Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Elrexfio: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

elranatamab · BCMA x CD3

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Elrexfio don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for multispecifics

ADCs with cytotoxic payloads follow the S9 rules (1/10 STD10 or 1/6 HNSTD of the ADC, scaled by body surface area). For immune agonists, a MABEL-based start dose should be considered instead.

“For example, for cytotoxic payloads, the starting clinical dose can be determined using either 1/10th the Severely Toxic Dose (STD) in 10% of animals (STD10) in rodents or 1/6th the Highest Non- Severely Toxic Dose (HNSTD) in non-rodents, for the ADC based on body surface area, depending on which is the most appropriate and/or sensitive species.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2018: ICH S9 Guideline: Nonclinical Evaluation for Anticancer…, p. 15Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: No NOAEL in 3-month SC study (immunosuppression, infections, moribundity at all doses); NOAEL 0.3 mg/kg/wk in 1-month studies (FDA multi-discipline review, p. 58)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
3-month (13-week) SC cynomolgus monkey study (14 weekly doses), no recovery phase
“Cynomolgus monkeys (3/sex/group, 5-8 years of age, sexually mature, Mauritius origin) were administered elranatamab at 0, 0.3, 3 and 6 mg/kg SC, Q1W for 14 doses. Scheduled necropsy was performed on Day 93; one day after the last dose. A recovery period was not included.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 41Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP cynomolgus: 1-month IV (0.01-0.3 mg/kg/wk), 1-month SC (0.3 mg/kg/wk), 3-month SC (0.3, 3, 6 mg/kg/wk); no recovery
“Recovery was not assessed in any of the general toxicology studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 48Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted (no stand-alone studies); reproductive organs assessed in repeat-dose monkey studies
“Stand-alone reproductive and development toxicity studies have not been conducted with elranatamab. Effects on reproductive organs were assessed as part of the repeat-dose toxicity studies.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 43Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (weight-of-evidence); reproductive organs assessed in 3-month monkey study, no effects
“Embryofetal developmental toxicity was evaluated using a weight of evidence (WOE) risk assessment”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 48Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
No PPND or other DART studies; reproductive organs assessed in monkey studies plus weight-of-evidence assessment
“No reproductive and/or developmental toxicity studies have been conducted with elranatamab. Effects on reproductive organs were assessed in pivotal studies using sexually mature male and female cynomolgus monkeys. Additionally, an integrated weight of evidence assessment was conducted to evaluate the potential for elranatamab to elicit developmental effects.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 65Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (ICH S9, ICH S6(R1))
“Carcinogenicity studies with elranatamab have not been conducted since they are generally not required for advanced cancer and protein-based biotherapeutics per ICH S9 and ICH S6(R1), respectively.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 43Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (ICH S9, ICH S6(R1))
“Carcinogenicity studies with elranatamab have not been conducted since they are generally not required for advanced cancer and protein-based biotherapeutics per ICH S9 and ICH S6(R1), respectively.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 43Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required for advanced cancer and protein-based biotherapeutics
“Carcinogenicity studies with elranatamab have not been conducted since they are generally not required for advanced cancer and protein-based biotherapeutics per ICH S9 and ICH S6(R1), respectively.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 43Source ↗

Same question, other multispecifics

Lunsumio

mosunetuzumab · CD20 x CD3
US, Republic of Korea, Canada: dose-escalation part (Group A) of study GO29781 in patients with R/R B-cell NHL

Rybrevant

amivantamab · EGFR x MET
US and ex-US (Australia, Canada, China, France, Japan, Korea, Spain, Taiwan, UK): first-in-human dose escalation/expansion in advanced NSCLC

Talvey

talquetamab · GPRC5D x CD3
US and ex-US (Belgium, France, Germany, Israel, Netherlands, Poland, Korea, Spain): first-in-human dose escalation/expansion

Tecvayli

teclistamab · BCMA x CD3
US and ex-US (Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, UK): first-in-human study

Ziihera

zanidatamab · HER2 x HER2 (biparatopic)
North America and South Korea: first-in-human study ZWI-ZW25-101 in HER2-expressing cancers

Bizengri

zenocutuzumab · HER2 x HER3
Not stated in public reviews

Blincyto

blinatumomab · CD19 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Columvi

glofitamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Epkinly

epcoritamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Hemlibra

emicizumab · FIXa x FX
Not stated in public reviews

Imdelltra

tarlatamab · DLL3 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Kimmtrak

tebentafusp · CD3 x gp100 (TCR fusion)
Not stated in public reviews

Korjuny

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Lynozyfic

linvoseltamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Ordspono

odronextamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Removab

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Vabysmo

faricimab · VEGF-A x Ang-2
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 18 multispecifics →