Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Korjuny: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Korjuny don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for multispecifics

ADCs with cytotoxic payloads follow the S9 rules (1/10 STD10 or 1/6 HNSTD of the ADC, scaled by body surface area). For immune agonists, a MABEL-based start dose should be considered instead.

“For example, for cytotoxic payloads, the starting clinical dose can be determined using either 1/10th the Severely Toxic Dose (STD) in 10% of animals (STD10) in rodents or 1/6th the Highest Non- Severely Toxic Dose (HNSTD) in non-rodents, for the ADC based on body surface area, depending on which is the most appropriate and/or sensitive species.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2018: ICH S9 Guideline: Nonclinical Evaluation for Anticancer…, p. 15Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: BiLu NOAEL 0.2-3.0 µg/kg (~clinical dose); liver, mammary, spleen, marrow, lymphocyte findings; catumaxomab tolerated 1.5 mg/kg mouse, 0.5 mg/kg rat (EMA assessment report, p. 38)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose toxicity study (no appropriate animal species); single/escalating-dose studies only
“Repeat-dose toxicity studies have not been performed with catumaxomab due to the lack of an appropriate animal species.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP single-dose IV: mouse, rat, one cyno (escalating 1-300 µg/kg); BiLu 4-dose escalating mouse; rabbit local tolerance
“Therefore, a limited toxicology programme was performed, i.e. single dose toxicity studies with catumaxomab in mice, rats and cynomolgus.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 37Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted (no appropriate species; late-stage malignancy)
“Studies to investigate reproductive and developmental toxicity have not been performed due to the lack of an appropriate animal species, the intended patient population with late-stage malignant disease.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (no relevant species; late-stage malignancy)
“Studies to investigate reproductive and developmental toxicity have not been performed due to the lack of an appropriate animal species, the intended patient population with late-stage malignant disease.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
No PPND or other DART studies: no appropriate species, late-stage malignancy population
“Studies to investigate reproductive and developmental toxicity have not been performed due to the lack of an appropriate animal species, the intended patient population with late-stage malignant disease.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (ICH S6)
“Standard carcinogenicity studies are generally inappropriate for biotechnology-derived pharmaceuticals according to ICH S6.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (ICH S6); no proliferation of EpCAM+ or CD3+ tumour cells in vitro
“Standard carcinogenicity studies are generally inappropriate for biotechnology-derived pharmaceuticals according to ICH S6. Catumaxomab does not have the potential to induce proliferation of EpCAM-positive or CD3-positive tumour cells (as demonstrated in 2° PD studies in vitro).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (inappropriate for biotechnology-derived products per ICH S6)
“Standard carcinogenicity studies are generally inappropriate for biotechnology-derived pharmaceuticals according to ICH S6.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗

Same question, other multispecifics

Lunsumio

mosunetuzumab · CD20 x CD3
US, Republic of Korea, Canada: dose-escalation part (Group A) of study GO29781 in patients with R/R B-cell NHL

Rybrevant

amivantamab · EGFR x MET
US and ex-US (Australia, Canada, China, France, Japan, Korea, Spain, Taiwan, UK): first-in-human dose escalation/expansion in advanced NSCLC

Talvey

talquetamab · GPRC5D x CD3
US and ex-US (Belgium, France, Germany, Israel, Netherlands, Poland, Korea, Spain): first-in-human dose escalation/expansion

Tecvayli

teclistamab · BCMA x CD3
US and ex-US (Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, UK): first-in-human study

Ziihera

zanidatamab · HER2 x HER2 (biparatopic)
North America and South Korea: first-in-human study ZWI-ZW25-101 in HER2-expressing cancers

Bizengri

zenocutuzumab · HER2 x HER3
Not stated in public reviews

Blincyto

blinatumomab · CD19 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Columvi

glofitamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Elrexfio

elranatamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Epkinly

epcoritamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Hemlibra

emicizumab · FIXa x FX
Not stated in public reviews

Imdelltra

tarlatamab · DLL3 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Kimmtrak

tebentafusp · CD3 x gp100 (TCR fusion)
Not stated in public reviews

Lynozyfic

linvoseltamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Ordspono

odronextamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Removab

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Vabysmo

faricimab · VEGF-A x Ang-2
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 18 multispecifics →