Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Epkinly: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

epcoritamab · CD20 x CD3

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Epkinly don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for multispecifics

ADCs with cytotoxic payloads follow the S9 rules (1/10 STD10 or 1/6 HNSTD of the ADC, scaled by body surface area). For immune agonists, a MABEL-based start dose should be considered instead.

“For example, for cytotoxic payloads, the starting clinical dose can be determined using either 1/10th the Severely Toxic Dose (STD) in 10% of animals (STD10) in rodents or 1/6th the Highest Non- Severely Toxic Dose (HNSTD) in non-rodents, for the ADC based on body surface area, depending on which is the most appropriate and/or sensitive species.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2018: ICH S9 Guideline: Nonclinical Evaluation for Anticancer…, p. 15Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: NOAEL 0.1 mg/kg IV, 10 mg/kg SC; cytokine-related clinical signs, one death at 1 mg/kg IV; lymphoid depletion (EMA assessment report, p. 36)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
5-week IV/SC cynomolgus monkey study with 6-week recovery
“Study: A 5-Week Toxicity Study of GEN3013 by Intravenous Infusion and Subcutaneous Injection in Cynomolgus Monkeys with Bioavailability, Local Tolerance, and a 6 Week Recovery Period”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 53Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP 5-week monkey study (weekly IV, single IV, monthly SC) with 6-week recovery; 3-month study waived (ADA)
“Study: A 5-Week Toxicity Study of GEN3013 by Intravenous Infusion and Subcutaneous Injection in Cynomolgus Monkeys with Bioavailability, Local Tolerance, and a 6 Week Recovery Period / 503484 / eCTD location 4.2.3.2”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 53Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted; monkey EFD study waived due to high immunogenicity in cynomolgus monkeys; weight-of-evidence assessment
“An EFD toxicity study of epcoritamab in cynomolgus monkeys was waived for phase 3 trials and registration of epcoritamab across ICH regions (FDA, EMEA, and PMDA) given the high potential for immunogenicity of epcoritamab in cynomolgus monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 57Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted; EFD waived due to monkey immunogenicity; WOE assessment; no reproductive organ findings in 5-week study
“An EFD toxicity study of epcoritamab in cynomolgus monkeys was waived for phase 3 trials and registration of epcoritamab across ICH regions (FDA, EMEA, and PMDA) given the high potential for immunogenicity of epcoritamab in cynomolgus monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 57Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
No PPND study, per ICH S9 (advanced cancer); EFD also waived
“Per ICH S9, studies of fertility and early embryonic development, and pre- and postnatal toxicity were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 57Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (ICH S6(R1), S1A, S9)
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted for epcoritamab per ICHS6(R1), ICH S1A, and ICH S9 guidance.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 57Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (ICH S6(R1), S1A, S9)
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted for epcoritamab per ICHS6(R1), ICH S1A, and ICH S9 guidance.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 57Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required; FDA agreed carcinogenicity studies not needed for approval
“We agree that carcinogenicity studies are not needed to support the approval of BLA 761324.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 57Source ↗

Email me this as a cited memo

Tox package for Epkinly, each with the regulator's own words, the page and a link. Ready to paste into a briefing document or send to your team.

Same question, other multispecifics

Lunsumio

mosunetuzumab · CD20 x CD3
US, Republic of Korea, Canada: dose-escalation part (Group A) of study GO29781 in patients with R/R B-cell NHL

Rybrevant

amivantamab · EGFR x MET
US and ex-US (Australia, Canada, China, France, Japan, Korea, Spain, Taiwan, UK): first-in-human dose escalation/expansion in advanced NSCLC

Talvey

talquetamab · GPRC5D x CD3
US and ex-US (Belgium, France, Germany, Israel, Netherlands, Poland, Korea, Spain): first-in-human dose escalation/expansion

Tecvayli

teclistamab · BCMA x CD3
US and ex-US (Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, UK): first-in-human study

Ziihera

zanidatamab · HER2 x HER2 (biparatopic)
North America and South Korea: first-in-human study ZWI-ZW25-101 in HER2-expressing cancers

Bizengri

zenocutuzumab · HER2 x HER3
Not stated in public reviews

Blincyto

blinatumomab · CD19 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Columvi

glofitamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Elrexfio

elranatamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Hemlibra

emicizumab · FIXa x FX
Not stated in public reviews

Imdelltra

tarlatamab · DLL3 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Kimmtrak

tebentafusp · CD3 x gp100 (TCR fusion)
Not stated in public reviews

Korjuny

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Lynozyfic

linvoseltamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Ordspono

odronextamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Removab

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Vabysmo

faricimab · VEGF-A x Ang-2
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 18 multispecifics →