Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Tegsedi: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

inotersen · TTR (ASO)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Tegsedi don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for oligonucleotides outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Monkey 39-wk NOAEL 6 mg/kg/wk (severe thrombocytopenia); rat NOAEL 5 mg/kg (glomerulopathy); margins <=~2-fold (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 70)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
39-week cynomolgus monkey (SC) with 26-week recovery
“A 39-Week Repeat Subcutaneous Dose Toxicity Study of ISIS 420915 in Cynomolgus Monkeys with a 26-Week Interim Necropsy and a 26-Week Recovery”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 22Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
SC: mouse 13- and 26-week; rat 26-week; cynomolgus monkey 13-week and 39-week, with recovery
“Pivotal toxicity studies were conducted in CD-1 mouse (13-week [30-day interim] + 13-week recovery, 26-week + 13-week recovery), Sprague-Dawley rat (26-week), and cynomolgus monkey (13-week + 13-week recovery, 39-week [26-week interim] + 26-week recovery).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 5Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Mouse (CD-1) and rabbit (New Zealand White)
“A full battery of reproductive and development studies was conducted in CD-1 mouse and New Zealand White rabbit.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 8Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Full battery in mouse (FEED/EFD, PPND, with surrogate) and rabbit EFD; only reduced fetal weight at rabbit high dose
“A full battery of reproductive and development studies was conducted in CD-1 mouse and New Zealand White rabbit.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 8Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
PPND in mouse completed before the marketing application
“The reproductive and developmental toxicity of inotersen was assessed in a fertility and embryofetal development study in mouse, an embryofetal development study in rabbit, and a pre- and postnatal development study in mouse.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 130Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Transgenic rasH2 mouse (short-term); 2-year rat study ongoing, results post approval
“No carcinogenic potential was identified in a short-term carcinogenicity study in transgenic rasH2 mice. A 2 year carcinogenicity study in rats is currently ongoing and results will be submitted post approval.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 25Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
26-week TgRasH2 mouse with inotersen and mouse surrogate ISIS 401724: no drug-related tumors
“In transgenic (TgRasH2) mice, subcutaneous administration of inotersen (0, 10, 30, or 80 mg/kg) or a species-specific surrogate (ISIS 401724; 30 mg/kg) weekly for 26 weeks resulted in no drug-related increase in tumors.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 9Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
rasH2 mouse study completed; 2-year rat study ongoing at approval, results submitted post approval
“No carcinogenic potential was identified in a short-term carcinogenicity study in transgenic rasH2 mice. A 2 year carcinogenicity study in rats is currently ongoing and results will be submitted post approval.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 25Source ↗

Same question, other oligonucleotides

Dawnzera

donidalorsen · Prekallikrein / KLKB1 (ASO)
Canada: first-in-human study in healthy volunteers

Givlaari

givosiran · ALAS1 (siRNA)
US, UK and Sweden: 6 clinical study centers (4 US, 1 UK, 1 Sweden)

Oxlumo

lumasiran · HAO1 (siRNA)
UK: single ascending dose in healthy subjects (Study 001 Part A)

Zanvastro

zilganersen · GFAP (ASO)
United States and other countries: ION373-CS1, the single combined first clinical and pivotal trial in AxD patients

Amondys 45

casimersen · DMD exon 45 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Amvuttra

vutrisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Defitelio

defibrotide · Fragmented DNA oligonucleotides
Not stated in public reviews

Exondys 51

eteplirsen · DMD exon 51 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Hibsago

bepirovirsen · HBV RNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Izervay

avacincaptad pegol · C5 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Kynamro

mipomersen · APOB (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Leqvio

inclisiran · PCSK9 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Macugen

pegaptanib · VEGF-165 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Onpattro

patisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Qalsody

tofersen · SOD1 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Qfitlia

fitusiran · Antithrombin / SERPINC1 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Redemplo

plozasiran · APOC3 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rivfloza

nedosiran · LDHA (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rytelo

imetelstat · Telomerase (oligo)
Not stated in public reviews

Spinraza

nusinersen · SMN2 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tryngolza

olezarsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Viltepso

viltolarsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vitravene

fomivirsen · CMV IE2 mRNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyondys 53

golodirsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Wainua

eplontersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Waylivra

volanesorsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 27 oligonucleotides →