Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Kadcyla: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

ado-trastuzumab emtansine · HER2

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Cynomolgus monkey IV study, four doses every 3 weeks (HNSTD 10 mg/kg), with rat data, set the first-in-human starting dose
“In view of these results, the highest non-severely toxic dose (HNSTD) in cynomolgus monkeys was 10 mg/kg for four injections every 3 weeks which was below the no observable adverse effect level in that species and below one-tenth of the severely toxic dose in rats, this information was used to determine a Phase I starting dose in humans.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
First-in-human starting dose
HNSTD-based: monkey HNSTD 10 mg/kg (q3w x4), below 1/10 rat severely toxic dose, used to set Phase I start
“the highest non-severely toxic dose (HNSTD) in cynomolgus monkeys was 10 mg/kg for four injections every 3 weeks which was below the no observable adverse effect level in that species and below one-tenth of the severely toxic dose in rats, this information was used to determine a Phase I starting dose in humans.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
Chronic cynomolgus monkey IV study (8 doses every 3 weeks) with 6-week recovery
“The animals received doses of TDM1 of 0 1, 3, or 10 mg/kg once every three weeks for 8 doses. Half the monkeys were allowed to recover for six weeks after the last dose.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 153Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP cynomolgus IV q3w x4 (12-week) with recovery and chronic q3w x8 with 6-week recovery; single-dose rat and monkey
“The Applicant did a second multidose toxicology study in Cynomolgus monkeys (study 07-0653). The animals received doses of TDM1 of 0 1, 3, or 10 mg/kg once every three weeks for 8 doses.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 153Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted (embryo-fetal studies not required under ICH S9)
“Based on these findings and consistent with ICH S9, embryo-fetal developmental toxicity studies were not required for the indicated patient population.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (ICH S9; relied on trastuzumab data and DM1 mechanism); fertility effects from general tox
“Based on these findings and consistent with ICH S9, embryo-fetal developmental toxicity studies were not required for the indicated patient population.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: no new reproductive toxicity studies after FDA consultation (DM1 genotoxic)
“After consultation with the FDA, the Applicant did not conduct new reproductive toxicity studies with trastuzumab emtansine. The small molecule component, DM1, is a microtubule inhibitor which is genotoxic.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 154Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“Carcinogenicity studies have not been conducted with ado-trastuzumab emtansine.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (not required)
“Not required and not submitted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 132Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required and not submitted
“Not required and not submitted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 132Source ↗

Same question, other ADCs

Enhertu

fam-trastuzumab deruxtecan · HER2
Japan and US: multicenter first-in-human study (Study DS8201-A-J101)

Adcetris

brentuximab vedotin · CD30
Not stated in public reviews

Besponsa

inotuzumab ozogamicin · CD22
Not stated in public reviews

Datroway

datopotamab deruxtecan · Trop-2
Not stated in public reviews

Decnupaz

pivekimab sunirine · CD123
Not stated in public reviews

Elahere

mirvetuximab soravtansine · FRα
Not stated in public reviews

Emrelis

telisotuzumab vedotin · c-Met
Not stated in public reviews

Mylotarg

gemtuzumab ozogamicin · CD33
Not stated in public reviews

Padcev

enfortumab vedotin · Nectin-4
Not stated in public reviews

Polivy

polatuzumab vedotin · CD79b
Not stated in public reviews

Tivdak

tisotumab vedotin · Tissue factor
Not stated in public reviews

Trodelvy

sacituzumab govitecan · Trop-2
Not stated in public reviews

Zynlonta

loncastuximab tesirine · CD19
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 14 ADCs →