Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Defitelio: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

defibrotide · Fragmented DNA oligonucleotides

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Defitelio don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for oligonucleotides outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: 13-week rat: adverse findings in kidneys, liver and lymphoid tissues; prolonged PT (rat) and APTT (rat and dog) (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
26-week dog study, pre-dating GLP (longest pivotal GLP study: 13 weeks); recovery not stated
“Of the 8 studies three pre-date implementation of GLP standards: 4 weeks in rats and 13/26 weeks in dogs.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 21Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Rat continuous IV infusion for 9 weeks; dog IV infusion of 2 h every 6 hours, 4 times daily, for 13 weeks
“Rats were given defibrotide by continuous iv infusion for 9 weeks. Dogs were given defibrotide by i.v. infusion of 2 h duration every 6 hours 4 times daily for 13 weeks.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 20Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Rat and rabbit (IV EFD; not evaluable due to maternal mortality, abortion and resorption)
“Embryo-Fetal toxicity assessment was attempted in rats and rabbits, but was not possible because of high maternal mortality, abortion, and fetal resorption at all doses.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rabbit embryo-fetal toxicity: fewer implantations and viable fetuses at doses about equal to the clinical dose (mg/m2)
“Exposure to defibrotide was associated with embryo-fetal toxicity (decreased number of implantations and viable fetuses compared to controls) in pregnant rabbits at doses approximately equivalent to the recommended clinical dose on a mg/m2 basis.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Rat pre- and postnatal study (non-GLP, i.m., 1970s) completed before the marketing application; not fully reviewed
“Fertility and pre- and post-natal toxicology studies were conducted in the rat; however, the studies were not fully reviewed for the following reasons: non-GLP studies conducted in 1970’s with a route of administration (i.m.) different from the proposed clinical route (i.v.)”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Mouse and rat (oral route)
“Two studies in mice and rats were conducted to review the potential long-term/carcinogenicity effects of defibrotide. The studies were performed to GLP standards and used the oral route of administration.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 22Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
No IV carcinogenicity studies; oral studies inadequate for assessment
“No carcinogenicity studies have been conducted with defibrotide administered by the intravenous route and the oral studies were inadequate to conduct an assessment of the potential for carcinogenicity.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 5Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
No IV carcinogenicity studies; oral mouse and rat studies inadequate; none required for approval
“No carcinogenicity studies have been conducted with defibrotide administered by the intravenous route and the oral studies were inadequate to conduct an assessment of the potential for carcinogenicity.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 5Source ↗

Same question, other oligonucleotides

Dawnzera

donidalorsen · Prekallikrein / KLKB1 (ASO)
Canada: first-in-human study in healthy volunteers

Givlaari

givosiran · ALAS1 (siRNA)
US, UK and Sweden: 6 clinical study centers (4 US, 1 UK, 1 Sweden)

Oxlumo

lumasiran · HAO1 (siRNA)
UK: single ascending dose in healthy subjects (Study 001 Part A)

Zanvastro

zilganersen · GFAP (ASO)
United States and other countries: ION373-CS1, the single combined first clinical and pivotal trial in AxD patients

Amondys 45

casimersen · DMD exon 45 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Amvuttra

vutrisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Exondys 51

eteplirsen · DMD exon 51 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Hibsago

bepirovirsen · HBV RNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Izervay

avacincaptad pegol · C5 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Kynamro

mipomersen · APOB (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Leqvio

inclisiran · PCSK9 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Macugen

pegaptanib · VEGF-165 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Onpattro

patisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Qalsody

tofersen · SOD1 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Qfitlia

fitusiran · Antithrombin / SERPINC1 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Redemplo

plozasiran · APOC3 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rivfloza

nedosiran · LDHA (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rytelo

imetelstat · Telomerase (oligo)
Not stated in public reviews

Spinraza

nusinersen · SMN2 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tegsedi

inotersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tryngolza

olezarsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Viltepso

viltolarsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vitravene

fomivirsen · CMV IE2 mRNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyondys 53

golodirsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Wainua

eplontersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Waylivra

volanesorsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 27 oligonucleotides →