Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Besponsa: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

inotuzumab ozogamicin · CD22

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Besponsa don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for ADCs

ADCs with cytotoxic payloads follow the S9 rules (1/10 STD10 or 1/6 HNSTD of the ADC, scaled by body surface area). For immune agonists, a MABEL-based start dose should be considered instead.

“For example, for cytotoxic payloads, the starting clinical dose can be determined using either 1/10th the Severely Toxic Dose (STD) in 10% of animals (STD10) in rodents or 1/6th the Highest Non- Severely Toxic Dose (HNSTD) in non-rodents, for the ADC based on body surface area, depending on which is the most appropriate and/or sensitive species.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2018: ICH S9 Guideline: Nonclinical Evaluation for Anticancer…, p. 15Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: No NOAEL in rat or monkey chronic studies; liver (sinusoidal injury), hematolymphoid, reproductive organs; monkey glomerulonephritis death at 5 ug/kg (FDA multi-discipline review, p. 34)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
6-month (26-week) once-weekly IV studies in rat and cynomolgus monkey
“The Applicant conducted repeat-dose toxicity studies of up to 6 months duration in rats and cynomolgus monkeys to investigate the chronic toxicity of inotuzumab ozogamicin;”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 34Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP 4-week and 26-week once-weekly IV studies in rats and cynomolgus monkeys, with 4-week recovery
“In the 6-month cynomolgus monkey study, inotuzumab ozogamicin was administered IV at doses of 0.5, 1.5, or 5 μg/kg once weekly.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 34Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Rat and rabbit (embryo-fetal development)
“Embryo-fetal development studies were conducted in rabbits and rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 35Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rat fertility and rat/rabbit EFD conducted: rat embryo-fetal toxicity (resorptions, low fetal weight); no PPND (ICH S9)
“Embryo-fetal development studies were conducted in rabbits and rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 35Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
PPND not conducted: not required for products to treat advanced cancer
“pre- and postnatal development studies as these studies are not required to support a marketing application for products intended to treat patients with advanced cancer.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 36Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“No carcinogenicity studies were conducted or required to support a marketing application for the current indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 36Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (advanced cancer indication)
“No carcinogenicity studies were conducted or required to support a marketing application for the current indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 36Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required for the current indication; none conducted
“No carcinogenicity studies were conducted or required to support a marketing application for the current indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 36Source ↗

Same question, other ADCs

Enhertu

fam-trastuzumab deruxtecan · HER2
Japan and US: multicenter first-in-human study (Study DS8201-A-J101)

Adcetris

brentuximab vedotin · CD30
Not stated in public reviews

Datroway

datopotamab deruxtecan · Trop-2
Not stated in public reviews

Decnupaz

pivekimab sunirine · CD123
Not stated in public reviews

Elahere

mirvetuximab soravtansine · FRα
Not stated in public reviews

Emrelis

telisotuzumab vedotin · c-Met
Not stated in public reviews

Kadcyla

ado-trastuzumab emtansine · HER2
Not stated in public reviews

Mylotarg

gemtuzumab ozogamicin · CD33
Not stated in public reviews

Padcev

enfortumab vedotin · Nectin-4
Not stated in public reviews

Polivy

polatuzumab vedotin · CD79b
Not stated in public reviews

Tivdak

tisotumab vedotin · Tissue factor
Not stated in public reviews

Trodelvy

sacituzumab govitecan · Trop-2
Not stated in public reviews

Zynlonta

loncastuximab tesirine · CD19
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 14 ADCs →