Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Adcetris: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

brentuximab vedotin · CD30

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Adcetris don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for ADCs

ADCs with cytotoxic payloads follow the S9 rules (1/10 STD10 or 1/6 HNSTD of the ADC, scaled by body surface area). For immune agonists, a MABEL-based start dose should be considered instead.

“For example, for cytotoxic payloads, the starting clinical dose can be determined using either 1/10th the Severely Toxic Dose (STD) in 10% of animals (STD10) in rodents or 1/6th the Highest Non- Severely Toxic Dose (HNSTD) in non-rodents, for the ADC based on body surface area, depending on which is the most appropriate and/or sensitive species.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2018: ICH S9 Guideline: Nonclinical Evaluation for Anticancer…, p. 15Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Monkey NOAEL 1 mg/kg, HNSTD 3 mg/kg, 6 mg/kg lethal; rat HNSTD 5 mg/kg; bone marrow/neutropenia, lymphoid, rat liver and testis (EMA assessment report, p. 37)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
Cynomolgus monkey 24-week IV infusion study (every 3 weeks × 9 doses) with 6-week recovery
“8216375 Cynomolgus monkey 5 (control) or 10 (treated) /sex/gp SGN-35: 1, 3 30 min IV infusion 24 weeks (q3wk × 9) recovery 6 weeks”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 30Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Rat 4-week IV (weekly x4) with recovery; cynomolgus 9-week (q3w x4) and 24/26-week (q3w x9) IV infusion studies
“With repeat-dose administration of brentuximab vedotin, unconjugated brentuximab, and MMAE in rats and monkeys the principal test article-related effects of brentuximab vedotin and MMAE in both species included changes in the bone marrow and lymphoid tissues;”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 37Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Rat (embryo-fetal development, IV, organogenesis)
“In an embryo-fetal developmental study, pregnant rats received 2 intravenous doses of 0.3, 1, 3, or 10 mg/kg brentuximab vedotin during the period of organogenesis (once each on Pregnancy Days 6 and 13).”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rat EFD: embryo-fetal lethality at >=3 mg/kg, placental transfer; no fertility studies; testicular toxicity in rat repeat-dose
“In rats, brentuximab vedotin was clearly embryo-foetal toxic, causing loss of almost all embryos at 3 mg/kg and above.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 39Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: no prenatal or postnatal studies submitted, acceptable for relapsed or refractory HL and sALCL
“No carcinogenicity studies, fertility and early embryonic development studies and prenatal or postnatal studies (including maternal function) or studies in which the offspring (juvenile animals) are further dosed and evaluated were submitted, which is acceptable as brentuximab vedotin is intended for the treatment of patients with relapsed or refractory HL and sALCL.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 39Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“Carcinogenicity studies with brentuximab vedotin or the small molecule (MMAE) have not been conducted.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (relapsed or refractory HL and sALCL indication)
“No carcinogenicity studies, fertility and early embryonic development studies and prenatal or postnatal studies (including maternal function) or studies in which the offspring (juvenile animals) are further dosed and evaluated were submitted, which is acceptable as brentuximab vedotin is intended for the treatment of patients with relapsed or refractory HL and sALCL.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 39Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: no carcinogenicity studies submitted, acceptable for relapsed or refractory HL and sALCL
“No carcinogenicity studies, fertility and early embryonic development studies and prenatal or postnatal studies (including maternal function) or studies in which the offspring (juvenile animals) are further dosed and evaluated were submitted, which is acceptable as brentuximab vedotin is intended for the treatment of patients with relapsed or refractory HL and sALCL.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 39Source ↗

Same question, other ADCs

Enhertu

fam-trastuzumab deruxtecan · HER2
Japan and US: multicenter first-in-human study (Study DS8201-A-J101)

Besponsa

inotuzumab ozogamicin · CD22
Not stated in public reviews

Datroway

datopotamab deruxtecan · Trop-2
Not stated in public reviews

Decnupaz

pivekimab sunirine · CD123
Not stated in public reviews

Elahere

mirvetuximab soravtansine · FRα
Not stated in public reviews

Emrelis

telisotuzumab vedotin · c-Met
Not stated in public reviews

Kadcyla

ado-trastuzumab emtansine · HER2
Not stated in public reviews

Mylotarg

gemtuzumab ozogamicin · CD33
Not stated in public reviews

Padcev

enfortumab vedotin · Nectin-4
Not stated in public reviews

Polivy

polatuzumab vedotin · CD79b
Not stated in public reviews

Tivdak

tisotumab vedotin · Tissue factor
Not stated in public reviews

Trodelvy

sacituzumab govitecan · Trop-2
Not stated in public reviews

Zynlonta

loncastuximab tesirine · CD19
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 14 ADCs →