Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Removab: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Removab don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for multispecifics

ADCs with cytotoxic payloads follow the S9 rules (1/10 STD10 or 1/6 HNSTD of the ADC, scaled by body surface area). For immune agonists, a MABEL-based start dose should be considered instead.

“For example, for cytotoxic payloads, the starting clinical dose can be determined using either 1/10th the Severely Toxic Dose (STD) in 10% of animals (STD10) in rodents or 1/6th the Highest Non- Severely Toxic Dose (HNSTD) in non-rodents, for the ADC based on body surface area, depending on which is the most appropriate and/or sensitive species.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2018: ICH S9 Guideline: Nonclinical Evaluation for Anticancer…, p. 15Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: No NOAEL for catumaxomab; no acute toxicity at high single doses; surrogate BiLu suggested liver toxicity (EMA assessment report, p. 16)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose toxicology study (no relevant species)
“The most notable consequence of the inability to find a relevant species is that the present application does not contain repeated dose toxicology studies of catumaxomab.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 10Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
No repeat-dose studies; single-dose catumaxomab in mice, rats, one cynomolgus; BiLu single-dose mouse; rabbit local tolerance
“In the few studies performed in rats, mice and one cynomolgus monkey, no acute toxicity was seen even at very high doses of catumaxomab.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 14Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted (not submitted)
“Reproductive and developmental toxicity studies have not been submitted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 14Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (not submitted)
“Reproductive and developmental toxicity studies have not been submitted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 14Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: reproductive and developmental toxicity studies not submitted
“Reproductive and developmental toxicity studies have not been submitted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 14Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (not submitted)
“Carcinogenicity studies have not been submitted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 14Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (not submitted)
“Carcinogenicity studies have not been submitted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 14Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: absence of studies accepted given no suitable animal models
“The absence of many non￾clinical studies is considered acceptable for an antibody, given the absence of suitable animal models.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 15Source ↗

Same question, other multispecifics

Lunsumio

mosunetuzumab · CD20 x CD3
US, Republic of Korea, Canada: dose-escalation part (Group A) of study GO29781 in patients with R/R B-cell NHL

Rybrevant

amivantamab · EGFR x MET
US and ex-US (Australia, Canada, China, France, Japan, Korea, Spain, Taiwan, UK): first-in-human dose escalation/expansion in advanced NSCLC

Talvey

talquetamab · GPRC5D x CD3
US and ex-US (Belgium, France, Germany, Israel, Netherlands, Poland, Korea, Spain): first-in-human dose escalation/expansion

Tecvayli

teclistamab · BCMA x CD3
US and ex-US (Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, UK): first-in-human study

Ziihera

zanidatamab · HER2 x HER2 (biparatopic)
North America and South Korea: first-in-human study ZWI-ZW25-101 in HER2-expressing cancers

Bizengri

zenocutuzumab · HER2 x HER3
Not stated in public reviews

Blincyto

blinatumomab · CD19 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Columvi

glofitamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Elrexfio

elranatamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Epkinly

epcoritamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Hemlibra

emicizumab · FIXa x FX
Not stated in public reviews

Imdelltra

tarlatamab · DLL3 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Kimmtrak

tebentafusp · CD3 x gp100 (TCR fusion)
Not stated in public reviews

Korjuny

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Lynozyfic

linvoseltamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Ordspono

odronextamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Vabysmo

faricimab · VEGF-A x Ang-2
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 18 multispecifics →