Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Blincyto: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

blinatumomab · CD19 x CD3

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Blincyto don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for multispecifics

ADCs with cytotoxic payloads follow the S9 rules (1/10 STD10 or 1/6 HNSTD of the ADC, scaled by body surface area). For immune agonists, a MABEL-based start dose should be considered instead.

“For example, for cytotoxic payloads, the starting clinical dose can be determined using either 1/10th the Severely Toxic Dose (STD) in 10% of animals (STD10) in rodents or 1/6th the Highest Non- Severely Toxic Dose (HNSTD) in non-rodents, for the ADC based on body surface area, depending on which is the most appropriate and/or sensitive species.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2018: ICH S9 Guideline: Nonclinical Evaluation for Anticancer…, p. 15Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: No NOAEL assigned; lymphoid tissues target organs (lymphocyte depletion, decreased cellularity); chimp hypotension dose-limiting at 0.12 ug/kg (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 12)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
13-week SC mouse study with murine surrogate muS103new, 4-week recovery
“Therefore, in the 13-week repeat-dose toxicology study in mice, BALB/c mice were administered muS103new (0, 1, or 5 mg/kg/day; 0, 2, or 10 mg/kg/day) by subcutaneous injection twice daily with an 8-hour interval between doses for 13 weeks with a 4-week recovery period.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 82Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
4-week IV and 13-week SC mouse studies (surrogate muS103new); 5-weekly-dose IV infusion chimpanzee study (blinatumomab)
“For this review, the 4-week (summarized) and 13-week studies of muS103new in mice and the 5-weekly dose study of blinatumomab in chimpanzees were reviewed.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 82Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Mouse EFD with murine surrogate only; no fertility studies
“In an embryo-foetal developmental toxicity study performed in mice, the murine surrogate crossed the placenta to a limited extent (foetal-to-maternal serum concentration ratio < 1%) and did not induce embryo-foetal toxicity or teratogenicity.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Mouse EFD with surrogate: placental transfer, no embryo-fetal toxicity or teratogenicity; no fertility studies
“Studies in mice using the surrogate showed no drug-related effects in male or female reproductive organs and did not reveal any embryo-fetal toxicity or teratogenicity.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 5Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
No PPND study; reproductive toxicity limited to mouse EFD with murine surrogate (no reason given)
“Reproductive toxicity studies have not been conducted with blinatumomab. In an embryo-foetal developmental toxicity study performed in mice, the murine surrogate crossed the placenta to a limited extent”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (advanced cancer indication, ICH S9)
“As it is being developed for advanced cancer indications, no carcinogenicity studies have been conducted, in accordance with ICH S9.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (advanced cancer indication, ICH S9)
“As it is being developed for advanced cancer indications, no carcinogenicity studies have been conducted, in accordance with ICH S9.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required for advanced cancer indication (ICH S9)
“As it is being developed for advanced cancer indications, no carcinogenicity studies have been conducted, in accordance with ICH S9.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗

Same question, other multispecifics

Lunsumio

mosunetuzumab · CD20 x CD3
US, Republic of Korea, Canada: dose-escalation part (Group A) of study GO29781 in patients with R/R B-cell NHL

Rybrevant

amivantamab · EGFR x MET
US and ex-US (Australia, Canada, China, France, Japan, Korea, Spain, Taiwan, UK): first-in-human dose escalation/expansion in advanced NSCLC

Talvey

talquetamab · GPRC5D x CD3
US and ex-US (Belgium, France, Germany, Israel, Netherlands, Poland, Korea, Spain): first-in-human dose escalation/expansion

Tecvayli

teclistamab · BCMA x CD3
US and ex-US (Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, UK): first-in-human study

Ziihera

zanidatamab · HER2 x HER2 (biparatopic)
North America and South Korea: first-in-human study ZWI-ZW25-101 in HER2-expressing cancers

Bizengri

zenocutuzumab · HER2 x HER3
Not stated in public reviews

Columvi

glofitamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Elrexfio

elranatamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Epkinly

epcoritamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Hemlibra

emicizumab · FIXa x FX
Not stated in public reviews

Imdelltra

tarlatamab · DLL3 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Kimmtrak

tebentafusp · CD3 x gp100 (TCR fusion)
Not stated in public reviews

Korjuny

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Lynozyfic

linvoseltamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Ordspono

odronextamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Removab

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Vabysmo

faricimab · VEGF-A x Ang-2
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 18 multispecifics →