Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Rybrevant: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

amivantamab · EGFR x MET

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
US and ex-US (Australia, Canada, China, France, Japan, Korea, Spain, Taiwan, UK): first-in-human dose escalation/expansion in advanced NSCLC
“Ongoing Australia, Canada, China, France, Japan, Republic of Korea, Spain, Taiwan, UK, US 53 Phase 1 First-in-human, openlabel, 2- part, dose escalation and dose expansion, multicenter study Men and women ≥18 years of age with histologically or cytologically confirmed advanced NSCLC”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 60Source ↗
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
6-week GLP cynomolgus monkey IV study (0, 20, 60, 120 mg/kg/week) reviewed with the original IND
“Dr. Stephanie Aungst reviewed the 6-week GLP-compliant repeat dose toxicology study in cynomolgus monkeys dosed with JNJ-61186372 at 0, 20, 60, and 120 mg/kg/week at the time of original IND submission;”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 60Source ↗
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Rybrevant don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for multispecifics

ADCs with cytotoxic payloads follow the S9 rules (1/10 STD10 or 1/6 HNSTD of the ADC, scaled by body surface area). For immune agonists, a MABEL-based start dose should be considered instead.

“For example, for cytotoxic payloads, the starting clinical dose can be determined using either 1/10th the Severely Toxic Dose (STD) in 10% of animals (STD10) in rodents or 1/6th the Highest Non- Severely Toxic Dose (HNSTD) in non-rodents, for the ADC based on body surface area, depending on which is the most appropriate and/or sensitive species.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2018: ICH S9 Guideline: Nonclinical Evaluation for Anticancer…, p. 15Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: NOAEL 120 mg/kg/wk (highest dose; >=5.3x human AUC); minimal liver, kidney, stomach findings (FDA multi-discipline review, p. 57)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
13-week GLP cynomolgus monkey IV study, weekly 60 or 120 mg/kg
“Janssen conducted a GLP-compliant 13-week toxicology study in cynomolgus monkeys. Monkeys received intravenous amivantamab once weekly at doses of 0, 60, or 120 mg/kg.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 37Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Cynomolgus IV weekly: 4-week non-GLP tolerability, 6-week GLP (6-week recovery), 13-week GLP; 2-week SC local tolerance
“The repeat-dose toxicity of amivantamab in cynomolgus monkeys was evaluated in a 4-week tolerability non-GLP study, and 6-week toxicity with 6-week recovery and 13-week toxicity GLP studies.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 37Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted; weight-of-evidence assessment instead
“Rather than conducting a dedicated embryofetal development study, Janssen provided a weight-of-evidence-based assessment of the potential for amivantamab to cause reproductive and embryofetal toxicity.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 37Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted; weight-of-evidence (EGFR/MET knockouts, lazertinib rat EFD, zalutumumab monkey EFD); embryofetal warning
“Rather than conducting a dedicated embryofetal development study, Janssen provided a weight-of-evidence-based assessment of the potential for amivantamab to cause reproductive and embryofetal toxicity.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 37Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: fertility and pre-/postnatal development studies not necessary for the BLA in this indication
“fertility and early embryonic development and prenatal and postnatal development studies are not necessary for the submission of a BLA for the proposed indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 61Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (not necessary for advanced cancer)
“In addition, Janssen did not conduct dedicated studies to assess fertility or carcinogenicity as these studies are not necessary to support the development of a drug intended to treat patients with advanced cancer.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 37Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (not necessary for advanced cancer)
“In addition, Janssen did not conduct dedicated studies to assess fertility or carcinogenicity as these studies are not necessary to support the development of a drug intended to treat patients with advanced cancer.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 37Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (advanced cancer)
“In addition, Janssen did not conduct dedicated studies to assess fertility or carcinogenicity as these studies are not necessary to support the development of a drug intended to treat patients with advanced cancer.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 37Source ↗

Same question, other multispecifics

Lunsumio

mosunetuzumab · CD20 x CD3
US, Republic of Korea, Canada: dose-escalation part (Group A) of study GO29781 in patients with R/R B-cell NHL

Talvey

talquetamab · GPRC5D x CD3
US and ex-US (Belgium, France, Germany, Israel, Netherlands, Poland, Korea, Spain): first-in-human dose escalation/expansion

Tecvayli

teclistamab · BCMA x CD3
US and ex-US (Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, UK): first-in-human study

Ziihera

zanidatamab · HER2 x HER2 (biparatopic)
North America and South Korea: first-in-human study ZWI-ZW25-101 in HER2-expressing cancers

Bizengri

zenocutuzumab · HER2 x HER3
Not stated in public reviews

Blincyto

blinatumomab · CD19 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Columvi

glofitamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Elrexfio

elranatamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Epkinly

epcoritamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Hemlibra

emicizumab · FIXa x FX
Not stated in public reviews

Imdelltra

tarlatamab · DLL3 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Kimmtrak

tebentafusp · CD3 x gp100 (TCR fusion)
Not stated in public reviews

Korjuny

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Lynozyfic

linvoseltamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Ordspono

odronextamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Removab

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Vabysmo

faricimab · VEGF-A x Ang-2
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 18 multispecifics →