Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Yescarta: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

axicabtagene ciloleucel · CD19 CAR-T

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Country not stated; initial dose-finding study NCI 09-C-0082 in patients with advanced B-cell malignancies
“Dosing of the conditioning chemotherapy agents and Yescarta was based on the results NCI study 09-C￾0082, a Phase 1 open label study of the safety and feasibility of anti-CD 19 CAR T-cells in subjects with advanced B-cell malignancies.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 47Source ↗
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Yescarta don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for cell therapies

FDA expects preclinical proof-of-concept and toxicology studies to identify active dose levels and support the choice of starting dose and escalation. The 2013 guidance gives no numeric formula or scaling rule for the starting dose.

“Selection of potential starting dose level, dose-escalation schedule, and dosing regimen for clinical trials.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2013: Preclinical Assessment of Investigational Cellular and Gene Therapy…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: No NOAEL; surrogate mice: no overt toxicity, persistent on-target B-cell aplasia to Day 209 (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 16)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No toxicology studies with the product; surrogate mouse CAR-T pharmacology study only
“No toxicology studies with KTE-C19 were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 16Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
No toxicology studies; published surrogate CAR-T study in lymphodepleted syngeneic tumor-bearing mice (Kochenderfer 2010)
“No toxicology studies with KTE-C19 were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 16Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted
“Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology Studies (DART) No DART studies were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 17Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted
“Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology Studies (DART) No DART studies were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 17Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
No fertility/reproduction/development studies; acceptable given product type, target expression and lack of a relevant animal model
“No studies have been conducted to evaluate the effects of YESCARTA on fertility, reproduction and development. This is acceptable based on the type of product, the expression pattern of the target antigen and the lack of a relevant animal model.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“No in vitro and in vivo genotoxicity and carcinogenicity assessments for KTE-C19 were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; literature review suggests T cells relatively resistant to retroviral malignant transformation
“To address the risk of retroviral vector insertional mutagenesis and potential carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity the applicant performed a review of published nonclinical and clinical information reported for T cells transduced with retroviral vectors. The data suggest that T cells are relatively resistant to malignant transformation by retroviral vectors.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted; literature review on retroviral-vector T-cell transformation submitted instead
“No in vitro and in vivo genotoxicity and carcinogenicity assessments for KTE-C19 were conducted. To address the risk of retroviral vector insertional mutagenesis and potential carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity the applicant performed a review of published nonclinical and clinical information reported for T cells transduced with retroviral vectors.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

Same question, other cell therapies

Abecma

idecabtagene vicleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-finding study in patients with relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (CRB-401)

Carvykti

ciltacabtagene autoleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Country not stated; first clinical trial in patients with relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (LEGEND-2)

MACI

autologous cultured chondrocytes on porcine collagen membrane · Autologous chondrocytes
Outside the United States: all clinical studies ex-US (countries not named)

Tecelra

afamitresgene autoleucel · MAGE-A4 TCR-T
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation and expansion study in HLA-A*02 patients with MAGE-A4-positive advanced tumors

Zemcelpro

dorocubicel · UM171-expanded cord blood CD34+
Canada: dose de-escalation study (Study 001) at 2 sites in patients needing allogeneic stem cell transplant

Alofisel

darvadstrocel · Allogeneic adipose MSC
Not stated in public reviews

Amtagvi

lifileucel · TIL therapy
Not stated in public reviews

Aucatzyl

obecabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Breyanzi

lisocabtagene maraleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

ChondroCelect

characterised viable autologous cartilage cells · Autologous chondrocytes
Not stated in public reviews

Ebvallo

tabelecleucel · EBV-specific allogeneic T cells
Not stated in public reviews

Encelto

revakinagene taroretcel · CNTF (encapsulated RPE cell implant)
Not stated in public reviews

Gintuit

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and fibroblasts in bovine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Holoclar

autologous corneal epithelial cells containing limbal stem cells · Autologous limbal stem cells
Not stated in public reviews

Kymriah

tisagenlecleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Lantidra

donislecel · Allogeneic pancreatic islets
Not stated in public reviews

Laviv

azficel-T · Autologous fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Omisirge

omidubicel · Expanded cord blood HPC
Not stated in public reviews

Provenge

sipuleucel-T · PAP-GM-CSF (autologous APC)
Not stated in public reviews

Rethymic

allogeneic processed thymus tissue · Allogeneic thymus tissue
Not stated in public reviews

Ryoncil

remestemcel-L · Allogeneic BM-MSC
Not stated in public reviews

Spherox

spheroids of autologous matrix-associated chondrocytes · Autologous chondrocyte spheroids
Not stated in public reviews

StrataGraft

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and dermal fibroblasts in murine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Tecartus

brexucabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Tregzi

allogeneic Treg immunotherapy with HSPC and T cells (Orca-T) · Allogeneic Treg + HSPC + Tcon
Not stated in public reviews

Zalmoxis

allogeneic T cells modified with HSV-TK / dLNGFR (nalotimagene carmaleucel) · HSV-TK suicide-gene T cells
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 27 cell therapies →