Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Kimmtrak: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

tebentafusp · CD3 x gp100 (TCR fusion)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Kimmtrak don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for multispecifics

ADCs with cytotoxic payloads follow the S9 rules (1/10 STD10 or 1/6 HNSTD of the ADC, scaled by body surface area). For immune agonists, a MABEL-based start dose should be considered instead.

“For example, for cytotoxic payloads, the starting clinical dose can be determined using either 1/10th the Severely Toxic Dose (STD) in 10% of animals (STD10) in rodents or 1/6th the Highest Non- Severely Toxic Dose (HNSTD) in non-rodents, for the ADC based on body surface area, depending on which is the most appropriate and/or sensitive species.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2018: ICH S9 Guideline: Nonclinical Evaluation for Anticancer…, p. 15Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: No NOAEL (no animal tox); in vitro reactivity vs melanocytes at 10-100 pM, loss of specificity from 1 nM (FDA multi-discipline review, p. 41)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (human HLA-restricted; all toxicology in vitro)
“Tebentafusp can only recognize human HLA; therefore, all nonclinical toxicology studies were conducted in vitro.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 44Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
No in vivo tox; GLP human tissue cross-reactivity (35 tissues) plus in vitro normal-cell, alloreactivity, whole-blood cytokine, platelet assays
“Tebentafusp was also investigated in toxicology studies to assess its cross‐reactivity with normal tissues in a GLP‐compliant tissue cross‐reactivity study.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 45Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted (specificity for human targets)
“Due to the specificity for human targets, embryo-fetal development (EFD) studies cannot be conducted in nonclinical species.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 30Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (no relevant species); weight-of-evidence; FDA concluded possible fetal harm to skin, inner ear, eye
“Due to the specificity for human targets, embryo-fetal development (EFD) studies cannot be conducted in nonclinical species. Therefore, a weight of evidence assessment was conducted to evaluate the risk of tebentafusp administration on pregnancy and embryo-fetal development.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 46Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
No PPND or other in vivo DART studies (no relevant species); weight-of-evidence assessment
“Due to the specificity for human targets, embryo-fetal development (EFD) studies cannot be conducted in nonclinical species. Therefore, a weight of evidence assessment was conducted to evaluate the risk of tebentafusp administration on pregnancy and embryo-fetal development.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 46Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“No carcinogenicity or genotoxicity studies have been conducted with tebentafusp-tebn.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (not warranted for the advanced-cancer indication)
“The FDA’s Assessment: Carcinogenicity studies were not warranted for the proposed indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 46Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required for the proposed indication
“The FDA’s Assessment: Carcinogenicity studies were not warranted for the proposed indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 46Source ↗

Email me this as a cited memo

Tox package for Kimmtrak, each with the regulator's own words, the page and a link. Ready to paste into a briefing document or send to your team.

Same question, other multispecifics

Lunsumio

mosunetuzumab · CD20 x CD3
US, Republic of Korea, Canada: dose-escalation part (Group A) of study GO29781 in patients with R/R B-cell NHL

Rybrevant

amivantamab · EGFR x MET
US and ex-US (Australia, Canada, China, France, Japan, Korea, Spain, Taiwan, UK): first-in-human dose escalation/expansion in advanced NSCLC

Talvey

talquetamab · GPRC5D x CD3
US and ex-US (Belgium, France, Germany, Israel, Netherlands, Poland, Korea, Spain): first-in-human dose escalation/expansion

Tecvayli

teclistamab · BCMA x CD3
US and ex-US (Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, UK): first-in-human study

Ziihera

zanidatamab · HER2 x HER2 (biparatopic)
North America and South Korea: first-in-human study ZWI-ZW25-101 in HER2-expressing cancers

Bizengri

zenocutuzumab · HER2 x HER3
Not stated in public reviews

Blincyto

blinatumomab · CD19 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Columvi

glofitamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Elrexfio

elranatamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Epkinly

epcoritamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Hemlibra

emicizumab · FIXa x FX
Not stated in public reviews

Imdelltra

tarlatamab · DLL3 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Korjuny

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Lynozyfic

linvoseltamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Ordspono

odronextamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Removab

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Vabysmo

faricimab · VEGF-A x Ang-2
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 18 multispecifics →