autologous chondrocyte spheroids

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Spherox don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for cell therapies

FDA expects preclinical proof-of-concept and toxicology studies to identify active dose levels and support the choice of starting dose and escalation. The 2013 guidance gives no numeric formula or scaling rule for the starting dose.

“Selection of potential starting dose level, dose-escalation schedule, and dosing regimen for clinical trials.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2013: Preclinical Assessment of Investigational Cellular and Gene Therapy…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: No NOAEL; no treatment-related adverse effects or signs of general/local toxicity in any study (EMA assessment report, p. 32)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single administration of spheroids in all in vivo studies)
“In the in vivo studies, a single dose of spheroids was either injected or implanted into a knee joint or administered subcutaneously in the back of the animal.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP Merino sheep 6/9-month implantation (failed, implant lost); GLP NSG mouse 6-month biodistribution/tumourigenicity; minipig 2-month
“study Merino sheep was designed to evaluate local and systemic toxicity during 6 months of implantation of autologous spheroids in a femoral condyle defect.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted; autologous cells with local mechanism of action and limited biodistribution
“Reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were not conducted. In line with guidelines on cell-based medicinal products (EMEA/CHMP/410869/2006), the applicant has provided an acceptable justification for omitting these studies: Spherox contains autologous cells with a local mechanism of action, and the risk for biodistribution of cells is limited.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted; autologous cells with local action and limited biodistribution
“Reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: autologous cells with local action and limited biodistribution
“Reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were not conducted. In line with guidelines on cell-based medicinal products (EMEA/CHMP/410869/2006), the applicant has provided an acceptable justification for omitting these studies”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
No conventional carcinogenicity; 6-month GLP tumourigenicity study in immunodeficient mice
“including the 6 months GLP study in immunodeficient mice which support the absence of the tumourigenic potential.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
GLP NSG mouse study, human spheroids implanted subcutaneously: no tumour or ectopic tissue formation after 6 months
“In a GLP compliant study using immunodeficient NSG mice, biodistribution of cells out from human Spheroxs implanted subcutaneously into the back was investigated after 4 weeks. There were no indications of significant systemic distribution of the cells, or were there any indications of tumour or ectopic tissue formation after 6 months in the tumourigenicity part of this study.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: conventional carcinogenicity omitted per cell-based product guideline
“No genotoxicity, conventional carcinogenicity and reproductive- and developmental toxicity studies were performed which is in line with the guideline on cell-based medicinal products (EMEA/CHMP/410869/2006).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗

Same question, other cell therapies

Abecma

idecabtagene vicleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-finding study in patients with relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (CRB-401)

Carvykti

ciltacabtagene autoleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Country not stated; first clinical trial in patients with relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (LEGEND-2)

MACI

autologous cultured chondrocytes on porcine collagen membrane · Autologous chondrocytes
Outside the United States: all clinical studies ex-US (countries not named)

Tecelra

afamitresgene autoleucel · MAGE-A4 TCR-T
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation and expansion study in HLA-A*02 patients with MAGE-A4-positive advanced tumors

Yescarta

axicabtagene ciloleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Country not stated; initial dose-finding study NCI 09-C-0082 in patients with advanced B-cell malignancies

Zemcelpro

dorocubicel · UM171-expanded cord blood CD34+
Canada: dose de-escalation study (Study 001) at 2 sites in patients needing allogeneic stem cell transplant

Alofisel

darvadstrocel · Allogeneic adipose MSC
Not stated in public reviews

Amtagvi

lifileucel · TIL therapy
Not stated in public reviews

Aucatzyl

obecabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Breyanzi

lisocabtagene maraleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

ChondroCelect

characterised viable autologous cartilage cells · Autologous chondrocytes
Not stated in public reviews

Ebvallo

tabelecleucel · EBV-specific allogeneic T cells
Not stated in public reviews

Encelto

revakinagene taroretcel · CNTF (encapsulated RPE cell implant)
Not stated in public reviews

Gintuit

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and fibroblasts in bovine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Holoclar

autologous corneal epithelial cells containing limbal stem cells · Autologous limbal stem cells
Not stated in public reviews

Kymriah

tisagenlecleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Lantidra

donislecel · Allogeneic pancreatic islets
Not stated in public reviews

Laviv

azficel-T · Autologous fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Omisirge

omidubicel · Expanded cord blood HPC
Not stated in public reviews

Provenge

sipuleucel-T · PAP-GM-CSF (autologous APC)
Not stated in public reviews

Rethymic

allogeneic processed thymus tissue · Allogeneic thymus tissue
Not stated in public reviews

Ryoncil

remestemcel-L · Allogeneic BM-MSC
Not stated in public reviews

StrataGraft

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and dermal fibroblasts in murine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Tecartus

brexucabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Tregzi

allogeneic Treg immunotherapy with HSPC and T cells (Orca-T) · Allogeneic Treg + HSPC + Tcon
Not stated in public reviews

Zalmoxis

allogeneic T cells modified with HSV-TK / dLNGFR (nalotimagene carmaleucel) · HSV-TK suicide-gene T cells
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 27 cell therapies →