Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Imdelltra: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

tarlatamab · DLL3 x CD3

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Imdelltra don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for multispecifics

ADCs with cytotoxic payloads follow the S9 rules (1/10 STD10 or 1/6 HNSTD of the ADC, scaled by body surface area). For immune agonists, a MABEL-based start dose should be considered instead.

“For example, for cytotoxic payloads, the starting clinical dose can be determined using either 1/10th the Severely Toxic Dose (STD) in 10% of animals (STD10) in rodents or 1/6th the Highest Non- Severely Toxic Dose (HNSTD) in non-rodents, for the ADC based on body surface area, depending on which is the most appropriate and/or sensitive species.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2018: ICH S9 Guideline: Nonclinical Evaluation for Anticancer…, p. 15Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: HNSTD 4500 µg/kg (maximum feasible dose); lymphocyte decreases, transient heart rate increase, pituitary mononuclear infiltrates (FDA multi-discipline review, p. 65)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
3-month (13-week) weekly IV cynomolgus monkey study; recovery phase not stated
“Tarlatamab: 3-Month Intravenous Toxicology Study in the Cynomolgus Monkey / Study Number: 122516 /eCTD location: Module 4.2.3.2 Key Drug-related Adverse Findings No adverse effects on any toxicology or safety pharmacology parameters evaluated at up to the high dose of 4500 µg/kg weekly for 3 months.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 67Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP cynomolgus 28-day (with 28-day recovery) and 3-month weekly IV studies up to 4500 µg/kg; non-GLP 10-day study; mouse surrogate 1-month
“The nonclinical safety assessment of tarlatamab was based on a 10-day exploratory as well as 28-day GLP and 3-month GLP repeat-dose IV toxicology studies with once weekly doses of up to 4500 µg/kg.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 64Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Mouse EFD study with surrogate muS757
“Following the proposal of the FDA, a murine surrogate molecule of tarlatamab, designated muS757, was developed to evaluate potential effects of a DLL3-targeting BiTE molecule on embryofetal development in mice.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 73Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Mouse EFD study with surrogate muS757 (GD6, GD13): no maternal or EFD toxicity up to 4500 µg/kg; placental transfer; no fertility studies
“Two administrations of a tarlatamab surrogate, mus757, that binds mouse CD3 and DLL3, to pregnant mice on gestational days (GD) 6 and GD 13 did not result in maternal toxicity or embryo-fetal development toxicity at doses ≤4500 µg/kg.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 50Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
No PPND study; reproduction testing limited to mouse EFD with murine surrogate
“Animal reproduction studies have not been conducted with tarlatamab-dlle. In an embryo-fetal developmental toxicity study, a murine surrogate molecule was administered intravenously to pregnant mice during the period of organogenesis.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 35Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (ICH S9)
“No carcinogenicity studies have been conducted nor are any planned in accordance with ICH S9 (ICH, 2010).”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 73Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (ICH S9, advanced cancer)
“No carcinogenicity studies have been conducted nor are any planned in accordance with ICH S9 (ICH, 2010).”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 73Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (none conducted or planned per ICH S9; FDA agreed)
“No carcinogenicity studies have been conducted nor are any planned in accordance with ICH S9 (ICH, 2010). The FDA’s Assessment: The FDA agrees.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 73Source ↗

Same question, other multispecifics

Lunsumio

mosunetuzumab · CD20 x CD3
US, Republic of Korea, Canada: dose-escalation part (Group A) of study GO29781 in patients with R/R B-cell NHL

Rybrevant

amivantamab · EGFR x MET
US and ex-US (Australia, Canada, China, France, Japan, Korea, Spain, Taiwan, UK): first-in-human dose escalation/expansion in advanced NSCLC

Talvey

talquetamab · GPRC5D x CD3
US and ex-US (Belgium, France, Germany, Israel, Netherlands, Poland, Korea, Spain): first-in-human dose escalation/expansion

Tecvayli

teclistamab · BCMA x CD3
US and ex-US (Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, UK): first-in-human study

Ziihera

zanidatamab · HER2 x HER2 (biparatopic)
North America and South Korea: first-in-human study ZWI-ZW25-101 in HER2-expressing cancers

Bizengri

zenocutuzumab · HER2 x HER3
Not stated in public reviews

Blincyto

blinatumomab · CD19 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Columvi

glofitamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Elrexfio

elranatamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Epkinly

epcoritamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Hemlibra

emicizumab · FIXa x FX
Not stated in public reviews

Kimmtrak

tebentafusp · CD3 x gp100 (TCR fusion)
Not stated in public reviews

Korjuny

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Lynozyfic

linvoseltamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Ordspono

odronextamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Removab

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Vabysmo

faricimab · VEGF-A x Ang-2
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 18 multispecifics →