Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Emrelis: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

telisotuzumab vedotin · c-Met

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Emrelis don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for ADCs

ADCs with cytotoxic payloads follow the S9 rules (1/10 STD10 or 1/6 HNSTD of the ADC, scaled by body surface area). For immune agonists, a MABEL-based start dose should be considered instead.

“For example, for cytotoxic payloads, the starting clinical dose can be determined using either 1/10th the Severely Toxic Dose (STD) in 10% of animals (STD10) in rodents or 1/6th the Highest Non- Severely Toxic Dose (HNSTD) in non-rodents, for the ADC based on body surface area, depending on which is the most appropriate and/or sensitive species.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2018: ICH S9 Guideline: Nonclinical Evaluation for Anticancer…, p. 15Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: 13-week cyno: no adverse findings to 3 mg/kg; 4-week: neutropenia/marrow at ≥6 mg/kg, ovary/uterus ≥3 mg/kg, eye, thymus (FDA multi-discipline review, p. 34)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
13-week GLP cynomolgus monkey IV study (every 2 weeks, seven doses) with 8-week recovery
“In the 13-week GLP-compliant repeat-dose toxicology study in monkeys (Report No. R&D/18/0622, Study No. 2100-287), telisotuzumab vedotin was intravenously administered at doses of 0.5, 1.5, and 3 mg/kg every 2 weeks for a total of seven doses, followed by an 8-week recovery period.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 50Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP IV cyno 4-week (Q3W x2) and 13-week (Q2W x7), 8-week recovery; non-GLP 2-week rat; MMAE rat/monkey studies
“In the 13-week GLP-compliant repeat-dose toxicology study in monkeys (Report No. R&D/18/0622, Study No. 2100-287), telisotuzumab vedotin was intravenously administered at doses of 0.5, 1.5, and 3 mg/kg every 2 weeks for a total of seven doses, followed by an 8-week recovery period.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 50Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted with the ADC (MMAE genotoxic, advanced cancer; ICH S9)
“The Applicant did not conduct reproductive or embryofetal development (EFD) toxicology studies with telisotuzumab vedotin as MMAE is genotoxic and affects rapidly dividing cells and the intended indication is for the treatment of patients with advanced cancer, in accordance with the ICH S9 guidance.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 35Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted with ADC (ICH S9); MMAE rat EFD teratogenic; ovary/uterus and testis findings in repeat-dose
“Reproductive toxicology studies with telisotuzumab vedotin are not warranted to support this application because MMAE is genotoxic and affects actively dividing cells.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 52Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
PPND not conducted (with fertility and EFD studies); ICH S9, advanced cancer
“Fertility and early embryonic development, embryo-fetal development, and prenatal/postnatal development studies were not conducted for telisotuzumab vedotin. In accordance with ICH S9, studies to assess effects on fertility and early embryonic development are not warranted to support marketing of pharmaceuticals intended for the treatment of patients with advanced cancer.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 52Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“Carcinogenicity studies in animals have not been performed with telisotuzumab vedotin-tllv or the small molecule MMAE.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (ADC or MMAE)
“Carcinogenicity studies in animals have not been performed with telisotuzumab vedotin-tllv or the small molecule MMAE.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: FDA agreed carcinogenicity studies not warranted
“FDA agrees that carcinogenicity studies are not warranted to support this application.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 52Source ↗

Same question, other ADCs

Enhertu

fam-trastuzumab deruxtecan · HER2
Japan and US: multicenter first-in-human study (Study DS8201-A-J101)

Adcetris

brentuximab vedotin · CD30
Not stated in public reviews

Besponsa

inotuzumab ozogamicin · CD22
Not stated in public reviews

Datroway

datopotamab deruxtecan · Trop-2
Not stated in public reviews

Decnupaz

pivekimab sunirine · CD123
Not stated in public reviews

Elahere

mirvetuximab soravtansine · FRα
Not stated in public reviews

Kadcyla

ado-trastuzumab emtansine · HER2
Not stated in public reviews

Mylotarg

gemtuzumab ozogamicin · CD33
Not stated in public reviews

Padcev

enfortumab vedotin · Nectin-4
Not stated in public reviews

Polivy

polatuzumab vedotin · CD79b
Not stated in public reviews

Tivdak

tisotumab vedotin · Tissue factor
Not stated in public reviews

Trodelvy

sacituzumab govitecan · Trop-2
Not stated in public reviews

Zynlonta

loncastuximab tesirine · CD19
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 14 ADCs →