Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Talvey: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

talquetamab · GPRC5D x CD3

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
US and ex-US (Belgium, France, Germany, Israel, Netherlands, Poland, Korea, Spain): first-in-human dose escalation/expansion
“Study Location: This study was conducted at 47 centers that treated at least 1 participant in Belgium, France, Germany, Israel, the Netherlands, Poland, Republic of Korea, Spain, and the United States.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 111Source ↗
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Talvey don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for multispecifics

ADCs with cytotoxic payloads follow the S9 rules (1/10 STD10 or 1/6 HNSTD of the ADC, scaled by body surface area). For immune agonists, a MABEL-based start dose should be considered instead.

“For example, for cytotoxic payloads, the starting clinical dose can be determined using either 1/10th the Severely Toxic Dose (STD) in 10% of animals (STD10) in rodents or 1/6th the Highest Non- Severely Toxic Dose (HNSTD) in non-rodents, for the ADC based on body surface area, depending on which is the most appropriate and/or sensitive species.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2018: ICH S9 Guideline: Nonclinical Evaluation for Anticancer…, p. 15Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: No adverse effects up to 30 mg/kg weekly (highest dose); transient lymphocyte decrease, increased globulins, fibrinogen, IL-10 (FDA multi-discipline review, p. 55)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
4-week (weekly x4) IV cynomolgus monkey study with tool molecule JNJ-64024701; no recovery period
“Monkeys were administered JNJ￾64024701 as a once weekly (QW x 4) IV bolus injection (0 [control], 10, or 30 mg/kg), followed by sacrifice and necropsy on Day 29; there was no recovery period.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 43Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
1-month GLP IV study of tool molecule in cynomolgus monkey (0, 10, 30 mg/kg weekly x4); non-GLP 4-week talquetamab tolerability study
“JNJ-64024701 (GCDB32 GPRC5DxCD3): A 1-Month GLP Intravenous Toxicity and Toxicokinetic Study in Cynomolgus Monkeys / Study T-2017-009”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 55Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted: monkey EFD/enhanced PPND with talquetamab or tool molecule judged not feasible (weight-of-evidence)
“Based on a weight-of-evidence risk assessment (Mod2.6.6/Sec6.2), an embryo-fetal development or enhanced pre- and postnatal development study in cynomolgus monkeys with talquetamab or the tool molecule would not be feasible nor further inform pregnancy risk to multiple myeloma patients.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 57Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (weight-of-evidence assessment; ADA limits exposure, no relevant species); reproductive organs examined in repeat-dose study
“We agree with the Applicant’s WOE-based approach for the assessment of reproductive and developmental toxicity.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 58Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: monkey EFD or enhanced PPND with talquetamab or tool molecule judged not feasible and uninformative (weight of evidence)
“Based on a weight-of-evidence risk assessment (Mod2.6.6/Sec6.2), an embryo-fetal development or enhanced pre- and postnatal development study in cynomolgus monkeys with talquetamab or the tool molecule would not be feasible nor further inform pregnancy risk to multiple myeloma patients.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 57Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (ICH S9, advanced cancer)
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with talquetamab. As indicated in the ICH S9 guidance, carcinogenicity studies are not warranted to support marketing for therapeutics intended to treat patients with advanced cancer.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 57Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (ICH S9, advanced cancer)
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with talquetamab. As indicated in the ICH S9 guidance, carcinogenicity studies are not warranted to support marketing for therapeutics intended to treat patients with advanced cancer.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 57Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (FDA agrees not warranted)
“We agree that carcinogenicity studies are not warranted to support the approval of BLA 761342.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 57Source ↗

Email me this as a cited memo

Tox package for Talvey, each with the regulator's own words, the page and a link. Ready to paste into a briefing document or send to your team.

Same question, other multispecifics

Lunsumio

mosunetuzumab · CD20 x CD3
US, Republic of Korea, Canada: dose-escalation part (Group A) of study GO29781 in patients with R/R B-cell NHL

Rybrevant

amivantamab · EGFR x MET
US and ex-US (Australia, Canada, China, France, Japan, Korea, Spain, Taiwan, UK): first-in-human dose escalation/expansion in advanced NSCLC

Tecvayli

teclistamab · BCMA x CD3
US and ex-US (Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, UK): first-in-human study

Ziihera

zanidatamab · HER2 x HER2 (biparatopic)
North America and South Korea: first-in-human study ZWI-ZW25-101 in HER2-expressing cancers

Bizengri

zenocutuzumab · HER2 x HER3
Not stated in public reviews

Blincyto

blinatumomab · CD19 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Columvi

glofitamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Elrexfio

elranatamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Epkinly

epcoritamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Hemlibra

emicizumab · FIXa x FX
Not stated in public reviews

Imdelltra

tarlatamab · DLL3 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Kimmtrak

tebentafusp · CD3 x gp100 (TCR fusion)
Not stated in public reviews

Korjuny

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Lynozyfic

linvoseltamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Ordspono

odronextamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Removab

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Vabysmo

faricimab · VEGF-A x Ang-2
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 18 multispecifics →