Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Enhertu: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

fam-trastuzumab deruxtecan · HER2

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Japan and US: multicenter first-in-human study (Study DS8201-A-J101)
“Study DS8201-A-J101 was a Phase 1, 2-part, multicenter, nonrandomized, open-label, multiple-dose, FIH study of fam-trastuzumab deruxtecan, with study sites in Japan and the US (see Table 19).”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 124Source ↗
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Cynomolgus monkey toxicology studies: first-in-human dose 0.8 mg/kg set at one-twelfth of the HED of the monkey HNSTD
“The FIH dose of 0.8 mg/kg was selected based on one-twelfth of the human equivalent dose of the highest non-severely toxic dose (HNSTD) in cynomolgus monkeys in toxicology studies and was also estimated to provide trough concentration in humans comparable to the minimum effective concentrations in nonclinical studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 80Source ↗
First-in-human starting dose
1/12 HED of monkey HNSTD (0.8 mg/kg), also matching minimum effective trough concentration
“The FIH dose of 0.8 mg/kg was selected based on one-twelfth of the human equivalent dose of the highest non-severely toxic dose (HNSTD) in cynomolgus monkeys in toxicology studies and was also estimated to provide trough concentration in humans comparable to the minimum effective concentrations in nonclinical studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 80Source ↗

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
3-month cynomolgus monkey IV study (every 3 weeks) with 3-month recovery
“Intermittent Dose Toxicity Study in Monkeys Treated Intravenously with DS-8201a Once per 3 Weeks for 3 Months Followed by a 3-Month Recovery Period: SBL315-526”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 50Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Q3W IV GLP: rat 6-week; monkey 6-week (two processes) and 3-month; DXd weekly 4-week rat and monkey; naked antibody
“The Applicant conducted GLP-compliant, repeat-dose general toxicology studies to evaluate the toxicity of DS-8201a, MAAA-1181a, or MAAL-9001 in rats and/or monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 42Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted (ICH S9: genotoxic payload targeting dividing cells; HER2 antibody oligohydramnios)
“As recommended by ICH S9 guidance, embryo-fetal toxicity studies were not conducted based on the justification that these studies are not warranted to support the proposed indication because MAAA-1181a is genotoxic and targets rapidly dividing cells”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 43Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (ICH S9: genotoxic payload, HER2 antibody oligohydramnios); fertility assessed from repeat-dose testis findings
“The Applicant did not conduct any reproductive toxicology studies with DS-8201a.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 43Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
PPND not conducted (ICH S9), along with fertility and EFD studies
“In accordance with ICH S9, no studies were conducted to assess fertility and early embryonic development to implantation, effects on pre and postnatal development, including maternal function, or embryo-fetal developmental toxicity.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 67Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (ICH S9)
“No carcinogenicity studies have been conducted in accordance with ICH S9.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 66Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (ICH S9, advanced cancer indication)
“Carcinogenicity studies have not been conducted with trastuzumab deruxtecan. This is, according to the ICH S9 guideline, not needed for advanced cancer indications, which the current MAA proposed indication indeed is considered to be.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 58Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: FDA agreed carcinogenicity studies not needed
“FDA agrees that carcinogenicity studies are not needed to support this BLA submission.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 66Source ↗

Email me this as a cited memo

Tox package for Enhertu, each with the regulator's own words, the page and a link. Ready to paste into a briefing document or send to your team.

Same question, other ADCs

Adcetris

brentuximab vedotin · CD30
Not stated in public reviews

Besponsa

inotuzumab ozogamicin · CD22
Not stated in public reviews

Datroway

datopotamab deruxtecan · Trop-2
Not stated in public reviews

Decnupaz

pivekimab sunirine · CD123
Not stated in public reviews

Elahere

mirvetuximab soravtansine · FRα
Not stated in public reviews

Emrelis

telisotuzumab vedotin · c-Met
Not stated in public reviews

Kadcyla

ado-trastuzumab emtansine · HER2
Not stated in public reviews

Mylotarg

gemtuzumab ozogamicin · CD33
Not stated in public reviews

Padcev

enfortumab vedotin · Nectin-4
Not stated in public reviews

Polivy

polatuzumab vedotin · CD79b
Not stated in public reviews

Tivdak

tisotumab vedotin · Tissue factor
Not stated in public reviews

Trodelvy

sacituzumab govitecan · Trop-2
Not stated in public reviews

Zynlonta

loncastuximab tesirine · CD19
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 14 ADCs →