Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Mylotarg: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

gemtuzumab ozogamicin · CD33

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Mylotarg don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for ADCs

ADCs with cytotoxic payloads follow the S9 rules (1/10 STD10 or 1/6 HNSTD of the ADC, scaled by body surface area). For immune agonists, a MABEL-based start dose should be considered instead.

“For example, for cytotoxic payloads, the starting clinical dose can be determined using either 1/10th the Severely Toxic Dose (STD) in 10% of animals (STD10) in rodents or 1/6th the Highest Non- Severely Toxic Dose (HNSTD) in non-rodents, for the ADC based on body surface area, depending on which is the most appropriate and/or sensitive species.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2018: ICH S9 Guideline: Nonclinical Evaluation for Anticancer…, p. 15Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: 6-week NOAEL 2.4 mg/m2/wk monkey, 0.6 rat; 12-week monkey no NOAEL; liver, kidney, marrow, lymphoid, reproductive organs (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 18)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
12-week GLP cynomolgus monkey study (12 weekly IV bolus doses)
“A GLP-compliant general toxicity study in monkeys was also completed in which 12 doses of gemtuzumab ozogamicin were given once weekly by intravenous bolus injection to groups of 3 male and 3 female cynomolgus monkeys at doses of 0 (sterile water), 2.2, 6.6, or 11 mg/m2 /week.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
6-week (weekly IV) rat and monkey with 4-week recovery; 6-cycle monkey cell-line bridging study; 12-week weekly IV monkey
“Rats were administered 6 weekly doses at 0 (PBS control), 7.2 (hP67.6 antibody control), or CL 555,201 (GO) at doses of 0.6, 2.4, or 7.2 mg/m2 /week and observed for an additional 4 weeks.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Rat only (fertility and EFD); FDA agreed one species sufficient after positive pilot study
“Based on the unequivocally positive results obtained from a pilot study, the Agency previously agreed with the Applicant that one species would be sufficient to support an NDA application for CMA-676 in a leukemia indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rat male/female fertility and rat EFD (one species agreed); embryolethal, teratogenic, male fertility impaired; no PPND
“Based on the unequivocally positive results obtained from a pilot study, the Agency previously agreed with the Applicant that one species would be sufficient to support an NDA application for CMA-676 in a leukemia indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Peri- and postnatal studies not conducted
“Since peri- and postnatal studies were not conducted, no information is available on the effect of CMA-676 on parturition, lactation, functional development, locomotion or learning ability.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“Formal carcinogenicity studies have not been conducted with gemtuzumab ozogamicin.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (formal studies); preneoplastic liver oval cell hyperplasia seen in rat toxicity studies
“Formal carcinogenicity studies have not been conducted with gemtuzumab ozogamicin. In toxicity studies, rats developed preneoplastic lesions (minimal to slight oval cell hyperplasia) in the liver”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 50Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted
“No carcinogenicity studies have been conducted with gemtuzumab ozogamicin”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗

Same question, other ADCs

Enhertu

fam-trastuzumab deruxtecan · HER2
Japan and US: multicenter first-in-human study (Study DS8201-A-J101)

Adcetris

brentuximab vedotin · CD30
Not stated in public reviews

Besponsa

inotuzumab ozogamicin · CD22
Not stated in public reviews

Datroway

datopotamab deruxtecan · Trop-2
Not stated in public reviews

Decnupaz

pivekimab sunirine · CD123
Not stated in public reviews

Elahere

mirvetuximab soravtansine · FRα
Not stated in public reviews

Emrelis

telisotuzumab vedotin · c-Met
Not stated in public reviews

Kadcyla

ado-trastuzumab emtansine · HER2
Not stated in public reviews

Padcev

enfortumab vedotin · Nectin-4
Not stated in public reviews

Polivy

polatuzumab vedotin · CD79b
Not stated in public reviews

Tivdak

tisotumab vedotin · Tissue factor
Not stated in public reviews

Trodelvy

sacituzumab govitecan · Trop-2
Not stated in public reviews

Zynlonta

loncastuximab tesirine · CD19
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 14 ADCs →