Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Ziihera: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

zanidatamab · HER2 x HER2 (biparatopic)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
North America and South Korea: first-in-human study ZWI-ZW25-101 in HER2-expressing cancers
“Supportive ZWI-ZW25-101 (Phase 1) NCT02892123 N Am (12) S Korea (5) Locally advanced (unresectable) and/or metastatic HER2-expressing cancers”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 65Source ↗
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Ziihera don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for multispecifics

ADCs with cytotoxic payloads follow the S9 rules (1/10 STD10 or 1/6 HNSTD of the ADC, scaled by body surface area). For immune agonists, a MABEL-based start dose should be considered instead.

“For example, for cytotoxic payloads, the starting clinical dose can be determined using either 1/10th the Severely Toxic Dose (STD) in 10% of animals (STD10) in rodents or 1/6th the Highest Non- Severely Toxic Dose (HNSTD) in non-rodents, for the ADC based on body surface area, depending on which is the most appropriate and/or sensitive species.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2018: ICH S9 Guideline: Nonclinical Evaluation for Anticancer…, p. 15Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: NOAEL 150 mg/kg QW x13 weeks (highest dose); only non-adverse soft/watery feces, mild BUN increase (FDA multi-discipline review, p. 44)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
13-week weekly IV GLP cynomolgus monkey study (8-week interim termination) with 8-week recovery
“ZW25: A 13-Week Intravenous Infusion Toxicity Study With an 8-Week Interim Termination in Cynomolgus Monkeys With 8-Week Recovery Periods (GLP).”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 42Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP cynomolgus 13-week weekly IV infusion study (8-week interim, 8-week recovery), 5/50/150 mg/kg
“Doses of 0 (vehicle control), 5, 50, and 150 mg/kg QW Route of administration: 1 hour IV infusion Formulation/Vehicle: sucrose, pH Species/Strain: Cynomolgus monkey”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 44Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted; HER2 antibody class embryo-fetal toxicity (weight of evidence)
“Consequently, the conduct of de novo developmental and reproductive toxicity (DART) studies is not warranted for zanidatamab.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 46Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted; weight-of-evidence, HER2 antibody class embryo-fetal toxicant (oligohydramnios)
“Consequently, the conduct of de novo developmental and reproductive toxicity (DART) studies is not warranted for zanidatamab.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 46Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: de novo developmental and reproductive toxicity studies not warranted (zanidatamab considered an embryofetal toxicant)
“Jazz proposes that zanidatamab should be considered an embryofetal toxicant. Consequently, the conduct of de novo developmental and reproductive toxicity (DART) studies is not warranted for zanidatamab.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 46Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (ICH S9)
“No carcinogenicity studies have been conducted with zanidatamab.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 45Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (ICH S9; advanced cancer, no mechanistic concern)
“Thus, given the intended patient population and lack of mechanistic concern, carcinogenicity studies are not planned with zanidatamab (ICH S9)”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 46Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required; FDA: carcinogenicity studies not warranted
“Carcinogenicity studies were not warranted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 46Source ↗

Same question, other multispecifics

Lunsumio

mosunetuzumab · CD20 x CD3
US, Republic of Korea, Canada: dose-escalation part (Group A) of study GO29781 in patients with R/R B-cell NHL

Rybrevant

amivantamab · EGFR x MET
US and ex-US (Australia, Canada, China, France, Japan, Korea, Spain, Taiwan, UK): first-in-human dose escalation/expansion in advanced NSCLC

Talvey

talquetamab · GPRC5D x CD3
US and ex-US (Belgium, France, Germany, Israel, Netherlands, Poland, Korea, Spain): first-in-human dose escalation/expansion

Tecvayli

teclistamab · BCMA x CD3
US and ex-US (Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, UK): first-in-human study

Bizengri

zenocutuzumab · HER2 x HER3
Not stated in public reviews

Blincyto

blinatumomab · CD19 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Columvi

glofitamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Elrexfio

elranatamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Epkinly

epcoritamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Hemlibra

emicizumab · FIXa x FX
Not stated in public reviews

Imdelltra

tarlatamab · DLL3 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Kimmtrak

tebentafusp · CD3 x gp100 (TCR fusion)
Not stated in public reviews

Korjuny

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Lynozyfic

linvoseltamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Ordspono

odronextamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Removab

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Vabysmo

faricimab · VEGF-A x Ang-2
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 18 multispecifics →