Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Datroway: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

datopotamab deruxtecan · Trop-2

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Datroway don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for ADCs

ADCs with cytotoxic payloads follow the S9 rules (1/10 STD10 or 1/6 HNSTD of the ADC, scaled by body surface area). For immune agonists, a MABEL-based start dose should be considered instead.

“For example, for cytotoxic payloads, the starting clinical dose can be determined using either 1/10th the Severely Toxic Dose (STD) in 10% of animals (STD10) in rodents or 1/6th the Highest Non- Severely Toxic Dose (HNSTD) in non-rodents, for the ADC based on body surface area, depending on which is the most appropriate and/or sensitive species.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2018: ICH S9 Guideline: Nonclinical Evaluation for Anticancer…, p. 15Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Monkey NOAEL 10 mg/kg for lung, cornea, skin, liver, thymus (intestinal toxicity at ≥10); rat NOAEL 20-60 mg/kg; ADA limits margins (FDA multi-discipline review, p. 66)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
3-month rat and cynomolgus monkey IV studies (every 3 weeks, five doses) with 2-month recovery
“To assess the general toxicity profile, 3-month intermittent intravenous dose toxicity studies (every 3 weeks (Q3W), five times in total) in rats and monkeys were conducted. The reversibility of toxic changes was also evaluated following a 2-month recovery period in the intermittent dose toxicity studies.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 45Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP 3-month q3w IV: rat (20, 60, 200 mg/kg) and monkey (10, 30, 80 mg/kg), 2-month recovery; DXd 1-month rat and monkey
“Datopotamab deruxtecan was administered i.v. to cynomolgus monkeys at doses of 10, 30 or 80 mg/kg every three weeks on five occasions in a GLP-compliant 3-month toxicity study with a 2-month recovery period, no deaths or moribundity were noted up to 80 mg/kg.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 49Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted (DXd is genotoxic and affects dividing cells)
“The Applicant did not conduct fertility or embryo-fetal development toxicology studies with datopotamab deruxtecan as DXd is genotoxic and affects actively dividing cells, and therefore, these studies are not warranted to support the proposed indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 47Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (genotoxic payload); testis/ovary findings in rat; embryo-fetal toxicity warning
“The Applicant did not conduct fertility or embryo-fetal development toxicology studies with datopotamab deruxtecan as DXd is genotoxic and affects actively dividing cells, and therefore, these studies are not warranted to support the proposed indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 47Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
PPND not conducted (ICH S9)
“In accordance with ICH guideline S9 no prenatal and postnatal development, including maternal function studies were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 57Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“Carcinogenicity studies are not warranted to support the current application.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 47Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (not warranted for advanced cancer application)
“Carcinogenicity studies are not warranted to support the current application.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 47Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: carcinogenicity studies not warranted for this application
“Carcinogenicity studies are not warranted to support the current application.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 47Source ↗

Same question, other ADCs

Enhertu

fam-trastuzumab deruxtecan · HER2
Japan and US: multicenter first-in-human study (Study DS8201-A-J101)

Adcetris

brentuximab vedotin · CD30
Not stated in public reviews

Besponsa

inotuzumab ozogamicin · CD22
Not stated in public reviews

Decnupaz

pivekimab sunirine · CD123
Not stated in public reviews

Elahere

mirvetuximab soravtansine · FRα
Not stated in public reviews

Emrelis

telisotuzumab vedotin · c-Met
Not stated in public reviews

Kadcyla

ado-trastuzumab emtansine · HER2
Not stated in public reviews

Mylotarg

gemtuzumab ozogamicin · CD33
Not stated in public reviews

Padcev

enfortumab vedotin · Nectin-4
Not stated in public reviews

Polivy

polatuzumab vedotin · CD79b
Not stated in public reviews

Tivdak

tisotumab vedotin · Tissue factor
Not stated in public reviews

Trodelvy

sacituzumab govitecan · Trop-2
Not stated in public reviews

Zynlonta

loncastuximab tesirine · CD19
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 14 ADCs →